We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Marbella” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fuerte Marbella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #17 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Belfast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great location in Marbella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights B&B. At the time of booking we paid for a standard room but asked for a sea-view. We were allocated a side sea view room on the 6th floor (note the lift only goes to the 5th floor and we had to go up a small set of stairs). The room was great with a lovely view. The breakfast was fantastic, with a large selection of fruit, breads, meats, cheese, an egg station, and all the usual extras. Additionally there was champagne, a selection of cakes and a chocolate fountain! On the Thursday night there was a welcome reception for all guests with free champagne and tapas. The bar was also quite nice with reasonably priced wine - 3 Euro per glass and free snacks. The indoor pool is good however you need to wear a cap. We didn't use the hotel gym which is located in a separate building about 2 mins walk away. The spa was closed at the time of our stay. The hotel is ideally located right at the beach with private access from the hotel gardens, and a 5 min walk to nice restaurants in the old town. There is also a small car park at 12 Euros per day, however it would be busy in the summer. The hotel has excellent facilities and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    247
    68
    27
    18
See reviews for
111
363
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Historically the first hotel in Marbella. Has a charming character and a fantastic central location and views. Thoroughly Spanish and busy. Good breakfast. Pity the bar by the pool was not manned more or consistently. Found the background noise frustrating and we were on the top floor so ?what would it have been like with people above us!? At 45 I did feel pretty young at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for your feedback. By "background noise" I understand you mean the city noise?. We are located in the center of Marbella and on the beach front, so my recommendation, as well as other guests writing reviews is to reserve a front or side sea view room if you wish to have a quiet room. Regarding the poolbar, this time of year, when the weather is unsteady, we keep it practically close but we are happy to serve our guests from the main bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we arrived on the 4th and as we go twice a year are very familiar with the hotel and indeed the staff as we have been staying for many, many years and also have recommended it to family and friends. The food and location and facilities are excellent... Just one complaint... unfortunately we locked ourselves in the balcony on the fourth floor, as we did not realise nor was there any sighn not to close the sliding door (on the new wing) from the balcony.. the result an hour calling and in the rain it was not a nice experience as we had plans.... For the rest of the stay my husband used the stairs to come and go which was hastle when on a short break.. We spoke to Maria the manager and hopefully it will be sorted as two more families from ireland that stayed there it also happened to but they were fortunate that the partner was in the room.. us irish have a habit of closing doors!!!! Great place to stay overall and we have always been lucky enough to get a very nice room in a good location also..

Room Tip: all the rooms with sea view are very well located at the frount and also the side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for returning to Fuerte Marbella! And many thanks for letting me know about the closing of the balcony door (I am so sorry!). Following your suggestion, we will put signs up to prevent that hapenning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good hotel in the centre of Marbella, very handy walking distance for the "Old Town"
We had a side sea view on the 6th floor which was just as good as a sea front view room.
We were offered a Seniors deal (over 55) which was upgrade to half board and 10% off price
could not complain about that.
Breakfast buffet had a good selection and freshly cooked to order any eggs of your choice.
Although the Hotel Fuerte is an older hotel and furnishings do reflect this in style and age, we did not feel this was worthy of criticism as the price reflected what we received.
Entertainment most nights usual Spanish style.
Evening Meal was average but service was excellent.

Room Tip: Lift only goes up to floor 5 - small set of stairs to floor 6 . Side sea views good value,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay and your review. Great to hear your stay was good value for money!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights, 14th and 15th October 2012. The hotel is one of the best I have stayed in for a short break. Rooms were spacious and clean. Shower and bath, Tea and coffee making facilities a safe and a fridge which was stocked with 2 beers, 2 lemonades and 2 bottles of water. A balcony that overlooked the sea and beautiful gardens of the hotel. Separate open air and covered swimming pools were available with plenty of sunbeds. Towels are even supplied free of charge for the beach. The food was excellent and the reception staff were brilliant. Within easy reach of numerous sandy beaches, a strip with plenty of restaurants and drinking establishments. If you go, try to pay a visit to the old town which is a short walk north of the hotel. This hotel certainly is tops in the guest stakes and caters for all parties. There are plenty of places to go and see in the vicinity of the hotel. If you are prepared to walk along the beach for a few hundred yards there are wonderful Irish Bars, namely The Claddagh and Callaghan's. These have the cheapest pints in the town and with plenty of entertainment in the evenings. Although in the middle of October, the weather was glorious and in the high 20's everyday. I was on a trip with work colleagues but I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a family holiday. I will certainly consider this hotel if I take a future family holiday in the Costa Del Sol. When I go here again it will definitely be for longer than a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am so pleased to know that you made a discovery with Fuerte Marbella and that you consider coming for a longer period. Thanks a lot for your stay and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok its our second time back to the Fuerte so I suppose that in itself speaks volumes.

Our negative experience on this occasion had nothing to do with the hotel.

This is a lovely hotel which we could highly recommend to anyone thinking of going to Marbella. Location is fantastic, the staff are lovely, and the entertainment in the hotel bar was really great every night.

We were unfortunate with the weather. It rained for most of the week we were there. But that happens, and its no ones fault.

Our negative experience was that my wife had her purse stolen in the Old Town one evening. Its so annoying with all the usual hassle that it entails, cancelling cards etc. I have to say that the reception staff could not have been nicer, helping with phone calls etc. But of course it sorta knocks the shine off what otherwise was an enjoyable week.

I think the hotel could be more active in warning guests about this danger. Just reminding people to be on their guard when relaxing in the Old Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay and sorry about what happened to you in the old town. Although this does not happen often, we have already informed the local tourist authorities so that police patrols walk more often around the area. I am happy to know that you had a good experience with Fuerte Marbella and that you appreciated the help of our reception staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visiting Marballa for buying a property we needed a comfortable base. The hotel was fantastic. Nice, well furnished and equipped rooms, nice restaurants, a fine bar with evening entertainment, a large pool area with two pools - one of them covered (it was end October/early November where the weather occasionally can be less sunny than usual). It is situated at the sea side in the very heart of Marbella with all restaurants etcetera close by. It is hard to imagine a better hotel taking the whole package into consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay and your review. I am glad to hear you are buying a place in Marbella and you found our hotel pleasant for your recent stay. We would be very happy to welcome you in our bar and restaurant in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.