We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like any old friend you enjoy the good points and live with their imperfections” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Don Pepe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Don Pepe to your Saves list
Gran Melia Don Pepe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jose Melia s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Like any old friend you enjoy the good points and live with their imperfections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Spent the first 10 days of June at the Gran Melia Don Pepe Marbella. We have been visiting this hotel for many years and have already booked again for September 2014. We have been both red level guests and the standard variety. Both options are very good but overall we prefer not to be "tied" to the excellent Red Level lounge

Overall this is a high quality 5 star GL which is relaxed in its own skin. Its not stuffy like some of its peers just up the coast. However in the evening restaurant stakes its now getting skinned by the Punto Romano for sheer variety and atmosphere.

Overall Gran Melia Don Pepe deserves an "excellent" rating. This isnt too say it has no shortcomings but these are outweighed by the good points but lets start with the not so good:
1. Bar Almirante this is for those who embrace dated repetitive lounge bar music. A well furnished characterless space where in the evening a very good pianist/singer plays very dated music which stops just this side of becoming "Muzak" its not to our taste nor by the look of the number of customers in the bar (over many stays in the hotel) is it to the taste of many others (other guests we spoke to disagree with our opinion but their presence in the bar is in the minority). Most guests seem to walk past this bar on the way in or out of the hotel averting their gaze as people of our age demonstrate that they can still Jive
2. Restaurants in the evening. There is the gloom of the indoor T Bone grill adjacent to the Almirante bar. We ate there on a previous visit one October and it was an unusual experience in that we felt that some excellent ingredients had fallen in to the hands of somone used to cooking food for senior staff at an insititution. Say a prison or a bank. You often see those words in the same sentence these days. There are good views of the car park or the bar Almirante.

Then there is the very sadly unfulfilled promise of the T bone grill outside restuarant on the pool side terrace which manages to conjure up the atmosphere of a semi deserted bus station in the evening whilst serving reasonable food supported by good service. So much could be done here to improve the guest experience. We are in Spain - better we are in Andalucia - where is the passion? there is so little Spanish influence wether its music or food - an opportunity the hotel keeps missing so we wind up with a corporate pool side space serving corporate steaks. Its Okay. It could be brilliant
3. Some of the rooms are a little dated especially the (small) bathrooms
Please read on for the good stuff because there is plenty of it
1. Restaurants in the day. Breakfasts are excellent. They are served in the La Dama De Noche (Lady of the Night) restaurant (no its not open at night). Breakfast service can get busy but the staff are very competent and keep things moving along very well. The quality and variety of what is on offer is very good

Pool Bar restaurant which is also known as the Liquid Garden pool and lounge (I dont know why). Lunch here is excellent and given the quality good value

2. Main Pool and Gardens. Excellent area well maintained great atmosphere. Made even more special by Rafael who is the best pool supervisor we have ever met (and weve been lucky enought to stay in some great hotels around the world). A real people person who enhances the guest experience. He also tolerates with good humour my pathetic attempts at the Spanish language.

3. The reception staff. I would like to mention Enrique and Bonifacio (a charming old stager) who are always helpful but there are others who will book restaurants in town - help with directions and always deal with queries in a professional curteous manner. One small point why isnt there a bus time table available for the bus service in to Marbella (there are time tables for just about everywhere else in the area)

4. The location of the hotel - couldnt be better for accessing the Paseao (promenade if you are from Llandudno) you can walk in to to town which gives you access to a wide range of restaurants and bars

5. Cappuccino Grand Cafe. The complete opposite of Bar Almirante. Appeals to all age groups. Not cheap. If you want cheap go somewhere else. Limited menu but what they do they do very well. Great location. Good service. Friendly well trained staff

6. The views of the Med from floor 3 upwards. The hotel takes full advantage of its location.

Criticisms offered here are the criticism of firm friends of this very good hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent sea views. Also Mountain view rooms are worth considering if you want v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear Terry R,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Don Pepe! Thank you very much for taking the time to express your feedback in such a prestigious website like Tripadvisor. It was a pleause to meet you on your previous visit to Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

I have shared your comments with the rest of the management team so that we all take good note of your observations. Our Executive Chef is very concern about your comments. As i know you are a regular guest of Gran Meliá Don Pepe, it would be my pleasure to set an appointment with him on your next visit.

