We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding, it was very nice. Two adults in a room, we had a double bed each. The beds were extremely comfy and the rooms spacious.
The decor is modern and very nice, the bathrooms are lovely and cleaned on a daily basis. The complimentary toiletries are lovely.

Breakfast is great, lots of choice and plenty of champagne!

The villas are lovely inside and secluded from the rest of the resort, great for kids or groups.

The gardens are lovely and it is a short walk to the beach and nikki beach, both great.

Only problem we had was housekeeping leaving our door open when they had finished, luckily nothing happened but still....

Would visit again if I went back to Marbella.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    158
    87
    34
    28
See reviews for
181
209
11
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in the private villas, well worth the extra money, breakfast in the room each morning, fantastic service from Maria, the lady responsible for our stay. Beautiful gradens to walk from the hotel to the beach. Very ncie staff, all extremely helpful.

The hotel, or more likely Maria organised a small birthday party for my daughter aged 2, cakes, ballons and toys, fantasitc !

For a beach holiday without all the flashing lights and noise, it would be very difficult to beat i think. The hotel may look a little dated, but as we all know, the best soup is made in the old pans !!

Room Tip: Go for a 1 room villa, well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked via hotel as it seemed the best rate. See view with balcony looking the Marbella side. We arrived with our 3 year old daughter and we were warmly greeted by the reception staff who checked us in, told us lots of info and showed us to our room. Our room was on the 6th floor and well equipped malton brown products and a kiddie kit of robe, towels, toothpaste in her own special bag- v cute). We were able to choose an extra bed or cot for our daughter and te bathroom was equipped with potty and step! The balcony doors were really tough to open (a must for people with young kids!) so clearly a lot of thought goes into the running of the hotel!
Hotel is modern but with homely inviting sofas. Swimming pools are chilly but nice and clean. Lots of easy access fresh towels (where you don't need to put a deposit!!!). Kiddie pool slopes in Which is good as I'm paranoid about steps and goes up to 0.5m so ideal for toddler who just want to splash. Lots of sun beds with cushions and a 3-4 min walk in lovely hotel grounds to the beach (not the cleanest beach but still nice with sun loungers). There's a small park next to the pool with slide, swings and seasaw. There's even a strange outdoor toilet next to the park with outdoor sink and toilet tissue (bizarre but clean!). indoor play place is suitable from 2.5-5 with a few toys (wasn't manned but open from 11-6). Kids club must be summer months.
Didn't go to spa so can't comment. We ate half board which meant you could eat in the bar (upstairs with terrace,) or formal restaurant. Or Thai restaurant on thur-sun. Starters were 10-12€ and mains (lobster, steak etc) 18-22€. Kids menu was available anywhere- pizza (homemade) pasta, chicken nuggets, burgers. Food was fantastic and although it seemed posh, it was still ok to take the kids!
Breakfast had a great selection although I was slightly disappointed with "cooked" sections of choice but others had a huge variety with lots of fresh juice.
A lovely luxury hotel but very family orientated with a beach!!!
We had a lovely time and will come back as staff work hard, rooms are lovely an there's enough things for kiddies to do on and off the beach.
All I can say is fantastic!!! A huge thank you to everyone who made our short break sooo relaxing.
Plus. I forgot to say. Free wifi everywhere- good signal in rooms, by the pool and even on the beach!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself and my wife were on our honeymoon and decided at the last minute to stay at this hotel we rang and they had vancies so we took it.We were not left down we were met with the best welcome and the most friendly staff Emma on the front desk is a God send and was so good at her job and made us feel so welcome its people like this that makes me go back.The room we had was on the 6th floor with was beautiful we had great views and a good sized balcony the room was spotless it had everything you could ask for and more.The maid service was great very quick and friendly.The food was lovely breckfast was great smoked salmon and everything you could think of with the most friendly staff you could met.We ate in the Thai restaurant which was wonderful.We had 2 glorious days of sun and the the worst rain in years for 4 days straight but that didnt stop us enjoying the hotel.The beach club was great good service and not badly priced and felt very secure.The bar at night had great entertainment but the price of drinks were to much but thats to be expected.The hotel is 11 km away from marbella its €13 in a taxi which we did most days because of rain which was nice to The coincerige in hotel was great just seemed liked he cared.Will return again soon but I will rent a car next time as taxis are quiet expensive.But hotel I give top marks to see you soon and a big thanks to the staff for making our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a shame! Lovely big gardens, spacious pool and cool position next to Nikki Beach Club but with it's own beach club. What a waste! This place could be brilliant and could rival the Nikki Beach where you pay 50 euros for a lounger and 40 euros for a bottle of wine...but it doesn't. why?
SERVICE.
Takes 1 hour to get a drink by the pool - despite there being at least 5 waiters milling around chatting. The food is rubbish - the lunch at the beach club was dreadful. Dreadful service, dreadful food, half the menu unavailable. Breakfast was like something from the 70s. Cold eggs, coffee machines all broken, lots of staff hanging around looking miserable doing nothing. The Egg frying man was totally hopeless so the queue for eggs was round the breakfast room with the rest of your food congealing while you waited. He then gave out un cooked eggs!
Poor you if you had to ask reception for anything as it took an age of them to respond - they were grossly under staffed.

