We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Gandhinagar, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exotic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Don Carlos is an exotic hotel, however, unlike the villa format. The main hotel with all the rooms is in a building, which extends out to the recreational area and beach. It is known for very good shack parties during the season. My visit was during an off season period. Hotel Staff is very courteous and good. Hotel is very well maintained and well versed with things to do around Marbella and that part of Spain. Courtesy the helpful and interactive staff, I caught on to my first live football match of the ongoing Spanish league. Surrounded by prime hotels in the area, its a quiet and peaceful location. Main road is about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel. The hotel can arrange on call cabs, generally arriving at the door step in less than 10 mins. For the hotel and its experience, it is not a cheap destination. But do look out for deals and packages on portals. I caught my deal on one such portal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us.
I am extremely pleased to hear that you have so much enjoyed your stay at Don Carlos in Marbella.
We do everything possible so that our guests have an excellent experience. I am satisfied to hear that we have achieved our aim.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Don Carlos

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    196
    99
    37
    27
See reviews for
214
254
15
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent a long weekend here in the summer, the restaurant is lovely for breakfast although be careful with the food from outside there are loads of flies about, but as diy breakfasts go it was one of the best, the staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble.

The room was lovley, decor of a high standard, very clean, fab big bed, molton brown products which are always a hit with me.

This is not the cheapest hotel in Marbella but I would def stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are very happy you had a lovely stay with us.

Hopefully we will welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,

Mª Angeles Martinez- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Who wrote the Christams at the Don Carlos must have thought they were writing for a real 5*star resort. Christmas Athmosphere, Christmas carols,thousands of Lights, delicious cuisine. Let me tell you how it really was, Christmas music not to be found or heard of,unique settings = plastic flowers and now on to the food, soup broth burnt flavor and the turkey from the microwave. A far cry from a 5* star restaurant. We were given a room overlooking building site, really? the hotel did not look that busy. Had a night cup in the bar, it needs a good clean sofas had better times. I would not recommend my company to hold an invent there in future. The only item that met expectation was breakfast


Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Starting with myself and the rest of Don Carlos team we are dissapointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I read all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Angeles Martinez- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my family for a whole week during last summer and it was wonderful. The hotel arranged a bunch of activities for my children and had every night a different thematic dinner that would entertain us all. We loved it and would definitely come back next summer.

Rooms were always clean and personnel was really helpful. The only thing they could work on a bit is with lunch and dinner (buffet breakfast is amazing).

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us.
I am extremely pleased to hear that you have so much enjoyed your stay at Don Carlos in Marbella.
We do everything possible so that our guests have an excellent experience with their families. I am satisfied to hear that we have achieved our aim.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Don Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

People are ver y nice, Room is excellent, Room service excellent and all staff are professional, géneros and eficiente, stay Was moré than great i asked for help on Many ocasiones and everything time it Was perfect

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent hotel with great service. Rooms are extremely spacious and the view from the balcony si amazing!! Great staff, nice food and one of the best swimming pools i have ever swam in. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience in our resort. We are happy to know you had a lovely stay with us.
Our priority is to offer to all of our guests a warm service so they feel at home away from home.
We would love to welcome you soon again in Don Carlos.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I’ve stayed at this hotel (main building) for 3 nights while being at some conference, and the only thing I can say that it’s an ordinary 5 stars hotel, nothing less, nothing more.
The room is rather small.
I loved the view and the bathroom with a nice bath.
I didn’t like the fact that the breakfast was served in the room, and it was rather dull.
The garden is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAngelesDC, Director General at Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other customers. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated and help us to improve.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Don Carlos Resort on a future occasion.
Yours sincerely,

Mª Ángeles Martinez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Address: Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marbella
#4 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious beachfront jewel surrounded by 40,000m2 of luscious tropical gardens - the largest on the Costa del Sol. This sublime resort offers fabulous views of the coast and direct access to the most gorgeous beach in Marbella. Guests can also count on stunning facilities, first-class personalized service, a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere - and yearlong sunshine. It effortlessly caters to all desires with a wide selection of watersports, several pools, a highly reputed tennis club, a range of superb restaurants and aboutiquespa. The beach club - created by luxury spatial designer Melvin Villarroel - is recognized as one of the most "unique spaces" in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, T4B, EasyToBook, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Leisure Resort And Spa
Don Carlos Leisure Hotel Marbella
Don Carlos Resort
Don Carlos Marbella
Don Carlos Hotel Marbella
Carlos Don Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.