I will definitely pass your positive feedback regarding our associates.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on your next visit and it will be our pleasure to serve you again.


Warm Regards,


Abel López-Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    186
    79
    25
    29
See reviews for
178
348
22
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

hotel is lovely and very well situated....there is a beautiful promenade on the mediterranean with great views and many tasty seafood restaurants......we had a junior suite which included the red level service....well worth the extra price........the gust relations manager Abel is a gem and it is obvious that he is passionate about the clients and his work.
the main restaurant in the hotel the T-Bone Grill was awful! overpriced and steak was tastless and overcooked....burger also had to be sent back.

Room Tip: junior suite on the red level has wrap around terrace overlooking the mediterranean and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abel_lopez_ybarra, E: Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Ms. Susan R,

We are deeply grateful to you for choosing Gran Melia Don Pepe to spend your recent stay in Marbella at our Luxury Resort, and for the time spent in sharing your positive feelings.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience with us, particularly appreciating our wonderful location just in front of the sea, twenty minutes from the old town. All the team is passionate and dedicated to provide the best possible service to our guests; we do appreciate your kind words about some of our team members.

We are very sorry to read that your experience in our T-Bone was disappointed, we hope you give us a second opportunity to enjoy a wonderful dinner in our restaurants. Please, accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Gran Meliá Don Pepeto provide you another luxury experience

Greetings from the heart.

Abel Lopez Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I love this hotel!
For us, it ticks every box of a 5 star luxury hotel....So I am not going to write about how fantastic Manolo the pianist is as an entertainer in the lounge, or what a great vibe Cappuccino Grand Cafe has with equally good food or what a terrific pool, terraces and gardens this hotel has - but i am going to talk about the most fantastic warm, friendly, helpful and welcoming staff this hotel has.

The ladies in red suits are truly wonderful.
A big thank you to each and every one of them

When you arrive at this hotel you are greeted with smiles and gestures of "hand on heart" and you leave with those same smiles.

This was our 2nd trip - its a no- brainer, we will return for a 3rd as soon as we can!
Thank you Don Pepe

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear EssexBarnes,

What a wonderful review about our hotel Gran Melía Don Pepe. We are so pleased to read so unbelievable and amazing words.

It is a pleasure to hear that it was even better what you have expected. These details make us work even harder and we will try to maintain the service to offer you an unforgettable holiday in our resort in Marbella.

I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team especially the ladies from Red Level and they were very happy to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glover Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We just returned from 8 wonderful days in Marbella Spain staying at the Gran Melia Don Pepe. This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Our junior suite had just a terrific view of the property and the water. The promenade is easy accessible from the hotel. We took advantage of the Red Level service which is a must service to take when staying here. All the little extra touches and the lounge make Red Level service well worthwhile.

And the best part of our stay was meeting Abel Lopez. He greeted us on our arrival and made every minute special. He took care of all of our needs and was always pleasant and with a smile. If you go be sure to meet Abel and I assure you he will make your stay even more special. He is a credit to the hotel.

Don't miss the breakfast buffet - about the best we have ever experienced.

The only minor criticism I can offer is that parts of the hotel are in need of an upgrade. But you have to look hard to see what is needed and it had no impact on a truly wonderful vacation.

Overall just a great place to stay for a vacation.

Room Tip: Get the Red Level service and be sure your room faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear rmrcpa,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Gran Meliá Don Pepe for your recent stay in Marbella and for taking some of your valubable time to write us such a nice review.

We are delighted to read how highly you valued the services and all the facilities like our Red Level. We are very proud of our Red Level Lounge which has an excellent view over the pool area where you can enjoy a glass of Cava in the evening in privacy. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and that our service made you feel special.

Indeed for our breakfast with a big variety of food and high standard we get a lot of excellent feedback.

