We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have2 weeks platinum here and have come every year for the past 10 the place is as good now as it was when new always well maintained ,if there is a fault then it's with the food they could do better ,but that said we always go out anyway, the staff are always helpful and professional,love the place.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    255
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
510
224
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I bought 5 weeks of time-share when the resort was in its very early stages. We come for 2 weeks every year and find it a wonderful place to wind down. The pools are beautiful as is the beach but the #1 feature is the apartments. This was Marriott's first resort outside the USA and they made it a showcase. I love the design and the fact that no two buildings are the same. There is no long hotel corridor or high-rise element, so each apartment has an element of privacy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely loved this resort! Great activities and Awseome staff! There is only one complaint which is a member of staff who takes care of the kids while activities was quite rude and short tempered! Otherwise every thing else was good, beautiful view and magnificent venue :)

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here in peak season of August 2011.

Very busy, but hotel coped.
Pool areas very busy & the beach area, although small, relatively clean, but not the best.
Not too sure if I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach front, otherwise, you may be staying in the front end of the compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Firstly to place my review in context, we are owners here so we obviously like the resort. This is our third year here since buying a gold flexible week, we are also Premier Vacation Points MVCI members in the USA so we know and like the Marriott hotels. This years room was 2131, 3 bed apartment. We have a great sea view and love the apartment however many may find some aspects not to their liking. The balcony is the smallest we have ever had here and certainly no room to dry your towels outdoors with six people using the balcony. There is a small umbrella to shade the balcony but really only covers 2 people huddled together (top floor apartments have balconies with no roofs unlike all the other apartments). The noise from the music at the Chill Bar, entertainment at the restaurant or the outdoor film night is definitely noticeable (film night is particularly intrusive) from the balcony plus people tend to congregate at the games area below and can be clearly heard. None of this bothered any of us (4 adults plus 2 teens), we loved the apartment but we could understand why it would not be to everyone's taste. We find the facilities in the apartment great and we eat in for most meals, the nespresso machine is a lovely touch. The beds are very comfortable and we have everything we need in the apartment. The resort facilities are great too, at the quiet pool you wouldn't even know the main family pool existed, the kids club is great and, as many people have mentioned previously, the staff are superb from the phone operators to customer reps. We don't pay for the Internet but the service every time we come is patchy so I am glad we don't pay. Taking into account all I have said, we love the resort and pay to stay outside of our home week.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Spent last week here with my family (wife, 3-yr old daughter and parents) in a 2 bedroom apartment. Overall, I love this resort - in fact, in Mediterranean Europe (aside from perhaps Greece and Turkey) I believe it's hard to find many comparable family beach resorts. Details of our experience:

Liked:

> the beautiful, very well maintained facility: wonderful landscaping with flowers everywhere, great pools, including a 'quiet' no-kids pool, and everything spotlessly clean
> apartments are typical Marriott style (comfortable, decent quality, 'mainstream' American decoration), comfortable beds, excellent quiet air conditioning, well equipped kitchen, spacious terrace (we had a seaview apartment in block 21C)
> very good service, particularly the Concierge staff (thanks again Martin for your help!) and the waiter staff at El Med restaurant - and I loved the fact that after you've requested a service (like extra towels), someone calls you to confirm you've actually received that service !
> there was an Activities team that would engage guests (particularly children) in a non-obtrusive manner - we particularly liked Belen and Bea, who treated our daughter like a princess!
> location: proximity to Marbella town and La Canada shopping mall (both approx 15 mins by car). also note that there's a very nice, casual seafood restaurant by the beach named 'Merendero Cristina', just 2 minutes walk from the resort - we had lunch there twice and loved it (for more details please see the separate review I've posted for this place)

Improvements needed:

