We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I like the Marriott, even out of season when the weather isn't very warm, there is so much to do there. Pilates in the morning, then walking along the beach. Lunch at Paula y carlos, and swimming in the heated pools. Walking further out of the resort, the Don Carlos hotel is a good place to go on Friday evenings when they have a salsa band playing in la Terazza,bar from 11.30pm. Across the bridge in Elviria there is a nice tapas bar- El Barracon de tapas. The Irish restaurant The Playwright is also good, with lovely food,and an early bird special price of €25 for three courses if you arrive before 7.30.
If you are looking for somewhere for Paella, then Paula y Carlos does an excellent one for €14-15 euros each and a very nice house wine for €10 per bottle. Of you want to go further then visit Marbella where there are more tapas bars and restaurants, and shops.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    244
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
466
205
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at The Mariott in Marbella in February... The weather was ok- sunny but chilly with a couple of days overcast. Apparently 10 days earlier, it was sunny and 25 degrees C for several days in a row... sore luck for us timing-wise. For those thinking surhern Spain is warm at this time of year, think twice and remember to pack fleeces and socks.
Despite the unperfect weather, we did thoroughly enjoy our stay. The hotel grounds were immaculate. Palm trees galore. Not a shub out of place. The bougainvilliers in full bloom adding their pink and violet colouring to the beautiful scenery. (We saw the gardners all week weeding the grass areas with their bare hands, Wow!)
The hotel is built on a moderate hilltop with the apartment quarters in a number of low-rise buildings spread over the property from the main lobby to the lower sea- front area. There are at least 2 or 3 outdoor pools. One near the top which proved to be the most pleasant to lounge by at this time of the year protected from the slightly chilling wind. And another huge one near the beach area at the bottom which must be extremely popular for children in the warmer months. Contrary to other reviewers, I am not shocked that the outdoor pools are not heated. Come on! There are 2 lovely indoor pools to savour in the cooler months. One of those 2 pools is reserved for adults, and that was fine.
The apartments were perfect. Very large in size with all the necessities for cleaning (washer and dryer, dishwasher) and cooking (pots, pans, good quality all around). Bathrooms have good strong showers (a must for me) and comfortable bedding. But what's with the plastic covering over the king-size matress??? I have only seen that once before in my life in a horrific barely 1 star hotel near Gatwick Airport where I accidentally stayed 10 years ago, never again! Housekeeping is done every day. Unfortunately, floors were not always swept and cleaned.
There are all sorts of mini activities spread out over the property such as a miniature golf, human size chess and checker games, a mini grass curling station etc.... Not to mention a geat soccer/basketball field down by the beach. These were all a huge hit with our kids.
Our children also loved the kids club. The staff were extremely friendly and enthusiatic. My kids pointed out that, contrary to most places, the staff here weren't texting- thought that was an interesting remark coming from young kiddoes... I do however regret that the kids club activities were planned for the indoors rather than outside. The club was located downstairs in the basement area with no windows and frankly activities could have been organized outside on the grass, football field or on the beach, weather permitting (which was the case the whole week we were there).....
What needs to be highlighted outside of the lovely grounds, pleasant apartments and enjoyable kids club is the overall professionalism of the staff. They were all absolutely lovely. Not a single negative experience with any of them. All were overly helpful and smiling.
The ingredients I am looking for when I am planning a vacation were met at the Marbella Mariott. I can only highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Herts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

i've been to te Marriott Marbella Beach Resort on a number of occassions and have to say that it is a truly lovely resort. The facilities are always spotlessly clean and the staff always wear a smile. It is a pleasure to be there.
We had a 3 bed apartment which, unfortunately, was not a sea view, however, being on the top floor, we had a lovely view of the sunset and that's a nice bonus.
My one gripe is that you have to pay for the loungers on the beach and i think this is a bit of a rip-off, particularly as this is not a cheap place to stay at. Saying that, you are right by Nikki Beach, so i suppose its understandable.
i love this resort and whatever time of year i come, it is always lovely. can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny, but you have to be lucky to get them. also, the higher floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This beautiful resort has it all: beachfront view, lots of pools and hot tubs, indoor pools, spacious apartments, convenient restaurants and marketplace grocery store, friendly staff, recreational activities, and more. It is a perfect location for exploring the Andalusia region of Spain. We loved our 4 day stay at the Marriot Marbella.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almerimar, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel was exceptionally well maintained. Our one bedroom apartment was excellent with a large balcony. The grounds were beautiful with lovely pools. Staff were extremely pleasant. Would have liked a longer stay, perhaps next time!

