We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, good location, definately return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, good location, definately return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff especially on front desk. Very clean, nice rooms with sea views etc grounds are gorgeous, along with the pool and beach, absolutely stunning. Only criticism is the bar staff was very lacking, there was 1 guy serving around 26 people, but that's just picking, it was amazing and ill return soon :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to inform you that I have take note regarding your comments.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    153
    83
    33
    28
See reviews for
166
201
11
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I always like hotels where the Management read the reviews and make comment as it shows they care and strive to continually improve. We stayed for a couple of nights but did not really use the Hotel facilities as we had friend in the area. However in April the pool was in use and heated, wifi throughout included, friendly helpful staff, and a pleasure to stay. Breakfast however had everything there but lacked flavour, tried English first day runny eggs, strange warm bacon and cold baked beans, tried the continental day two, jam does not taste in a country that has ripe fruit by the bucket, just lacking overall, shame when you feel you are better in a local bar with a croissant and coffe. Overall I would recommend for a good few days.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your comments which always help us to improve our services.

As you well said, we love to look after our guests and one of our goals is to get in contact with you through tripadvisor. Your comments always give us a different point of view that we want to know in order to offer you the best services.

Because of that, We really appreciate your time fill in the tripadvisor file.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently visited the hotel, on our arrival at midnight we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. We were made to feel very welcome, our son was even given a balloon.
Our room was large and and clean with some lovely extras for our 3 year old, like a small dressing gown, his own toiletries and towels.
The pool and grounds were great. The heated swimming pool was clean and a really good size (approx 20m x 10m I would estimate). The gardens leading to the hotels private beach were beautiful and well maintained.
When we ate at the hotel the food seemed quite expensive, but the portions were large, the quality was good and everthing was very tasty, so actually it was good value.
We got one complimetary bottle of water on arrival, which disappointingly didn't get replaced each day. We did buy a couple of bottles at the hotel, though at 4 euros were keen to find a supermarket, which was luckily only a 5 minute walk away.
All the staff were very friendly and gave our son lots of attention.
Apart from the water there were only a couple of very small negatives - the safe, remote control and one plug socket didn't work, though once we told reception they were all fixed within the hour. also there was building work outside and even though we were on the 13th floor it was still audible at 7 in the morning.
I would definitely visit the hotel again. it was really convenient, having everything we needed for a short break.

Room Tip: we had the deluxe "Malaga side sea view" room, from which you can see the mountains to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays with your family.

And I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments at tripadvisor. They help us to improve in order to make your stay a most discerning Resort experience.

We really appreciate your comments about your impressions and the service rendered during your stay. I conveyed them to the staff.

Our goal is to achieve that our guests consider our resort home away from home and always have happy memories of their visits.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon.


Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a brilliant stay at the Don Carlos. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautifully cleaned on a daily basis and plenty of fresh clean towels. The beds and linen are very comfortable with nice soft pillows.The grounds down to the beach are very pretty and immaculately maitained. One can enjoy long walks along a clean sandy beach and stop off at beach bars for a drink or meal. Restaurants nearby are fairly expensive and not brilliant food but if you choose carefully you can eat well. I have been to this hotel many times before and will certainly go back again.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your comments which really we appreciate.

It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your mini-holidays, with us. I am sure, that this is the first step for a long holidays in Don Carlos Leisure Resort & SPA. For sure, you will enjoyed them.

It will be a pleasure for you to welcome you again and offer you a good experiences.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We wished we had stayed for longer,the hotel,service & food all excellent.Our room had everything (ask for higher floor for a nice view) we were on the 7th floor with sea view & it was a deluxe room on the romantic package ,lovely big room with rose petals in shape of heart on bed ,cava on ice plus strawberries in choc waiting for us on arrival,the room also has fridge/mini bar,tea coffee & t.v with itv bbc 1 & 2 & a few other English channels.also included with this package was a gastro 4 course meal with a glass of wine with each course on one night.(a cold strawberry soup with tuna !,turbot,steak in sauce with mash & veg & choc cream dessert to finish) It was different but I enjoyed it.One of the hotel pools was heated we didn't brave this because of gale force winds.The gounds of the hotel are well kept & also has a beach club this would be nice in high season also tennis courts.We found all staff in every part of the hotel to be polite & eager to make your stay a happy one.It also has a lovely terrace bar ,very relaxing after a day sightseeing.you would need a car for exploring the area.almost forgot a lot of choice at breakfast from cooked to continental.

Room Tip: higher floor for better views ,not much view from lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your commets, I will conveyed them to our staff, they will be proud of this result.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

3 nights in a villa with the most fantastic service you can wish.
We got a villa with a 2 bedrooms for 3 nights.
Private pool with a lot a sunchairs.
5 star villa with nice and clean rooms.

Best thing with the stay was the service at villa reception.
Thank you.
We will be back very soon

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much your comments.

It is a pleasure for all the Don Carlos Leisure Resort & SPA’s staff that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our principal objective is that our guests feel themselves as if they are home away from home and that you could keep the best memories from your stay with us.

We would like to communicate our happiness for your stay with us and we hope to welcome you soon,

Yours sincerely,





Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Where do I start..... from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like King and Queen. Maria and the staff attended to our every need 24 hrs a day. Accomadation was sublime and the facilities, food were second to none. We had a special dinner arranged in the villa which was very memorable indeed, a must do when you go. The morning before we left they gave us gifts which was very nice indeed. I could write all day about this place honestly, the best hotel by far on the costa. we will be back for sure in September. Thanks to Maria, Camilla and all the staff for probably the best holiday we have ever had xxx

Room Tip: go for the villa, unbelievable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much your nice comments regarding your stay with us.

This is our best reward, to feel that our guests have happy memories for their experience in our resort.

I will convey your comments to María, Camila and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martínez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Address: Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marbella
#4 Family Hotel in Marbella
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious beachfront jewel surrounded by 40,000m2 of luscious tropical gardens – the largest on the Costa del Sol. This sublime resort offers fabulous views of the coast and direct access to the most gorgeous beach in Marbella. Guests can also count on stunning facilities, first-class personalized service, a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere – and yearlong sunshine. It effortlessly caters to all desires with a wide selection of watersports, several pools, a highly reputed tennis club, a range of superb restaurants and aboutiquespa. The beach club – created by luxury spatial designer Melvin Villarroel – is recognized as one of the most “unique spaces” in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Leisure Resort And Spa
Don Carlos Leisure Hotel Marbella
Don Carlos Resort
Don Carlos Marbella
Don Carlos Hotel Marbella
Carlos Don Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.