We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guadalmina Hotel and Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Guadalmina Baja s/n, 29678 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 77 hotels in Marbella
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Guadalmina Hotel and Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice quiet hotel, beautiful location- surrounded by elegant villas, but far from Marbella. If you don't have a car it'll cost about $30 each way to get to Puerto Banus, where the restaurants and bars are. The hotel has a restaurant and bar but it was very quiet when we were there, even though the place was sold out. There was a very loud, obnoxious and rambunctious group of middle aged British men staying there that could not be avoided. The pool area was beautiful and they offered those beach beds (70 euros for front line). The only problem I had was with the overpowering smell of bug/roach spray. More suited for romantic getaways than girls trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your stay in this site and we apologize in case you were disturbed by any other guests.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our pool and beach area with our Balinese beds; we are continuously working to improve our facilities.
It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    172
    58
    24
    17
See reviews for
100
210
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Returned to Guadalmina in June 2013, after a superb vacation last year. Had a very very nice vacation. Some comments:

- we had a sea view room which is well worth the extra money, since it comes with a small terrace/ balcony, perfect for savouring the views.

- we rented a car from Mallaga airport which is very good to have, given the hotel location; it also gives great flexibility to see Costa del Sol and also travel to nearby resorts and restaurants. The hotel this year introduced a€6 parking charge per day, this obviously was not appreciated since last year parking was free for hotel guests and parking space is not an issue.

- restaurants - the hotel offers a buffet breakfast, very very nice, specially option to have breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the sea. Variety and quality of breakfast dishes was quite good, although pastries were a bit of a dissapointed since they were usually not fresh. For dinner the hotel organises theme buffet dinners, which are quite nice (we tried on couple nights). Around the hotel there aren't that many eating choices, hence we usually drove 5-10-15km to some very nice places including L'Oriental (excellent Lebanese), Da Mario (excellent Italian), Tanino (try the Wok dishes!) and Medditeraneo (nearest Italian place, by the highway, quite nice and convenient, with good pasta dishes and salads).

- pool / beach - hotel has a very nice pool (large and clean) and also access to the beach. Compared to last year, the hotel introduced a further charge for using the beach €6 per person per day, which was likewise not appreciated particularly since the hotel location which is quite secluded means that there are no external visitors to the beach; as a result people usually crowded around the pool while the beach remained generally empty.

- wi-fi - this was a complete disaster, crashed multiple times a day for quite long periods (system needed to be reset frequently!). I am not exactly sure what the issue is (hotel servers or capacity problems at the internet provider?) but this needs to be fixed as a matter of priority/ urgency. We stayed quite a long period at the hotel and this issue continued throughout (ie was not a one off).

- service was generally very good, pleasant, nice throughout - in the restaurants, poolside, rooms, etc Level of cleanliness was also very good starting with the rooms and continuing throughout the resort.

All in a superb vacation, we would highly recommend the hotel and may return. Only suggestions include a) fixing the hotel wi-fi and b) including the various incidentals upfront in the hotel booking / tariff instead of introducing these parking, beach access, etc incidentals on site, which do not create a pleasant atmosphere or set the right tone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts and opinions regarding your stay in our Hotel.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed once more our rooms, pool and breakfast area. We will forward your comments about the restaurant to our Food & Beverage Department in order to improve our service.
Regarding your comments about our Wi-Fi connection, we are very happy to inform you that our technicians are working at the moment and the internet connection is working properly. We hope you see some changes in your next stay with us.
We thank you for your loyalty and please, do not hesitate to contact us for any requirement or bookings; we will be very happy to assist you.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a fantastic weekend!9 of us for a hen do! Rooms plush! Great views! Ideal location on the beach front, not 2 busy, very clean! Great buffet breakfast, the only fault was slow service, and food not great( apart from breakfast, might have just been unlucky waited an hour 2 find lasagne cold in the middle! Did compensate us the next day with VIP beds on the beach which was fab considering had hangovers, would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel during this special occasion.
We thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel and we would like to inform you that will take all your comments into consideration in order to improve our service.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you again in our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Normally we do not book our holiday in the same Hotel within 8 months. We went there in November 2012 and we enjoyed our vacation. Therefore we decided to come back again during the spring time and spend some more days under the sun of Andalusia. Unfortunately the sun shone rare and the sea was pretty cool. But the very well-located hotel with the beautiful garden - thanks Manolo and his team - the large pool the nice room with the great sea view and the tasty food made us forget the weather capers. Guadalmina Hotel … we will come back soon again. Thank you to the whole team for the nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, we really appreciate your kind review about your experience in our Hotel.
It is inspiring to know that your stay has been unforgettable and that we have made you to forget the weather conditions.
Thank you very much for taken the time to leave your comments and hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel was really nice, the rooms were lovely, the pool is perfect preferred it over the beach as the sea water was freezing in JUNE! enjoyed the breakfast and the whole experience. Location and price are very good as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your wonderful experience about your stay in our Hotel.
It is very important for us to know that our guests are completely satisfied and that we have met all their needs.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

rooms are decent and clean , great views of the golf course from rooms . you need to have your own car for convenience although taxis do come to drop or pick up . food is ok and average and there are no restaurants nearby !! . breakfast is good .

stay in this hotel incase you like a nice beach location ,golf course and peaceful location .

if you want to explore the main marbella beaches with the city life then you are better off to stay closer to those areas .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you very much for your kind comments about our rooms and hotel facilities.
It is true that we are in a privilege location in front of the sea and that’s make our Hotel special for the ones that are looking for the peaceful and relax and the ones that what to explore the surroundings. At our Front Desk you will find some information about the area, rent a car or trips.
We are truly thankful that you have taken the time to leave your comments and hope to see you soon in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice big rooms. Fantastic location on the beach. We travelled from malaga by bus and it takes a fair travel from the bus station. You have to eat in the hotel as nothing is close by. however the food is excellent. The thermal circuit is also very good and is free from 1 to 4PM.Very nice swimming pool. the restaurant offers beautiful views of the ocean and is huge. Rooms offer a sitting out place with a table. I misse done thing though, slippers! Usually sea side hotels offer slippers as we often walk to and fro from the beach and it is helpful to have a pair.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your kind words about your stay in our Hotel. Our goal is to provide the best service and facilities in order to make our guest’s stay unforgettable with activities like “open doors” at the Spa and more others like Ping Pong, Mojitos, thematic buffets, etc…

Regarding your comments about the slippers, we would like to inform you that we have a special deluxe service that for a cost you will have the slippers, news papper, parking service, and more things. Do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk or Reservation Deparment.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you soon.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Urb. Guadalmina Baja s/n, 29678 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#5 Family Hotel in Marbella
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guadalmina SPA & Golf Resort. MarbellaAn unbeatable location right on the Beach and by two Golf Courses. Located only ten minutes from Marbella and Estepona and only five minutes from Puerto Banus. Restaurants offering International cuisine, Cocktail Bar, Beach Club, Business Centre, WIFI, Outdoor Sea Water Swimming pool, Solarium, Pool Bar, Meeting Rooms for events & Celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guadalmina Spa And Golf Resort
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Marbella
Guadalmina Hotel Marbella
Golf Hotel Guadalmina
Marbella Guadalmina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.