We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fuerte Marbella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #18 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visiting Marballa for buying a property we needed a comfortable base. The hotel was fantastic. Nice, well furnished and equipped rooms, nice restaurants, a fine bar with evening entertainment, a large pool area with two pools - one of them covered (it was end October/early November where the weather occasionally can be less sunny than usual). It is situated at the sea side in the very heart of Marbella with all restaurants etcetera close by. It is hard to imagine a better hotel taking the whole package into consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay and your review. I am glad to hear you are buying a place in Marbella and you found our hotel pleasant for your recent stay. We would be very happy to welcome you in our bar and restaurant in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    246
    68
    27
    18
See reviews for
111
362
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It says a lot about this hotel that we keep it for celebrating special occasions. We requested a room on the top floor of the old building and that's exactly what they gave us. Delighted to see a hotel that provides normal coat hangers rather than the most useless and annoying clip on things. Well done Fuerte, who wants to take coat hanger home?
Staff are most polite and helpful and seem to take real pride in working there. Breakfast, as ever, a real feast and extends from 7.30 till 11.0
Dinner was excellent by any hotel standards with fresh fish and meat dishes being cooked until the restaurant closed at 10.0
Some of the hotel's age is showing in the fixtures and fittings, particularly the carpet in the bar. I believe a partial refurb is due this winter. For us though, we're happy to see the grand old lady keep going along in classic style with classic service to make our special occasions just that.
This year we had less than celebratory weather but the excellent position of the hotel meant we could still get out with only a minor drenching! We'd taken a small umbrella but asked if we could borrow one of the hotel's large ones. The receptionist said sadly they were all in use in such awful weather and that he had even loaned his out to some guests. Now that's service!

Room Tip: Choose new wing if you like more modern style and original building if you like a more traditional f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay, once again. We are very proud to hear that Fuerte Marbella is a special place for you, as you are special for us. Yes, we are doing some refurbishing in the "older" building during this winter, but we are still open in the newer building (we never close, since 1957!). Thanks especially for the comment on the carpet in the bar area: we are fitting a new one in the coming months. Look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The above 3 words sum up this hotel perfectly, but I do have to add 2 more - great service! We were greeted on arrival, after the very early morning flight from Gatwick, with a glass of chilled cava and checked in. We had asked for a room in the new wing which we got but as it wouldn't be ready for 40 minutes, we were given a voucher for some drinks on the terrace. This was truly service above and beyond. We were there before check in time and in many hotels I've stayed in previously, we've never been offered this extra.

Our room was on the 5th floor with a side ocean view and was a standard functional hotel room with everything required and although the shower was over the bath, it was nicely powerful and easy to control the heat. What was nice though was the time that the concierge who showed us to our room, took to make recommendations on what to do, where to go and where to eat. We found all his recommendations spot on.

The breakfasts were truly "all inclusive"! It was all there from chilled Cava, through to an egg chef, lots of fruit and pastries and finishing with a chocolate fountain - never seen one of those at breafast before. A very minor gripe is that all the fruit was tinned rather than fresh.

As said the location was perfect - on the promenade with it's own gate to access it (you used your room key to get back in) and only minutes from the old town with it's views, ambience and fantastic restaurants. We also went to Puerto Banus one day and took the "Jet Blue" catamaran for a relaxing 25 minute cruise across bay from marbella Harbour right into the marina at PB!! At only 15euros per person return this was a great way to visit PB and see the coast from the sea.

The average age at the hotel was, I guess, in the 40's and 50's with many older couple. This may not make the hotel suitable for the young looking for somewhere lively but for the rest of us - it's perfect!

We are going to go back to Marbella next year and will definitely stay at the Fuerte Marbella again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay and for your helpful review. I am only sorry you did not enjoyed our fresh fruit in the buffet breakfast as we daily offer: fresh pineapple, fresh orange, fresh melon, fresh water melon. When you come next year, please let me know (I am a lot around where guests are) and I will make sure you have it. See you next year!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

There are two Fuerte Hotels in Marbella and they are only about 300 yards apart. The Marbella is the older one. The Miramar is the younger. They are both on the same stretch of beach.

We stayed at the Marbella. The property was well maintained. The rooms were a little larger than the normal sized European hotel room. There was a small balcony with a view of the Mediterranean which is about 75 yards away.

The room has WiFi, hair dryer, T.V. and a small refrigerator which had a small gratis selection of item for a first time use. Has a nice Spa and every type of massage imaginable.

The Marbella offer breakfast and dinner in a buffet style with a grill station for Special orders or Special of the Day. I am not a gourmet but I found the food to be satisfactory with some very nice dishes in the mix. No one will go hungry as there is an ample supply of everything. Large salad and fruit bar as well as soup. Tables were supplied with water and wine but since I am not a big wine drinker I can not speak of the quality other than to say I did not spit it out or make a face so it must have been a step or two above Boone’s Farm.

The clientele at this time of years appears to be a little more mature. The caliber of dress at dinner was a couple of notches above the all inclusive in Mexico. Ladies were nicely dressed and men were in slacks with shirts with little Polo players and horses on them. After dinner, there was music in the bar area for dancing if you desired. Again it was not for the 20-28 year old generation more for the 55 plus. If you know how to Cha Cha and Swing dance you are in the right range. It was easy to spot the America folks in the crowed because they had dinner in their Under Armor T-shirt and Nikes. I had the red baseball hat. Did not see small children but did hear one.

The staff was pleasant and we had no issues.

It is interesting that Spain does not appear to have as high a level of English speaking people. That is refreshing; to see tourist having to communicate in other than English. Of course since most American can not speak a second language because it is no longer required in our educational system, you see review complaining about that situation. I can only imagine how all the foreign tourist who come to the U.S. must feel, we only speak English… What no Mandarin ?

As a general state I find us Americans to be very demanding in inverse proportion to the level of travel experience. A first time traveler thinks all the world should meets their expectations in full.


Crapshooter

Room Tip: Side rooms with an small sea view are the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We thank you for your stay, and for coming from so far away!. I am sure many travellers will find your review of Fuerte Marbella and Fuerte Miramar very helpful. Great to hear about your good experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice rooms ,had ocean front room overlooking beach, just lovely! Walking distance to old town, shops restaurants and bars, perfect location. The breakfast was the best breakfast you could ask for, included everything from omelettes to champagne! Spent 3 days here and didn't want to leave- would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay and for recommending our hotel. It is great to hear you had such a good experience. And you can be sure, we did not want you to leave.... We'll look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just returned ,yet again from the hotel fuerte ! Such a great time we all had celebrating a big birthday ! Every thing was as usual superb ! Staff are so good and attentive which makes your holiday so enjoyable ! Many thanks (See u next year ).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your stay and lovely to hear you are coming back next year. I am glad to know about your comments on our staff, as our teams, together with the location of Fuerte Marbella, are the two most valuable points according to our many repeating guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel opened in 2010, right on the beach, close to the old town, excellent service, excellent breakfast, we definitely enjoyed our stay there. Definitely worth every EUR! This is a hotel you will remember and will want to return to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Great to hear you wish to come back!. Just one small think: Fuerte Marbella opened in 1957. Did you mean our hotel in Estepona Fuerte Estepona Suites?.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.