We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really,really nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerte Marbella to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
GET A 5% DISCOUNT!
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A really,really nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed here for a week and just cant wait to go back.
Everything was just perfect, with helpful friendly smiling staff who were most helpful with all our questions and we had many.
Locationwise its absolutely perfect. Exit the back way and you are on the seafront right beside restaurants and the sea .Nice Italian place about 50m up.
Or exit the front and you are in the centre beside more restaurants and 5 mins from the old town.
This is a great hotel with lovely grounds, and lots of quiet places just to sit and read and listen to the ocean waves.

Room Tip: If I were going again I would try to avoid rooms 130, 131 and 132 as the view is not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    348
    89
    28
    24
See reviews for
162
511
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is an old property that needs a lot of updating. I was greeted by the receptionist and told that I didn't have the correct number (printed directly from hotels.com) to check in. While they let me do all the work on their computer to find the number, they waited on several other people. I was allowed to check in after I showed them whatever number was required only the find out (after a long drive with a bad back) that they don't have a bellhop to help you with you luggage. I am on a one month trip and have quite a bit to move. Then I get to the room which reminds me of camping out in a tent it's so small. AC? Forget it. Nice grounds, bar and pool. Right on the beach and nice view. In the action. I wouldn't stay there again. Weak, very weak......and my back thanks them. Oh, and pay for internet and parking too.

Room Tip: Don't go...unless you like a cheap place just to stay the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Exselant location perfect breakfast
Verry clean rooms and verry nice stuff what else you can seek in a hotel

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

we just came back from 1 week Costa del Sol
This hotel is perfectly situated : at the beginning of the restaurants and nightlife.
at the other side, you have the old town - traffic free
great hotel, very friendly personnel, speak different languages
perfect room, clean, large, balcony,...

tha buffet breakfast : we have never seen before the varietey and choises
almost a -course breakfast: you can start with a cava - then the normal breakfast, and end with cakes, pancakes, chocolatefountain,...
fruit, yoghurt, meat, fish, vegetables, everything was there and filled till ending time : 11h.00
perfect on vacation

we certainly go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Excellent location in Marbella. Warm welcome, excellent room service, amazing breakfast. The bar area is ok, We were given a room on the 6th floor, the elevator only goes to the 5th floor. The room was ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cadiz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My elderly parents find this hotel ideal for them as they can easily walk onto the promenade. As we live in Spain and have a toddler we decided it would be really nice to stay in the same hotel.
We booked the hotel some 6 weeks ago and probably because the hotel was nearly full paid around £250 a night for a sea view room which for mid September we considered expensive.
On the plus side we did enjoy great views, the hotel is brilliantly located and generally well run.
As concerns negatives all of our party and other guests we chatted to agreed that the beds are uncomfortable and you therefore do not get a good night's sleep.
The other disappointing area is the very tired and somewhat gloomy appearance of the main lounge where the evening entertainment takes place. It seems a little strange, for what appears to be such a successful business, that the management have not spent more money on the upkeep/renovation of such an important area.
At the end of the day it all depends on what you have to pay - the place was being used by golfing and other groups who were no doubt getting a much better deal but on the deal we got I'd probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My mum and I stayed a El Fuerte Marbella for 4 nights in September. Got a great deal on otels.com website, and stayed in a twin room on the 1st floor. Room very clean, comfortable beds, great bathroom and all required facilities. Nice balcony area with side sea view.
Hotel is in a fantastic location, right by the promenade and only a short walk to the Old Town in Marbella, where you'll find a host of restaurants, cafes and shops.
Reception was always busy, but we found them friendly and efficient. The outside pool area is good, with plenty of sunbeds to choose from.
Breakfast was another highlight - wide ranging buffer with just about everything you could think of (and some you wouldn't). Examples included fresh pancakes, eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, chocolate fountain and a range of "cooked" items, including bacon, sausage and also sprouts one day!
Main downside of the hotel was the bar area. The service was VERY slow, particularly late afternoon. It was also fairly pricey (e.g. 12 euros for 2 Baileys), although to be fair Marbella in general is pretty expensive. One day we fancied a glass of wine in the late afternoon, and sat at one of the outside table. Even though there was not many people there, it took forever to get a waiters attention, to the point where we left without ordering and never went back to the bar, but for a drink in the Old Town instead!
Overall, however, would recommend El Fuerte (particulary for the location, bedrooms and breakfast quality). Top tip would be to avoid the bar area, and either find a nice bar in the Old Town or alternatively use the fridge in your room to chill your own bottle of wine!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Miramar
Hotel Fuerte Miramar
#17 of 78 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#7 of 78 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#18 of 78 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
6.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Avda. el Fuerte s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.