What a shame. What about providing some low key music at the beach bar, some great cocktails and some good staff like next door? You'd have a winner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I shall start this review by saying that we had a lovely holiday, and came back feeling refreshed and relaxed. The hotel was good but it is definitely not a five star hotel and on the whole the hotel was over-priced for what you got. The room was nice. It was clean and large and the air-conditioning worked well, though the carpet and sofa were a little tired looking. The shower was very good and the bathroom facilities comfortable. There was also an abundance of fresh towels each day. We felt, howevever, that for the price we paid we should have had a balcony. On one occasion our room was not serviced (the day we happened to want the sheets changed) and so I alerted reception to this fact. A debate about why the service hadn't happened then ensued with the staff member on reception. I wasn't interested in the reason that it did not happen, but rather I simply wanted them to say that it would be done immediately as we were on our way out for the evening. I didn't think this was very professional.There were times when the front reception desk was only staffed by one person, which meant you often had to queue for some time to speak to someone, which was a little frustrating. This was particularly an issue when the person at the desk was checking a guest in and giving them the standard explanation of facilities which should have led to an additional staff member being present for ad hoc enquiries.The upper pool was very pleasant and large enough for a good swim. However, the lower pool was partially closed (i.e the cafe/bar area) as we were out of season and the beach front a bit shabby. I think to charge full rates when the facilities are not fully open, and to charge extra to access these areas is very cheeky.The gardens were beautiful and well-tended and lovely for a stroll.The breakfasts were varied and plentiful and served until 11am, so were very leisurely. The cafe by the pool served good food (apart from the too cheesy pizza!) but was very expensive, with a small drink in a plastic cup full of ice costing 3.50 euros! We only ate in one of the three restuarants (the Thai) which was good quality but very expensive for what it was. We ended up going into Marbella (12-15 euros by cab each way) to eat out or walking down the road to the local shopping area where there was one nice restaurant that we found.I had a fabulous massage halfway through my holiday, using the discount card we were given on arrival. I went back a couple of days later for another massage, which I subsequently discovered left the area around my left shoulder blade spotted with blood under the skin and painful to the touch. The staff were very apologetic when I went to complain. They gave me a special gel but did not offer me any of my money back, which was a bit disappointing.All in all we had a lovely holiday but are unlikely to return to the Don Carlos. If we go to the Costa Del Sol again we would probably look for a hotel in Marbella itself that offers better value for money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Don Carlos Hotel is vefy well located, a few km outside the city center of Marbella, next to the famous Nikki Beach (in place to spend the day at the beach). The hotel gives you all you wish: great beach with bar, restaurant... Excellent breakfast buffet, great live music in the evening. The front staff is very attentive and tries to fulfill all your wishes and requests. Be it a green fee reservation, a massage at the Spa or advices of restaurants.. Very friendly and professional...
If possible book a room deluxe with marbella view ( evening sun instead of morning sun for malaga view). Very clean rooms and amneties.
The only negative is the Spa which is not really a Spa but just 5 massage rooms without any waterzones... However in construction! Don't miss a stroll in their fabulous thai garden restaurant.
All in all very good value for money..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa

Address: Avda. Zurita s/n, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marbella
#4 Family Hotel in Marbella
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious beachfront jewel surrounded by 40,000m2 of luscious tropical gardens – the largest on the Costa del Sol. This sublime resort offers fabulous views of the coast and direct access to the most gorgeous beach in Marbella. Guests can also count on stunning facilities, first-class personalized service, a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere – and yearlong sunshine. It effortlessly caters to all desires with a wide selection of watersports, several pools, a highly reputed tennis club, a range of superb restaurants and aboutiquespa. The beach club – created by luxury spatial designer Melvin Villarroel – is recognized as one of the most “unique spaces” in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Leisure Hotel Marbella
Don Carlos Leisure Resort And Spa
Don Carlos Resort
Don Carlos Marbella
Don Carlos Hotel Marbella
Carlos Don Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.