Thank you again for your trust in Gran Meliá and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from a three day weekend break with girlfriends and have to say this hotel was wonderful. We had a Junior Suite, benefitting from the superb Red Level service. Abel the manager was extremely efficient in arranging to have our shower repaired after we mentioned that the water pressure was somewhat low. The staff really are a credit to the hotel. Special mention for Anja, she got chatting to us about an up-coming half marathon, and when we returned to the room later that day she had sent us a lovely handwritten note along with a bottle of bubbly! So thoughtful! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Red Level rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear JBeam67,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel Gran Meliá Don Pepe with other people all over the world. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel and the facilities like the Red Level Service.

We will forward your nice comments about the staff and and we are very pleased that their service reached your expectations and you had an amazing holiday.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and for anyting you may need, do not hesitate to contact us.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good hotel, excellent location, need to improve on service speed around the pool. Disappointed there was no bedroom division with lounge given the cost of the suite & the fact it was occupied by a young family. Children's play area poor for a 5* hotel. Very old tennis balls at tennis court even when playing with the coach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Jason W,
First of all, we would like to thank you for sparing your time to write us this review. We really appreciate you help us to keep improving our services by giving us a feedback of the time you have spent with us.
As you have said, we have one of the best locations in Marbella, as we are placed in the city center and with direct beach access. If you rather stay in one of the sunbeds we have for you all around the pool, you will find that our pool staff is always ready for you, doing their best to make your holidays unforgettable.
We are sorry that the room you had was not completely satisfactory. In fact, we do have divided rooms, which are a perfect option for families. For this reason, for your next visit we encourage you to contact us directly, so we can offer you what best adapts to your necessities.
If you decide to visit us again in company of your children, we remind you that we have different areas where they can do a wide range of outdoor and indoor activities. Our kids club’s staff will be glad to give you all the information you may need.
We are also pleased that you decided to play tennis in our tennis club, where our coach Ernesto will be willing to help you at any time. Please, do not hesitate to tell him everything you need, so he can solve any problem you might have.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Gran Melià Don Pepe as your holiday destination. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to see you soon.

Greetings from heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have just arrived home after spending 9 nights at this beautiful and immaculate Hotel. We had only booked for 7 nights but on our 4th day we decided to extend our stay by a further 2 nights because we felt so rested and spoilt and completely looked after we were just not ready to leave! This was our 3rd time of staying and also the longest duration. We again chose the Red Level Service because we thoroughly enjoy popping into the superb Red Level Lounge at whichever time of day to experience some of the delights it has to offer whether it be a glass of chilled Cava, a cold beer, dainty sandwiches, cheeses, cold meats, there is a wonderful variety of fare which is beautifully presented at all times. Not only this but the level of service offered by the Red Level Staff, headed up by Abel, the Hotel Manager, is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble, even to the extent of Abel going out and finding us some very lovely Spanish olives which we wanted as special gifts for our friends. Thanks again for that Abel, it was very much appreciated :) All of the Staff whether it be in the Reception area, in the various Bars, in the Restaurants, in the Breakfast Room were all so willing to please and accommodate any requirement we had and we must give a very special mention to the Pool-side Staff because they work so hard and never fail to find sun-loungers, umbrellas, fresh towels etc, and they are always smiling! We also mustn't forget to mention the resident pianist/singer in the main Bar, he is a real Star with the biggest smile and a lovely voice. So now our only problem is in finding another "slot" in our busy schedule so that we can return, I am sure it won't be long before we do!

Room Tip: We would advise to go for an upper level floor with a sea-view. We were on the 7th floor and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Bronwen B,

On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Meliá Don Pepe for your last stay in Marbella.

We are very grateful that you have taken some of your valuable time to let us know your personal opinion about our service we provide. We were so pleased to read that our Red Level Service has fully reached your expectations. We are looking very well after our Red Level Lounge and try to offer different kind of snacks and drinks for all our guests during the day.

We are really glad that you have enjoyed it so much. It was a pleasure to find the olives for you because we try to give our Red Level guests a special and personal treat to turn their holidays into an unforgettable experience.

Your kind comments will serve as an inspiration to maintain the high standards that you have had during your stay. We will pass on all the positive review to our colleagues at Reception, Pool area, Restaurants, Bars and of course to our pianist.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. For anything you may need, do not hesitate to contact me under abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Don Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.