We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven in Marbella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Greater London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“heaven in Marbella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

this is the most luxurious place ever. The bed in the main bedroom is amazing - can fit 4 people its so big and to say its comfortable is an understatement. Fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher. Laundry with washing machine & dryer. M aids come every day to clean. The gardeners work every day from dawn to dusk (even in the rain). The two outdoor & two indoor pools are incredible and sunbathing either by the large outdoor pool or on the beach is amazing. They cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: they are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    244
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
465
204
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Everything here was exceptional! We could not control the weather, but we received more sunny days than not. The down side of going during their "off-season" is that most restaurants on the resort were either closing up or already closed. The only restaurant open was Charlie's. Don't go there! Bad American food ( we were in Spain- wanted cultural food) Slow, bad service and the food was bland and stale. I digress... The beach front was gorgeous as were the views from the room, we had breakfast on the balcony almost everyday! Wonderful little market with fresh baked bread and pastries, so yummy! Great amenities and a wonderful spot to catch the Spanish sunset!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinderwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here with two other couples in a three bed three bath apartment (4005). As ever, the standard of the self-catering accommodation is high - spacious rooms, comfortable beds (except the rubberised matress topper that made by husband very uncomfortable!), good laundry facilities in unit and adequate kitchen (oven/grill seemed very slow). We had visited before, we were aware of walking disance to local commercial centre where we could find supermarket and restaurants. Sometimes got a taxi back when shopping too heavy to walk (5 euros). Unfortunately for us, the Chill Bar oinsite closed on the third day of our stay - we really enjoyed happy hour here, although it was chilly in the November evenings. When this bar/restaurant closed, the only place to get a coffee or beer on site was Charlies, which is an American sttyle diner bar, which isn't to everyone's taste. We did have words when management changed the happy hour at Charlies from 6 to 7 until 4 to 6 after the Chill Bar Closed. No notice of this change had been given in advance, which really threw us! Another niggle is the 9 euro charge for 24 hours of wifi, which is really outrageous. However, we found that we could get to our emails, etc. by visiting a cafe in the commercial centre. Onsite shop is expensive but useful for bread and mini magnums - our latest favorite! Didn't try the restaurant or the spa, but enjoyed the other facilities and ate at beach restaurants.

Room Tip: 4005 didn't get any sun until very late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed in many timeshare resorts and this is one of the best. Fortunately the weather has been very good for November and we made use of the pool area and walks along the beach.
Superb accommodation and kitchen facilities, including an oven, dishwasher and laundry room. The provision of activities for families and children are second to none. In our terms the restaurant and bars are quite pricey but we self cater and there is an excellent Super Sol supermarket in the local shopping centre. If you require Wi-fi for your kindle, you will find the daily resort charge of almost 10 euros too much. So take yourself off to the shopping centre and there are several choices of free Wi-fi if you wander around. Especially by the Asian restaurant.
To be met at the entry barrier on arrival and given the room key with directions to the underground car park was impressive. You parking spot is pretty close to you lift and therefore apartment with limited need to carry cases too far. You then catch up with reception by ten the next morning with your passports.
People have told us Marriott's are good but this was very, very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We don’t often go back to the same place twice, and this is the very first time we have ever gone back to the same accommodation in the same year. We did so mainly because it was a convenient location with a short flight time to meet up with friends, but our decision also highlights our views about the overall high quality of Marriott Marbella Beach Resort. We won’t repeat any of our previous comments as they all hold true and we’re sure TA will add links to our previous reviews somewhere below. Overall, these remain great apartments with just a few niggles.

So what are the main niggles? We first came here in November 2008 and we think the beds haven’t been changed since then. They’re still extremely comfortable, but they’re now making too many creaking and clanking noises as you turn over at night, which may cause broken sleep for many. The worst thing about Marriott Marbella is the really noisy plumbing and the uninsulated block walls, tile floors and bathroom air vents just seem to amplify the noise. If, like us, you have people in neighbouring apartments who like to flush the loo all night, shower at 7am and run baths/use the Jacuzzi function at midnight then you’re going to be disturbed.

Some guests were very unhappy that the main outdoor (unheated) was out of action for maintenance for a whole month between 18 November and 18 December. We thought it was too cold to swim outdoors anyway.

