We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fuerte Marbella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was my 2nd stop in my 2 week long honeymoon in Spain.. So I requested the manager to give me good room and he indeed give a nice room in their new wing..

Rooms - were of a very decent size with a small attached balcony overlooking the beach.. The bed wasn't the most comfortable that I have come across. It could have been far better specially if they did away with the small wheels below the bed. The bathroom too was reasonably ok..

Food - I must say that the breakfast both in terms of spread as well as state was by far the best I came across all he hotels I stayed in Spain. It was the most perfect way to kick start your day. I don't remember the name but a great Indian restaurant is just outside the hotel.

Location - what worked best for the hotel was its location. Right on the beach and even the old town (shopping area) is just a walking distance. Most shopping places were at a max 10 mins walking distance from the hotel.

Service - on the whole the service at the hotel was average and to be honest a slight below expectation.. Definitely much scope for improvement there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing - bigger and better, specially in case if you get the ones facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in such a relevant celebration and congratulations from all the team.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the room, our buffet breakfast, our location on the beach and in the center of Marbella

We also appreciate your comments on the bed and service. We take them as a present and n opportunity to improve.

The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    246
    72
    25
    20
See reviews for
119
370
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Probably about 7th visit to El Fuerte. We found it, initially, after consulting trip advisor and liked the look of the central location. Having stayed at three other hotels and a further three apartments in Marbella, this is the choice every time. The buffet breakfast, with show cooking, is always second to none and the staff are plentiful in number & very helpful too. We generally book B&B though the evening buffet is very good, again with show cooking.
The location can't be beaten for the beach, restaurants & the old town.
Plenty of room for sun beds either by the pool or in the garden unless you visit in high season, when there is a lot of "reserving" of spaces. Since our last visit, signs have been erected warning against this and pool attendants have been seen removing towels.
Price wise, the hotel is about what is expected during the different seasons, and is excellent as a base for both golfers and families.
The hotel has been around a while and as such, may look a bit old fashioned, but we love it.
Very highly recommended and well worth the extra for a front sea view room.

Location, food, service & value .......El Fuerte has it all!

If you're a trip advisor fan, as we are, then don't miss Paco Jimenez restaurant in Orange Square.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem much bigger, but always go for front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your trust. We are sure your comments will be very helpful for other travellers regarding our location, food, service and value, for both golfers and families. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very pleasant stay friendly staff
Food excellent on the beach
Rooms could do with brighting up tho
Would defiantly stay there again
Rooms cleaned every day to high standard
Gardens were lovely they even grow there own veg and walls are surrounded with rosemary
B
Gated hotel so felt very secure

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for your stay and your review. Glad to know you felt very secure, found staff friendly and the food on the beach excellent.
We will take your comment about the room into consideration, thanks for that too.
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights for a friends wedding. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful, there were always more than one member of staff at the reception so there was never a large queue.

We had a sea view side room which again was lovely. I think the beds are the best beds I have ever slept on. The rooms were clean and also there were spare toiletries incase you had forgotten to pack any.

The breakfast was a buffet style with a large variety, there was hot cold fruit cereals and pastries. There was also an area where you could have omelettes made fresh and these were gorgeous.

The pool area was also nice with the hotel having two pools - we used both! I liked the fact that the staff would not allow people to go down early and reserve beds. The hotel is right on the front so we also spent a bit of time on the beach which was cleaned every morning.

Had a lovely time and I would definitely return to this hotel and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for your 5 night stay and for your review. We are very happy to know that you found the hotel very clean, the staff very helpful, the sea view room lovely, and the beds the best beds you had ever slept on.

The team & I are glad to know that you had a lovely time. We all hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Fuerte Marbella twice now. I'm not sure if there is a better endorsement than repeat business. We loved it so much that we went back to the exact same place and (almost) the exact same room. They have a great brunch every morning, which I recommend. We do not use the pool area, but it is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and in fact there is nowhere else in the world I sleep as well as I do there. We mainly go to the beach all day, down from the pool area and across the cobblestone street which is more like a sidewalk than a road. There are a ton of great bars, cafes, and tapas restaurants along that street and then the beach area is below that. You do have to pay to use the chairs on the beach, which may come as a surprise to some. The water is clear and the waves are usually small, sometimes it is as still as a lake, which is really great. Great atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff, and comfortable accommodations. We will go to Marbella again, and when we do, I have no doubt we will stay at Hotel Fuerte Marbella.

