We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fuerte Marbella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #18 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed three nights at la Fuerte in June. The hotel is built like a palace with more than one building and connecting fancy areas. The hotel seems to attract elderly people that want to relax. I stayed with my family in a Junior sweet. Room was spacious with no sea view. Cleaning service rush into the room after a fast nock on the door so you should be always alert. Breakfast was good but not the dinner. Location is near to old marbella where there are many good restaurants. Reception and staff were very or let me say too much efficient. You feel yourself in a company not in a hotel when you want to ask a question to the reception, becasie their answers are packed and ready and like a cold dish. In all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are glad you enjoyed our location and our buffet breakfast. Junior Suites are either side sea view or front sea view. We will try and improve service at Reception as per your comment. The team & I look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    247
    68
    27
    18
See reviews for
111
363
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southend, essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Myself and 3 friends have just returned from this hotel for a short break. Everything positive I had already read about this hotel I can back up. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous at all times. The room was was clean and extremely comfortable. A great choice of good quality food at breakfast with plenty of staff to attend to everything. The hotel does seem to attract the older crowd but there were a few groups of women possibly in their forties (like us) just enjoying a relaxing short break. It is brilliantly located for the old town which is so attractive with the beautiful orange square, plenty of places to eat/drink and watch the world go by. Shopping is great too, lots of individual boutiques and not many obvious souvenir shops. The hotel is also situated right on the beach so you can exit the back of the hotel and enjoy a walk along the promenade where there are plenty of cafes and restaurants and a few shops too. We would definitely return, the hotel is traditional, comfortable, non pretentious and excellent value for money and I am pretty fussy!!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and specially our service, our facilities and our buffet breakfast. Next time you visit us try our beach restaurant (just across the promenade) with typical fish and paellas.
We all look forward to welcoming you and your friends soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Friendly very accommodating staff. Beautiful looking hotel. Very short walk from the old town and perfectly located on the golden mile. Very quiet at night, with a comfortable bed. Hotel fuerte marbella = Bliss! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to many more enjoyable stays with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We use the hotel as a base for our annual girls get together. The clientelle this time of year tend to be older than us, but that doesn't bother us as we dine out in Marbella because the hotel is ideally placed for beaches/shopping/eating and drinking. It adds to the charm of the hotel as it is more reserved and you don't get hoards of drunk teens or screaming kids. Two rooms next door to each other. We upgraded to sea view this year and it was worth the money. We had rooms above the outdoor pool, 136 & 137 - excellent view - clean and tidy. Breakfast excellent, although it sometimes took a while to get coffee and it appears that the omelette eggs are pre mixed this year and not whisked fresh - a bit disappointing because the omlettes are a must.
Pool beds are not to be reserved and for once a hotel sticks to this, much more pleasant. Not on your bed - it will be freed up for another guest - as it should be ! Staff as pleasant as always - check in and check out painless. We will be back next year. Well done Hotel Fuerte - a triumph again !

Room Tip: Sea View worth paying for - rooms brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you Ladies for staying again with us! And for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and specially our location, our service and our rooms.
We take good note of your comment about getting coffee to the table quicker in the morning.
Regarding the omelet eggs, these must now be pasteurized (by law). We may use fresh eggs for the fried eggs.
Regarding sunbeds on the pool terrace, it has never been permitted to book sunbeds (these are free for hotel guests on the terrace, 7€/day on the beach) and this year we have implemented new signs and we are determined to make it happen.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent location and good staff. Receptionist reasonable but not excellent. About 80% of residents were elderly people. Breakfast buffet excellent, dinner buffet reasonable. We had a sea view room (number 537) but the wall of the balcony was so high that I needed to stand up to see the sea. There was another building where the baloneys were better. We had some ants in out room at 5th floor but the domestic helped with some "spays" that sorted out the problem. The swimming pool is small for this large hotel. The beach is next door to the hotel. In general, good hotel and I would return back to it. Try to get the sea view room in the building opposite to the covered swimming pool.

Room Tip: Try to get the sea view room in the building opposite to the covered swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your stay and your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. Regarding the sea view rooms, as you mention, it is so that in the Poniente building the balconies have a concrete wall and in the upper floors you would not see the sea when sitting on the chair. However if you stay in a lower floor you would indeed. In the Levante building the balconies have iron railings and through them you can see the sea.
I am glad to hear we sorted out the ants (they visit us sometimes in the summer in the Poniente building as we have flower boxed on the terraces).
Regarding the pools, we have two of them: one outdoor, and one indoor heated in the winter and outdoor in the summer. During your stay, the indoor pool was stil covered as the temperature in the night was not yet high enough.
The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, on the beach, just over the street from the old town. The garden is beautiful, the food is good and the staff is - well most of them - very nice and service minded.
One of the best thing about the hotel, was the people staying there. Midle aged or older, not many children, which means that it is possible to be grown ups, have nice conversations, relax by the beautiful pool area and just enjoy the sound of the waves rolling on the beach. The board walk (goes all the way to Puerto Banus) is wonderful for everyone who like to run. Nice surface and not to many people in the morning. Try the chinese girls on the beach, they give good foot massage for 15 euros.
We slept with the door to the balcony open, and it was nice and quiet all through the nights.
We went there to work, and we will try to go back next spring, and hopefully this will be the hotel we visit every year from no one. It is as good as it gets, without beeing to posh. Classy, elegant and great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. I think I read that there was more noice on the side heading towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments. Nice to hear you enjoyed our garden areas, our food and service by our team.
Regarding the Chinese girls on the beach, we should warn you that it is illegal and no massage services are permitted on the hotel sunbeds, as we could be fined for that. Furthermore we cannot be held responsible for any injuries as the service is not delivered by the hotel.
Regarding leaving the balcony door open, in the lower floors we do not recommend not it (there is a warning on the balcony door).
The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent a week at the Fuerte in Marbella and would highly recommend this hotel. The sea views were superb and the location one of, if not THE best in Marbella. Behind the hotel is easy access to the old town, with a visit to Orange Square essential, with ols world restaurants and shops in small winding streets with churches and flowers everywhere! We were truly hooked on the beauty, location and service althopugh price-wise, it wasn't cheap, but quality sometimes comes at a price and we have not regrets. We also hired a car and parking was provided at the hotel for 12 euros per day.

Room Tip: High above the trees, we were on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments. We are so happy to know how much you enjoyed not only our superb sea views and location, but also strolling around the old Marbella town. We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.