We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 NIGHT BUSINESS CONVENTION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
hartlepool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“3 NIGHT BUSINESS CONVENTION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

arrived to an excellent lunch laid on for 250 guests,,spent time walking thro superb hotel gardens,onto excellent beach.on evening a b/que was laid on--the best barby I have tasted---special mention to waitress maria,she was brilliant. the downside was the breakfast-if you like variety-no problem,but cooked breakfast was only average.the bedroom was excellent with very large comfy bed,but the bathroom needed attention,i e loose fittings and large mirror which had seen better days.would have liked to give hotel 4.5 out of 5.also ask for room on higher floor for views also binmen arrive at 7.30am on mornings and are the noisiest I have come accross

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,


First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your comments.

We use this web as a tool to improve all our facilities in order to make your stay a most discerning resort experience.

While we reviewed your comments, we have seen that we did not reach the level of service that you expected in our breakfast regarding the hot station.

We would like to inform you that we have take note in order to make some changes and regarding your comments about the bathroom, we have updated with our maintenance staff.

I would like to avail this opportunity to thank you very much your nice words about our staff, special mention to our waiter María and for the good experience that you have had in the lunch with all your colleagues.

All your comments help us to be better in the future and provide to our guests
better experiences with us.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    184
    98
    36
    28
See reviews for
202
229
14
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here on business, and found it a pleasant place to stay. It is only about 45minutes from Malaga Airport, and about 10minutes from Marbella. The location is on Nikki Beach. There are excellent facilities at the hotel, but it is kept in good order despite looking a little tired in places. There are tennis courts on the way to the beach, which is just a short walk behind the hotel. Breakfast is a good buffet selection, and lunch around the pool is good, if a little pricey. YOu can get regular shuttles to Marbella, but for a few days it makes a nice place to unwind and relax. The conference facilites are good, and rooms are as you would expect. There is however still some building work and contruction taking place around the hotel, but this will only disprupt you if get a lie in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like you to accept our gratitude for your comments.

This is one of our most valuable tools to measure our guest satisfaction and they help us improve and reach our goal which is that our guests feel home away from home.

In general lines we could see that you are satisfy with your stay.

As you well know, we are in process to convert our resort into a hotel where all our guest needs would be covered. We would like to inform you that regarding the building works, they are close to finish what means that we will have new rooms for our guest in a new building. If they have caused any disturbance, please accept my most sincere apologies. Our intention is to make all possible efforts to improve the standard of our services.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon and show you the new rooms. We are sure that you will love them.

Please, let me be at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very disappointed with a few aspects of this hotel. Firstly, luckily we were only there for 3 nights as we had a room in the high rise block which is terrible. The rooms are average and all look over a building site. Every morning at 8am the builders start work. Definately not what you would expect of a five star hotel. All the good comments seem to relate to people staying in the luxury villas which are on a separate entrance system. They have lovely sea/garden views but are well hidden away from the rest of the complex.

Secondly, the hotel beach area is very poor. Old plastic sun beds squashed together with a roped off area but pestered nearly all day by the lucky lucky men. This is a very poor beach and should be maintained and cleaned more.

Thirdly, the breakfast was not of a high standard. Presentation very poor and was shocked to see a kettle that you had to boil for a cup of tea. When the water ran out you had to wait for a waiter to fill it up.

This is not a cheap hotel but sorry unless you pay even more money to stay in the de-luxe area this is not worthy of five stars.

The gardens are very beautiful and the pool area is good but if you like a beautiful beach to stroll along do not bother. Unfortunately we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Do not stay in high rise. Be prepared to pay quite a bit extra for a decent room. You have been warn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your comments, which I really appreciate; they help us improve our standard, and we consider them one of our most valuable tools.

I would also like to take this opportunity to offer you my most sincere apologies since we did not reach your expectations. I am deeply sorry if you found your room noisy. It is only because we are trying to improve our facilities for yours and other guests enjoyment.
As you are fully aware, we are immersed in an evolution process to become the resort where all types of needs are covered, and comments like yours help us keep on making all possible efforts to do so.

I can assure you that we are working very hard to cover the challenging areas that you mentioned and that we are changing some work habits to reach and improve our guests expectations servicewise.

We would really appreciate the opportunity to have you back with us in order to demonstrate you that we can make you feel better than at home.

I remain at your entire disposal for any requirement you would need,

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a five night stay at the Don Carlos and found the staff (particularly Esther Lopez) very attentive, helpful and courtieous. Facilities were excellent and the restaurant good - it was nice to have the use of a good pool and a private beach. I would highly recommend this to both families and couples of all ages.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comments, thank you very much. They deeply satisfy us.

Specially, I would like to thank you very much for your comments regarding our staff, particularly to Ms. Esther Luque López. I will convey to her to let her know about the good job that she has made. I am sure she will be proud.

Comments like yours encourage us to continue and to make all possible efforts to maintain and even improve the standards of our services.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & SPA, and we would like to welcome you again to our resort in the near future.

Assuring you of my best personal care and attention at all times, I remain,

Yours sincerely,



Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

It looked old and deserted from outside but once inside we were impressed. The hotel was nicely located between Malaga and Marbella. Free secure parking. Very well renovated interior and in the process outside. The beach side was great. Nice garden for a stroll access to the beach. Facilities were excellent free wifi in rooms (high speed), toliet amenities, pool side, in room coffee station and mini bar. The hotel is very family friendly but be alert of nikki beach right next to don carlos beach which is more suited for the younger singles. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much your comments. We really appreciate the time that you spent to fill them up in tripadvisor, and we would like to tell you that your comments give us strong to continue with the well done job.

Or goal is that our guests feel home away from home and that you kept nice memories from your stay at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & SPA.

We hope to welcome you and your family soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff especially on front desk. Very clean, nice rooms with sea views etc grounds are gorgeous, along with the pool and beach, absolutely stunning. Only criticism is the bar staff was very lacking, there was 1 guy serving around 26 people, but that's just picking, it was amazing and ill return soon :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to inform you that I have take note regarding your comments.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I always like hotels where the Management read the reviews and make comment as it shows they care and strive to continually improve. We stayed for a couple of nights but did not really use the Hotel facilities as we had friend in the area. However in April the pool was in use and heated, wifi throughout included, friendly helpful staff, and a pleasure to stay. Breakfast however had everything there but lacked flavour, tried English first day runny eggs, strange warm bacon and cold baked beans, tried the continental day two, jam does not taste in a country that has ripe fruit by the bucket, just lacking overall, shame when you feel you are better in a local bar with a croissant and coffe. Overall I would recommend for a good few days.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your comments which always help us to improve our services.

As you well said, we love to look after our guests and one of our goals is to get in contact with you through tripadvisor. Your comments always give us a different point of view that we want to know in order to offer you the best services.

Because of that, We really appreciate your time fill in the tripadvisor file.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Address: Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marbella
#4 Family Hotel in Marbella
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious beachfront jewel surrounded by 40,000m2 of luscious tropical gardens - the largest on the Costa del Sol. This sublime resort offers fabulous views of the coast and direct access to the most gorgeous beach in Marbella. Guests can also count on stunning facilities, first-class personalized service, a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere - and yearlong sunshine. It effortlessly caters to all desires with a wide selection of watersports, several pools, a highly reputed tennis club, a range of superb restaurants and aboutiquespa. The beach club - created by luxury spatial designer Melvin Villarroel - is recognized as one of the most "unique spaces" in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Leisure Resort And Spa
Don Carlos Leisure Hotel Marbella
Don Carlos Resort
Don Carlos Marbella
Don Carlos Hotel Marbella
Carlos Don Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.