We still don’t think it’s worth eating in the on site El Med restaurant as there are quite a few restaurants within reasonable walking distance. Be aware that Elviria has a Marbella post code and there’s not a lot of local competition so the prices are higher than other Spanish resorts we’ve stayed in. Our favourite in the area, Restaurant Elviria, was closed for annual holidays, but Papillon and Perla Blanca chiringuitos on nearby beaches were particularly good, and Merendero Christina on the beach right next to the Marriott is always a good standby – just expect to smell of cooking fat after you’ve eaten in there.

We discovered that if you have any requests you need to make them as early as possible, (and by this we mean months if you can), otherwise you’ve got no chance. If you get ground floor units 2203 or 2204 they are the last to get any sunshine. In winter, you’ll be lucky to get about 1.5 hours of dappled sun before it disappears behind the blocks opposite.

On the plus side, we think the complimentary WiFi service is new or has been upgraded and is now super fast. One of our party was extremely happy to find that he could get UK Premiership matches without any problems on his iPad via his Sky Go account.

There is a very limited happy hour between 5PM and 6PM in the Chill Out bar next to El Med by the main pool (why bother we ask) but Charlie’s Sports Bar above reception has a full 2 for 1 on ALL drinks every day between 6PM & 7PM which brings down prices to reasonable levels.

In spite of the few niggles this is a high class resort and is highly recommended by us

Room Tip: Make requests as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love the rooms here and have stayed lots of times. Really spacious, clean comfortable, a real home away from home with added luxury. Brilliant place for young kids, babies and a relaxing holiday. Great facilities, two indoor pools. I just really wish that the outdoor pool could be heated, it is never warm, not even in the summer. It is a great place to go off high season, e.g. Easter or Mid Term in October. If the pool was heated it would be amazing. I am really writing this review hoping the owners and management of the resort will read it and take it on board. I want to keep coming back,
Da Vincis restaurant down the motorway is THE nicest place to eat and have some fun. Always busy due to the excellent food and service with a fair price.
The square in Elviria which is accross the motorway bridge is pricey in the restaurants but good value in the bar food section and more fun too.
If you need to grocery shop then don't do it in Opencor, very handy, right accross the bridge but very expensive for a family shop.
Go to Mercadona which has a Lidl right beside it and is only a couple of exits up the motoroway towards Marbella, five minutes only.
You need a car to stay here, unless you plan to stay in the resort completely, taxis are actually really expensive, over €20 to go 5 minutes down the motorway to anywhere.
A great resort, spotless and relaxing.
Also, DO NOT GET THE BREAKFAST. It is expensive and a real hassle in the mornings, there are always queues for something, wiating for milk, waiting for the waffle machine, you can tell they are so understaffed and underequipped for people. They used to make fresh pancakes which was our big draw, they come out of a packet now and are kept tepid in a warmer. The bacon and sausages are not the quality that Irish or English people would expect and I assume Americans either. Eggs are good but you will have to queue for a fresh egg.
The breakfast is provided as cheaply as possible both in terms of ingredients and staffing levels. The staff do their best but there are just not enough. I don't know why they do this as they breakfast is about €13 for an adult. You can get an Irish Breakfast, a very nice one freshly cooked and served to your table for much less than that in the square in Elviria without the queue.
Best thing for the little kids are the outdoor heated jacuzzis, they are shallow and warm and fun.

Room Tip: Very hard to choose a room here as it is timeshare resort also. If you have children ask for near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have now been here 3 times, luckily for me as someone else's guest every time. Luckily because I believe it is quite expensive, however being in the position where I don't have to consider the cost I can say that the facilities are great, and kept very clean, the service is exemplary. The location on the beach is great, with 3 beach restaurants within 3-5 mins walk, & 2 supermarkets & a dozen bars & restaurants in Elvira, a 10 - 15 min walk.

Whilst the beds & bedding are great, they would be even better without the plastic mattress protectors which rather ruins the effect. What on earth possesses Marriott that they feel obliged to deal with the incontinent, and thus ruin the whole 5* experience?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Address: Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Marbella Beach Hotel Marbella
Marriotts Marbella Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Marbella
Marbella Marriott
Marriotts Marbella Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.