Room Tip: In the winter ask for a room that get sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days in February having "swapped" it for my usual week at La Manga. Really pleased I did as this is a great resort for February. It was quite quiet but most of the facilities were open. The 2 bed apartment was very clean and spacious and the underground parking beside the apartment was a nice touch. The gym is well equipped and the indoor pool a good size. A local fish restaurant - Cristinas - is just a 5 mins walk and a great dinner venue. Probably the most impressive thing about this resort though is the friendliness of he staff who couldn't do enough for you. Special mention to Esther on reception who was super helpful. Definitely be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Marriott is the top of the line when it comes to timeshares, and this is right up there with the best of them. Additionally this is a full resort - if you come for fun in the sun in season, you never have to leave the property.

We were here off season. We had a one bedroom unit. The unit consisted of a master bedroom with a king size bed. Linens, bedding, and pillows were first rate. The room was short on storage capacity - there were two night tables and a large piece which housed a flat-screen TV, but only had 2 small drawers for storage. There was also a closet. We were able to make do. The TV is fairly low and difficult to see from the bed.

The living room contained a pull-out sofa which could sleep an additional 2 people. There were also 2 chairs, a coffee table, a second flat-screen TV, and a DVD player. The DVD player was able to play my DVDs I brought with me from the US. Note that if you have visions of plugging an iPad or other device into the TV this will not work, as the European TVs use an SCARP connector.

The dining area had a dining table and four chairs. There was also a piece of furniture which could be used for storage. The unit has a full kitchen - full size fridge, oven with a range top, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, and utensils. Figuring out some of the European controls was kind of tricky. There is also a laundry room with a washer and dryer. Both of these have very small capacity. It takes 2 hours to do a load in the washer, and then another 2 hours to dry it.

The unit has a very large balcony with a large table and chairs. The birds were singing right outside the balcony. OMG!!!!

There is a parking garage under the unit. I don't know who laid that out, but there are pillars throughout the garage. You could barely drive a small car through some of the pillars.

Free WiFi is available throughout the unit.

This is a full resort, with numerous swimming facilities, sports facilities. The main pool is large, replete with pool slides and other implements. There are two separate adult outdoor pools. There is a kiddie pool outdoors, and a toddler pool. There are two indoor pools. There are numerous saunas - both cold and hot water. There is a steam room and a fitness center. There is a basketball court, a bacci ball court, croquet court. There are kiddie climbing apartuses. And all of this is not to mention the beach and Mediterranean at the end of the property. They also have some kind of tie in with a golf course, but I didn't use that.

The location is great for touring. From here you can do day trips to: Marbella, Malaga, Gibraltar*, Seville*, Ronda*, Cordoba*, Grenada* (Alhambra), Cadiz, and Tangiers. If this is your first trip, try to get to the starred destinations above. Seville and Cordoba are kind of far (2 1/2 hours each way), but worth the trip. There are organized trips available from the concierge (for a charge). The concierge also has directions to these places which actually work. Make sure you get them before going to any of these places.

There are 3 restaurants on the property. Additionally there are two restaurants adjacent to the property. We only ate at one of these - Cristina's. The food was very good and the prices were reasonable.

If you want to do your own cooking or eat in your unit (who can eat three meals a day out?), there is a Marketplace store on premises which sells basic groceries. There are 2 groceries located right on the other side of the highway (A7). One is a full supermarket called SuperSol. The other is a smaller market but is open 24/7, including Sundays (when everything else in Spain closes up), and is called OpenCor. But it you really want to go nuts, drive the 10km to the Canada shopping center which has a huge supermarket/WalMart type store. The fish there was to die for. Also, there is a Court D'Anglais on the other side of Marbella in the town called Puerto Banus. This has a full supermarket (HiperCor), and is something like a Niemann Marcus.

DO NOT USE GOOGLE MAPS for directions in Spain. At best they are confusing; at worst they are just wrong. If you drive in Spain you'll understand why this is so. To get to the resort, take the A7 to exit 192/Elvira, which is about 10km EAST of Marbella. (The resort is not in Marbella.) When you exit look for the little Marriott signs and follow them to the resort. This will take you through a warren of round-abouts (which the Spanish love) and little streets. It is very difficult to describe this, but once you get the hang of it it's very simple.

There is an ATM machine at the entrance to the property.

Great trip! Great sights! Great resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Address: Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Marbella Beach Hotel Marbella
Marriotts Marbella Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Marbella
Marbella Marriott
Marriotts Marbella Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.