We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerte Marbella to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A 5% DISCOUNT!
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Rounded off a three centre stay with 3 nights at the Fuerte. As most reviewers have said, it's in an unbeatable position. Most of the hotels in that part of the resort are small business hotels and the more upmarket ones are a bit of a hike in the direction of Puerto Banus. The Fuerte has the best of both. Not only is it a very comfortable classic 4 star (with 5 star service), it is an exceptionally well run one.We were offered a complimentary drink in the bar while they prepared a room for us on the 4th floor.They offered a lower floor but said the better view would be worth the wait. It certainly was.
Marbella is a very smart resort but not in any way full of wanna- be celebs or self important business types. It's a lively and classy place that has something for everyone at all times of the year. Use the Fuerte as your base and you'll have a great holiday.
The restaurant looked good but we didn't try it as there are so many others to investigate all around. The buffet breakfast (including Spanish fizz if you want it) was excellent.
The Fuerte, as you'll see from the photos on display, was a pioneer hotel in Marbella. They have certainly set a standard to be measured up to.

  • Liked — Excellent position with very good service
  • Disliked — Too may noisy golfing parties
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    307
    83
    25
    22
See reviews for
142
463
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

The location of this hotel is perfect. Just at ten minute walk from the center of Marbella (which is so pretty). Also it is right on the promenade. Take a walk along the promenade. It is just beautiful with sea on one side and views of the mountains and some beautiful homes on the other.

When you cross the promenade, you are right on the beach. (The only problem with staying on the beach is that you are bothered by a lot of peddlers and you also have to pay 6 Euros for the chair.) You also have to pay 7 Euros a day for parking your car and 3 Euros for using the safe in your room. But, you can also stay by the hotel pools, which is also nice.

The staff at the hotel is very nice and the rooms are a nice size. I had a standard room with a sea view and it was quite lovely. Had breakfast on my terrace in the morning and felt like I was in paradise. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This is a very good hotel....

Firstly, the external appearance is very impressive. My check-in was painless and the room was very well appointed and clean. A well stocked mini-bar, nice flat screen tv and tea & coffee making facilities.
The bathroom was a good size as was the bath itself.
Taking a walk through the hotel itself, it appears to be quite luxurious. Very nice patio areas with great views of the sea.

The brochure said that use of the gym was free, but I never took advantage of it.

Breakfast buffet was included and I think it's fair to say that there is something for everyone and no shortage of both hot and cold food.

The location was great with the old town about 10 minutes away and the main promenade along the seafront right outside the hotel.

The only downside to the hotel is that fact that you have to pay for parking €7/day and also, strangely, use of the bedroom safe.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Parling Charge
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

located in the centre of marbella, right next to the beach ( walk across the promenade to get to beach also directly via hotel by underground passage), hotel is clean, and in a very good position.
The promenade is an excellent walk day or night there are a variety of eateries located along the way ( few chinese, plenty of spanish and italian, couple if indian... several ice cream palours, various gift shops etc).
the hotel staff is freindly, but very laid back at times it can get a while to get things sorted out, we arrived with our 2 children and they tried to allocate a side room instead of a sea view room which we had booked, but eventually they gave us a junior suite on the first floor with a sea view although ou original room was booked on a higher floor, this was very basic for a 4 star hotel, i would say more like a 3 star.
the hotel has 2 pools the kids enjoyed this, they also have various kids activities for older children, overall the staff was very freindly.
they had a huge variety at the buffet breakfast, and service at breakfast was excellent.
for children there is selwo marina park in benalmadena located 40 minutes on taxi ( cost us 75 euros to get there from the hotel ) and a cable car ride to the mountain is 10 minutes from the marina park, our children loved both these attractions.
also near estopona ( 25 minutes from hotel cost approx 25 euros ) is selwo adventure park, which is a zoo/safari experience ( with safari trucks that take you to certain areas where animals are roaming around uncaged! we had an ostrich follow our truck), .... excellent park and zoo, several fast food places to eat at the park.
overall the hotel was reasonable and comfortable and there is plenty to do for adults and kids , but the hotel is not luxurious as it may appear from the photos on the web, howwever it is in a very good location ( and that's probably why double room is around 289 euros a night).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service at front desk very slow
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Spent one night in this nice hotel. The room was nice and clean (flat screen tv, electric kettle with complimentary tea and coffee, nice bathroom with great water pressure). Nice common areas, specially the garden around the pool. The hotel is literally on the beach.

What i liked the most is the buffet breakfast (included in the room's rate) : fruits station, pastries station, eggs station, bread station, champagne, cheeses, cold cuts, cereals, juice, etc ... you name it, it's there.

  • Liked — breakfast, cleanliness
  • Disliked — expensive compared to other establishments with the same standards
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the El Fuerte in early July, so this
is rather belated review but one that needed to be written
because this Hotel deserves it.
I found the El fuerte to be a little gem placed in what must be
an envious position by the other Marbella hotels.
As previous reviewers have said its position allows guests to
have the best of both worlds.
The front door leads to old Spain and the picturesque squares
full of restaurants and orange trees, whilst the back door leads
straight onto the Promenade and all the modern restaurants and
choices of food you can handle at reasonable prices.

I found the staff to speak excellent English and I found them to be very obliging,especially Sonia the reception manager.
Unfortunately although I had paid the balance of my holiday in full
many months before I left to Travel Republic, somewhere down the line an intermediate company (probably in Spain) had not paid up , and it looked like the street for us unless we were prepared to pay again .
That was until Sonia stepped in and phone calls were made
Most hotels in my experience would have left the guest to sort it out themselves.

Although the Hotel has a fairly new wing I would recommend as most other reviewers have said that you book a sea view room
on one of the higher floors in the main building to make the most of the view.
It’s well worth the extra cost.

Breakfast had plenty of choices with fried eggs or omelettes freshly cooked .
We never had lunch or dinner at the hotel as we found these in our opion to be rather exspensive, and who would want to eat in the hotel with all those glorious restaurants on the doorstep.


The rooms do have wooden floors and the corridors were carpeted which I found kept The noise level quieter than a tiled floor but I was on the top floor which helped and although the rooms on either side of us were occupied we never heard our
neighbours.
In fact the only minor gripe I have of this hotel is that there were no English channels on the TV except the news.
Who cares you’re probably saying, nobody comes on holiday to watch television.
Quiet true-but it is nice to be able to have some entertainment while the wife is hogging the bathroom when getting ready or when the weather curtails doing other things.
It seems to me that all European hotels think that the English only want to watch The news, whilst giving the Germans and the French lots of other channels that were in English to start with.

Our flight home meant an early rise before breakfast was due to begin but staff kindly left us a cold buffet out with coffee or tea so that we didn’t have to go off hungry.
Also a taxi was booked for us by Sonia for both our arrival and departure at a reasonable price of 70 euros each way (40 minute journey) compared to some of the internet companies.

All in all I would sum this hotel up as being for families or older couples who enjoy a more tranquil type of holiday with good service.




All in all I would sum this hotel up as being for families or older couples who enjoy a more tranquil type of holiday with good service.






.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — food prices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

What a fantastic hotel - amenities were excellent, food was excellent, staff, particularly restaurant staff were very helpful.

Gym classes were well organised and lots of fun - hotel location could not be better.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.