Room Tip: The suites have blackout curtains on the patio, and another set in the center of the room, so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for coming back to Fuerte Marbella and for your review. I am sure may travellers wil find it useful. We are happy to know that you enjoy our buffet breakfast, and that you find our rooms so comfortable that there is nowhere else in the world you sleep as well as you do here.
I will proudly share your comments with my team. We all look forward to welcoming you soon again at Fuerte Marbella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was perfect for the large group that were visiting for our friends' wedding. Breakfast selection was very good, but the coffee wasn't great. Good thing I'm more of a tea and juice person!

Rooms were a little dated but clean and comfortable. I would stay here again no problem.

Poolside cocktails were delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your stay and your review. We are very glad to know that you found the hotel was perfect for your large wedding group and that you enjoyed our cocktails.
Thank you also for your comments regarding the rooms and the coffee. We will take them into account to improve.
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The most impressive thing about El Fuerte is the quality of the breakfast. Probably the best I've come across, which includes many US stopovers. Everything is on offer, from Jamon Serrano, various cheeses, breads of all kinds, hot breakfasts, a pancake/omlette station, Sobresada, Membrillo (quince jelly), different coffees/teas, cakes of all kinds, churros con chocolate. This was worth the stay just on its own. Definitely 5 stars for breakfast.

The hotel itself is one of the oldest in Marbella. Check out some of the old pictures of the hotel in the old town taken in the 1970s. It has been added to considerably since then and now has 6 floors. There are two outdoor pools and one inside I think, but didn't go to that one. One pool is used for lane swimming or is used by a local swimming school. It is clear that many locals use the hotel facilities for the gym, pool or just to hang out around the pool bar and I liked this close link with the local community. Most of the clientele when we were there were spanish, escaping the searing heat of inland Spain in August. In my experience, the Spanish are very fussy about hotels, and I'm qualified to say that being half Spanish. So, of course the food and service were both excellent. Maria, the general manager leads by being very visible, talking to guests and showing clients to tables etc. This has obviously rubbed off on the staff because they treat their jobs very seriously and there is a genuine feeling that all the staff care a great deal about making this a good experience and being friendly. Now, this is rare in Spain!

I have read some of the criticisms of this hotel and have to say they are rather petty. The hotel is old, but it is far from shabby. The oak panelling and expensive architecture is mostly original from the 1970s when no expense was spared in building this hotel. Rooms are tastefully decorated with good quality wood furniture for the most part. Yes, exterior gates are locked but security is excellent, with barriers on the entrance/exit and other service gates locked. The lift requires a key card for access and there are safes in all rooms. There is a great underpass for easy access to the beach and the hotel has its own showers and toilets if you go to the beach which are spotless. There is certainly no charge for sunbeds, despite what you might read on these reviews. They do charge for the 4 poster bed things that are outside, but that is to be expected.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but by all accounts, the buffet meals are good quality. I don't personally like buffets except at breakfast so we ate in the old town every day. The location is excellent. The lovely old town is 5 minutes walk away and the beach is right there with a promenade stretching all the way to Puerto Banus, 7Km away. We got a taxi to PB, which is well worth it for a day. There is a good supermarket just around the corner, which is handy for basic provisions and stocking up the fridge with stuff like beer and ice tea.

The rooms are fairly basic, but good value. We had a side sea view, which has a small balcony. The room has a couple of power points, a handy fridge, very effective air conditioning and functional bathroom with bidet and mixer shower. The finish on the tiling was poor in our bathroom and if there is anything that needs renovating is is the bathrooms. Beds are fairly comfortable, but pillows were rather lumpy and hard. The literature in the room gives a menu of pillows, but isn't clear what to do about getting these, since there were only two in the room. Room service is excellent. We did this one night when we couldn't be bothered to go out. Also, not too expensive as you get in some hotels.

Marbella itself is ugly apart from the casco antiguo (old town). It is a victim of borderline criminal town planning in the 1970s. The beautiful mountains are almost totally obscured by high rise flats and hotels. Photos of Marbella prior to 1970 show it to be an idyllic small fishing town with unparallelled views from the sea to the mountains. Utterly tragic. On the bright side, the old town has been very tastefully restored, with original Moorish architecture in a good state and the original brickwork of the now whitewashed houses being exposed in places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with yus and for taking the time to write this review which will surely be of help for many other travellers.
We will take into consideration your comments regarding the bathrooms and pillows, as we would like to keep improving.
I will share with my team your comments about them taking their jobs very seriously to make guests feeling a good and friendly experience.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, T4B and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.