We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best timeshare resorts we have stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Reigate
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“One of the best timeshare resorts we have stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed in many timeshare resorts and this is one of the best. Fortunately the weather has been very good for November and we made use of the pool area and walks along the beach.
Superb accommodation and kitchen facilities, including an oven, dishwasher and laundry room. The provision of activities for families and children are second to none. In our terms the restaurant and bars are quite pricey but we self cater and there is an excellent Super Sol supermarket in the local shopping centre. If you require Wi-fi for your kindle, you will find the daily resort charge of almost 10 euros too much. So take yourself off to the shopping centre and there are several choices of free Wi-fi if you wander around. Especially by the Asian restaurant.
To be met at the entry barrier on arrival and given the room key with directions to the underground car park was impressive. You parking spot is pretty close to you lift and therefore apartment with limited need to carry cases too far. You then catch up with reception by ten the next morning with your passports.
People have told us Marriott's are good but this was very, very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    244
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
466
205
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We don’t often go back to the same place twice, and this is the very first time we have ever gone back to the same accommodation in the same year. We did so mainly because it was a convenient location with a short flight time to meet up with friends, but our decision also highlights our views about the overall high quality of Marriott Marbella Beach Resort. We won’t repeat any of our previous comments as they all hold true and we’re sure TA will add links to our previous reviews somewhere below. Overall, these remain great apartments with just a few niggles.

So what are the main niggles? We first came here in November 2008 and we think the beds haven’t been changed since then. They’re still extremely comfortable, but they’re now making too many creaking and clanking noises as you turn over at night, which may cause broken sleep for many. The worst thing about Marriott Marbella is the really noisy plumbing and the uninsulated block walls, tile floors and bathroom air vents just seem to amplify the noise. If, like us, you have people in neighbouring apartments who like to flush the loo all night, shower at 7am and run baths/use the Jacuzzi function at midnight then you’re going to be disturbed.

Some guests were very unhappy that the main outdoor (unheated) was out of action for maintenance for a whole month between 18 November and 18 December. We thought it was too cold to swim outdoors anyway.

We still don’t think it’s worth eating in the on site El Med restaurant as there are quite a few restaurants within reasonable walking distance. Be aware that Elviria has a Marbella post code and there’s not a lot of local competition so the prices are higher than other Spanish resorts we’ve stayed in. Our favourite in the area, Restaurant Elviria, was closed for annual holidays, but Papillon and Perla Blanca chiringuitos on nearby beaches were particularly good, and Merendero Christina on the beach right next to the Marriott is always a good standby – just expect to smell of cooking fat after you’ve eaten in there.

We discovered that if you have any requests you need to make them as early as possible, (and by this we mean months if you can), otherwise you’ve got no chance. If you get ground floor units 2203 or 2204 they are the last to get any sunshine. In winter, you’ll be lucky to get about 1.5 hours of dappled sun before it disappears behind the blocks opposite.

On the plus side, we think the complimentary WiFi service is new or has been upgraded and is now super fast. One of our party was extremely happy to find that he could get UK Premiership matches without any problems on his iPad via his Sky Go account.

There is a very limited happy hour between 5PM and 6PM in the Chill Out bar next to El Med by the main pool (why bother we ask) but Charlie’s Sports Bar above reception has a full 2 for 1 on ALL drinks every day between 6PM & 7PM which brings down prices to reasonable levels.

In spite of the few niggles this is a high class resort and is highly recommended by us

Room Tip: Make requests as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love the rooms here and have stayed lots of times. Really spacious, clean comfortable, a real home away from home with added luxury. Brilliant place for young kids, babies and a relaxing holiday. Great facilities, two indoor pools. I just really wish that the outdoor pool could be heated, it is never warm, not even in the summer. It is a great place to go off high season, e.g. Easter or Mid Term in October. If the pool was heated it would be amazing. I am really writing this review hoping the owners and management of the resort will read it and take it on board. I want to keep coming back,
Da Vincis restaurant down the motorway is THE nicest place to eat and have some fun. Always busy due to the excellent food and service with a fair price.
The square in Elviria which is accross the motorway bridge is pricey in the restaurants but good value in the bar food section and more fun too.
If you need to grocery shop then don't do it in Opencor, very handy, right accross the bridge but very expensive for a family shop.
Go to Mercadona which has a Lidl right beside it and is only a couple of exits up the motoroway towards Marbella, five minutes only.
You need a car to stay here, unless you plan to stay in the resort completely, taxis are actually really expensive, over €20 to go 5 minutes down the motorway to anywhere.
A great resort, spotless and relaxing.
Also, DO NOT GET THE BREAKFAST. It is expensive and a real hassle in the mornings, there are always queues for something, wiating for milk, waiting for the waffle machine, you can tell they are so understaffed and underequipped for people. They used to make fresh pancakes which was our big draw, they come out of a packet now and are kept tepid in a warmer. The bacon and sausages are not the quality that Irish or English people would expect and I assume Americans either. Eggs are good but you will have to queue for a fresh egg.
The breakfast is provided as cheaply as possible both in terms of ingredients and staffing levels. The staff do their best but there are just not enough. I don't know why they do this as they breakfast is about €13 for an adult. You can get an Irish Breakfast, a very nice one freshly cooked and served to your table for much less than that in the square in Elviria without the queue.
Best thing for the little kids are the outdoor heated jacuzzis, they are shallow and warm and fun.

Room Tip: Very hard to choose a room here as it is timeshare resort also. If you have children ask for near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have now been here 3 times, luckily for me as someone else's guest every time. Luckily because I believe it is quite expensive, however being in the position where I don't have to consider the cost I can say that the facilities are great, and kept very clean, the service is exemplary. The location on the beach is great, with 3 beach restaurants within 3-5 mins walk, & 2 supermarkets & a dozen bars & restaurants in Elvira, a 10 - 15 min walk.

Whilst the beds & bedding are great, they would be even better without the plastic mattress protectors which rather ruins the effect. What on earth possesses Marriott that they feel obliged to deal with the incontinent, and thus ruin the whole 5* experience?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I travel A LOT and stay in hotels, resorts and vacation homes. This place was absolutely beautiful. The grounds were stunningly kept. The customer service was just as you would expect for a Marriott. They had some great events but we had plans almost every night and was not able to attend any of them. It is very "kid friendly". The massage therapist (the male) was FANTASTIC, however it was not an aesthetically pleasing place. You walk into a 2 chair hair salon, you walk through a small hall to the massage room. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Most people want the ocean view but it's right by the pool and activities so it's sort of lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have had a lovely holiday yet again and despite some light rain we had plenty to do with two indoor pools. The suites as always are superb and the on site facilities keep everyone entertained. Staff are excellent and the food in Charlie's Bar is great value. Access to the beach is super.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we booked to stay here as we were attending a wedding in mijas. we were only there for a few days but wished we had stayed longer and would definatly go back. to be honest I wasn't really looking forward to staying as I'm not a big fan of Spain holiday but as we were going for wedding we chose to stay here. we booked a 2 bedroom apartment and asked for a ground floor room, I think it was 1001 or 1010 we we given and it was beautiful, 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms. nice big balcony comfortable lounge and a well equipped kitchen, very tastefully decorated and cofortable. beds were really comfortable.

the weather was ok for Easter time we got a bit if rain but mainly nice. the only negative I would say was the pools were to cold to get in, our little girl just went in the jaccusi's which she thought was great and used the indoor pool. really nice family resort filled with nice families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Address: Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Marbella Beach Hotel Marbella
Marriotts Marbella Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Marbella
Marbella Marriott
Marriotts Marbella Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.