We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerte Marbella to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is on the beach..:) the room was nice .. Big and comfortable.. The staff was good.. Thou for some reason i found them kinda money minded.. But over all with all the facilities they provide, it's a good stay..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Marbella. We are happy to know you liked our location, the room and in general you had a good stay,

Regarding your comment about the staff, I would very much appreciate to know in detail what your experience was, so that we can improve travellers stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    282
    80
    25
    21
See reviews for
131
412
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I were quite disappointed with the Hotel Fuerte Marbella as we chose it based on the very good reviews we read. We found that as soon as entering the building, we were met by less than friendly and unhelpful staff. They couldn't be bothered to help us with our luggage until we asked them, as we were having difficulty getting in the door with all of our stuff. They actually just sat there and stared.

One evening, we tried to call room service for some ice and they never picked up after several attempts. We asked a staff member in the hallway, and waited an hour for ice that never arrived. We finally decided to just leave for dinner, and we went down to the front desk (they also would not answer the phone) and asked for ice to be brought to our room there. The woman apologized and said she would take care of it. We came back later and still no ice! The next day we just went down to the restaurant ourselves and asked for a bucket of ice which a waiter gave to us.

The decor of the hotel is outdated and dark-looking. Many of the staff members are strangely defensive and several that we interacted with were bordering on rude and bothered when we asked simple questions. Also, the hotel charges for absolutely everything extra that you might need. Get used to hearing the word "supplement" for anything you may have forgotten or need to borrow while you are there. The walls are thin as other reviewers have said and we could hear clearly the people in the room next to us.

The only upside of this hotel that we found is that the location truly is very good. You can easily walk to old town Marbella and there are a lot of stores/cafes/bakeries/restaurants within walking distance. We had a sea view room on level 4 and the view was very nice as the hotel is right next to the ocean. If location is the ONLY thing important to you, this hotel may be a good choice.

Overall, we would not return to this hotel. I am surprised that it is a 4 star hotel, and am not sure what that is based upon. We only had a few days to spend in this great city of Marbella and our expectations were not met with this hotel. We still absolutely loved the city and definitely recommend that you visit the old town!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for having chosen us for your recent stay in Marbella, specially when coming from as far as US. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the room & views.
Your comments regarding our staff are very valuable to us as we are committed to improving day by day. I am sorry we did not meet our standards. Regarding deco, we are already improving rooms in general (including new tv and new more comfi beds) and more in particular, our Exclusive service in the exclusive rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

so nice and polite staff, room was good and based in the centre of Marbella town centre. The hotel has its private beach front. there is a coach from Malaga to Marbella, works out a lot cheaper than taxi cabs.

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your stay and you review. We are glad to hear you found our staff nice and polite and that our location was convenient for you.
I am sure many travelers will find your information very practical.
The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

. This is a lovely hotel right on the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very spacious and clean. Cava was sent up to our room from reception for my husbands birthday which we thought was a nice touch. Also we had international tv in the room. Parking was easy and worked out at 12euros per night . In all this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and would recommend it.

Room Tip: For a perfect view book room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Fuerte Marbella and also for your review. We are proud to know that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, and that you would recommend our hotel. The team & I look forward to welcome you and your friends and family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I can't agree with "Roy M" who wrote that this hotel is shabby: it's anything but. However, he is right about the noise. The one (big) minus about the hotel is that you can hear everything through the walls and ceilings - unless you are deaf or don't mind. I had to put up with a blaring TV at 2 am coming from room 245 - I was in 244 - and asked for a transfer. This was done without fuss and I was given room 318. Unfortunately, there was a woman in 418 (directly above) who liked to walk around the wooden floor in her hard shoes through the night. Also the toilet flushing was very loud from both offending rooms and voices easily heard..

The rooms are spotless and spacious, the staff are very good and the Reception staff particularly good. The breakfast is excellent value and there is lots to choose from the extensive buffet, however some items are quite poor, in particular the scrambled eggs. I don't know what is added to them, but they are tasteless. The bar drinks are cheap if you drink beer or wine but spirits are very expensive. There is a big screen for watching sport in the bar/lounge.

Because my nights were fairly sleepless I am only giving the hotel 3 stars, for the rest I would give 4.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are deeply sorry about your sleepless nights. Special thanks for mentioning this to us as we had a problem with the tv volume and now we have solved it. We are glad you rate our breakfast as excellent and our staff as very good. Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you again, please contact me before your visit as I would love to greet you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a really good hotel at a perfect location in Marbella.
Via the bar area and the terrace (wich is a perfect place to relax in itself) you come straight on the boardwalk with all its restaurants and tapasbars. Leaving by the main entrance you are just a 2 minutes walk from the quaint old town of Marbella.

Although this hotel (resort?) seems huge, I have very rarely encountered a more helpfull and friendly staff, Because we arrived quite early around noon and our room wasn't ready yet, we received a voucher for a drink at the bar. This was an unexpected present, because it was absolutely no failure from the hotel, we arrived to early!

The breakfastbuffet was huge but at the same time it exeeded our expectations for it all tasted way above average and that can be translated as a huge compliment for such a big restaurant.

When returning to Marbella we will most certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with seaside view, They are amazing and totally worth the higher price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We thank you for your review and for your stay. It is great to hear that you found Hotel Fuerte Marbella is a really good hotel at a perfect location, with helpfull and friendly staff. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our welcome drink while your room was being prepared. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in February.
Hotel is in a fantastic location, on the sea front and a close walk to the restaurants and the marina.

They offered to upgrade to a seafront room for 18 more euro which I declined, in hindsight I should have gone for this.
The first room they gave me was next to the lift, after one evening I asked to change to a more quiet room. Which they did no trouble.

The rooms are fine and have good televisions, but the bathrooms are sparse of toothbrush, combs, body lotions and the like but I think you can ask reception for them if you need.

Breakfast was ok, not concerns and the staff very friendly and attentive.

Would visit again, the price is good and a good decent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Marbella. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the location and found the staff very friendly and attentive.
Indeed, we serve additional amenities when asked for it. And sea view rooms are the best located rooms to enjoy a unique view over the gardens and the Mediterranean for a small supplement based on availability. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Escapio, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.