> although we loved the time we spent at the beach (right in front of the resort but not private; there are no private beaches in Spain), the chairs and umbrellas were 'cramped' too close to each other, and we were charged EUR 25 per day. Typically hotels in Spain (and Portugal for that matter) will 'defend' this charge by explaining the chairs and umbrellas are managed by a third party... but why can't the hotel simply settle the bill directly with this party and factor the cost into the room rates (like they do for using the pools) ? Also, the constant 'visits' by beach vendors (massages and fake watches/handbags/sunglasses) were a nuisance - but I guess the hotel can't avoid this issue since they don't own the beach (see above)
> dinner at Charlie's sports bar was a let-down - although the food was ok, the speed of service was absolutely deplorable. we went here on our arrival day thinking we'd have a quick dinner - but even though my wife had explicitly requested that our daughter's meal be served right away, it took more than 1/2 hour for them to bring her food (nuggets and fries!). our food took another 30 minutes... needless to say we didn't go back
> wi-fi charge: if I've understood correctly, time-share owners don't pay, but non-owners pay a daily charge per device (i.e. if you have a laptop and an ipad, you pay twice)... in this day and age, that's just archaic... nowadays wi-fi has become as basic a service as color television in good 4 and 5-star hotels
> breakfast service: we went to El Med for breakfast on departure day - as much as I liked the restaurant for lunch and dinner, breakfast was a different story: food (buffet) selection was fine, but waiters constantly seemed rushed and a 'few steps behind'... particularly in the morning, I prefer being helped by smiling, efficient and relaxed waiters!

So in summary, I love this resort for its location, facilities and overall service level - but the latter really needs to be improved in Charlie's and at breakfast in El Med. Will certainly go back though and highly recommend the hotel for families with young children.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed three nights but went to Gibraltar one day, Tangiers one day and stayed at the beach for one day.

We were upgraded to a three bedroom which was very spacious for the five of us. We found the furnishings and ammenties to be fabulous. Plenty of bath towels and an abudence of beach towels--plus a washer and dryer if you need to wash them at night.

The kitchen was fully equipped if you want to cook. In addition to the dining room table there was also a large table with chairs on the veranda. The resort is beautifully landscaped. There is a a very convenient (and yes, overpriced) market on the property, but there are several grocery stores within a few minutes drive if you have a car. (The grocery stores are open from 9 am to 9 pm.)

We did opt to rent beach chairs on the beach (6.25 euro each/half price after 2:30 pm) rather than sit at the pool. As much as I enjoy sitting on any beach, I was not prepared for the onslaught of vendors disturbing my peace. It was a constant barage of people (literally every 3-5 minutes all day long) selling massages, watches, bags, clothes, hair braiding--etc. A few of them were fairly aggressive--refusing to take no for an answer. One vendor sat down in front of my chair and just stared at me for a long time and that was a little uncomfortable. It really did take away from the lovely beach experience--so just be aware when making your decision to spend the day on the beach or at the pool. (Marriott staff does walk through to charge for chairs and they will assist if you are really being bothered--I did see them intervene with someone else.)

If you drive, there is free and very convenient parking onsite. When you arrive you can park in front while checking in and they will direct you where to park. It is all underground with convenient elevator access to your villa. You can come and go as you like.

We went to the grocery store and made breakfast in our room each morning. We had carry out from Charlie's one night--I do not recommend it. The reviews for El Med were so poor that we did not eat there, but we did enjoy drinks from the Chill Bar. There are several restaurants in the area--we ate at Restaurant Elvira--absolutely amazing food with great service.

We were contacted via email about meeting with sales staff, but we just ignored the emails and there was no "hard sell" at all for time shares. Every staff person we encountered was lovely and helpful. Everything in our apartment was in perfect working order. If you use the washer/dryer it is very important that you open the window in the laundry room while using the dryer. There is no venting in the dryer and the clothes will NOT dry if you do not open the window. (They recommend either keeping the door open or the window, but the door is not enough--you must open the window, then the dryer works perfectly.)

We did have free internet, so we did not have to pay that expense. If you do have purchase it, you must purchase for each device and that could be expensive.

This was a nice break from sightseeing in Spain. We were celebrating my daughter's graduation and she had requested a day on the beach. Costa del Sol is a "polished" place and didn't feel like Spain to me--especially staying in a Marriott resort. But we had a wonderful time here and after the typical cramped European hotels, it was really nice to spread out for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Address: Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Marbella Beach Hotel Marbella
Marriotts Marbella Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Marbella
Marbella Marriott
Marriotts Marbella Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.