We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Deluxe Villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 77 hotels in Marbella
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Deluxe Villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for our honeymoon and we liked everything: the location, the sightseeing, the staff are very friendly. Specially Maria who was very helpfull and We feel very good hospitality. They prepared us a lovely private dinner in the villa and we really enjoyed it too much. They have very nice touch for everything. They wrote a sentence in arabic in the menu. we hope to return very soon to enjoy this special treatment again. Muchas gracias!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

I was so happy that you took the time to write such a great review following your recent stay in Don Carlos .
I am so proud that my team delivered, once again, a great customer service experience which you found quiet professional. I have shared your kind words to my team specially to María.
I really do hope that you get the chance to join us again.
Warm regards,

María Ángeles Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    157
    83
    32
    28
See reviews for
175
207
11
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend break in Marbella and stayed at the Don Carlos. So glad we did - all the staff were friendly and very attentive. Our room was ample for what we needed. The facilties are superb and the food first class! We timed it just right as the hotel was more or less deserted - perfect for a completely relaxed and chilled weekend! Will definately return with my husband!

Room Tip: Worth getting a room with a sea view, preferably on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely positive review following your recent stay in Don Carlos.

The team will be delighted to see your kind comments as it is our aim to provide all of our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We do hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back next summer.

Warm regards,

María Ángeles Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have frequently stayed at the Don Carlos whilst looking for a property in Spain
The last time we stayed we were upgraded to the VIP apartments which were self contained and spacious !
The quality of everything at the Don Carlos from the greeting of the 'doorman' to the children's pack in your room is simply wonderful !
The food, the service, the facilities all surpass expectations ! The buffet breakfast is on a par with the very best in Dubai that is quite an achievement alone !
The Beach Club is a great place during the day This is a family friendly quality Resort
The only negative was the quality of equipment in the small gym not really 5 star !
We now have our place in Spain but will go back as day guests as often as we can !

Ian Kinga Lily Beach

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay in Don Carlos.

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay with us. That is the most important for us and we constantly effort to offer the best experiences to our guests.

Thanks again for your trust.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

María Ángeles Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Don Carlos Deluxe Villas, enough cannot be said for the service and staff here at the deluxe villas! Camilla our personal assistant is an asset to the Don Carlos, her friendly and welcoming nature was a breath of fresh air every morning, she could not of done enough to help, our every wish was her command! The staff at the Don Carlos were helpful, personable and provided some of the greatest service we have experiences throughout our many trips across the globe. It was a pleasure staying here. Deluxe Villas had everything covered, with the attention to detail meeting Dubai standards - from the complimentary snacks by the pool to cake being delivered to your door ... Not forgetting the chocolate lady. Our stay at the Don Carlos Deluxe Villas has been a joy.

The McKinlay Family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear family Mckinlay

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your experience in Don Carlos.

I am pleased to hear that you have had a great experience in our villas.

I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team specially to Camilla.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

warm regards

Maria Ángeles Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Don Carlos. We stayed in a two bedroom deluxe villa. The villas have two levels. On the ground is a twin bedroom, bathroom and large lounge, kitchen and balcony. Upstairs is a large double, bathroom and rooftop balcony. The villa was immaculate and beautifully decorated.

The first couple of days was rainy so we went into Marbella. Decided to try the bus but found taxis weren't much more so dropped the bus idea. Have always loved Marbella and it still doesn't disappoint even in the rain. The rest of the holiday was sunny. I think the weather has just turned out there. The winter has been very wet so glad we didn't go out any earlier.

On the sunny days we went to either the beach (but got a bit annoyed by the constant african beach sellers), the beach club and the pool. The heated pool is excellent - warm enough to get straight in. Didn't try the kids club and our children got a little bored lying round the pool. Breakfast was great - cooked fresh omelettes, pancakes, lots of fresh fruit.

The centre of elviria is a short walk away and has plenty of restaurants, cafes and small supermarkets. The beach is pleasant and makes for a nice walk in the evening.

Overall had an excellent holiday - all the staff very friendly - would definately go back.

General info - taxi from airport - 53 euros, taxi into Marbella - 15 euros(from elviria taxi rank), bus - 2 euros each.

Room Tip: deluxe villas were fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at Don Carlos Villas.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again for your comments. I will share them with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Marbella.

Warm regards,

María Ángeles Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just spent a weekend in Marbella, at the Don Carlos Leisure Resort. Everything from arrival to departure was perfect. The property has several pools and beautiful gardens. One of the pools is climatized, and there is also a beach club and a spa. The food and service were excellent, we even tried some drinks at the bar and there was live music and a really nice atmosphere. Our room was big, super clean and it had a really nice sea view. Totally recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on level 10 have amazing views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our resort . At the same time, thank you for sharing your experience in our resort with the rest the TripAdvisor Community.

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay in Don Carlos. That is the most important for us and we constantly effort to offer the best experiences to our guests.

Thanks again for your trust.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

María Ángeles Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 12 days in Marbella at the Don Carlos, really nice and relaxing, front desk and bell desk guys very good, few probs with internet service but not a great issue, nice rooms, breakfast yummy, great place to chill in Marbella although ten mins from Banus. Nice outside hot tub would not go amiss i reckon!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apreciate you comments and time to share them in Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure to learn you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you soon again.


Mª Angeles Martinez- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Address: Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marbella
#4 Family Hotel in Marbella
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious beachfront jewel surrounded by 40,000m2 of luscious tropical gardens – the largest on the Costa del Sol. This sublime resort offers fabulous views of the coast and direct access to the most gorgeous beach in Marbella. Guests can also count on stunning facilities, first-class personalized service, a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere – and yearlong sunshine. It effortlessly caters to all desires with a wide selection of watersports, several pools, a highly reputed tennis club, a range of superb restaurants and aboutiquespa. The beach club – created by luxury spatial designer Melvin Villarroel – is recognized as one of the most “unique spaces” in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Leisure Resort And Spa
Don Carlos Leisure Hotel Marbella
Don Carlos Resort
Don Carlos Marbella
Don Carlos Hotel Marbella
Carlos Don Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.