We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Melia Hotel in Marbella!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Don Pepe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Don Pepe to your Saves list
Gran Melia Don Pepe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jose Melia s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good Melia Hotel in Marbella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We (wife and 2 kids) spend there a nice Beach Vacation Week and can recommend this good middle Class Hotel to others. When we made booking, we did not expect anything special, but during the time in the Hotel, we really saw, that they doing there a very friendly Service to the Guests. also the Food - Breakfast Buffet and Dinner - was fresh and nice decorated. Swimmingpool was very clean there. We had a Standard Room and we found that it was in a good average and top clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Mr Goldensunbenny,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Don Pepe in your last holidays with your family. We work hard every day to obtain a resort for all type of guests, offering different activities like kids club, live music every evening and an sports activities program.

We all are really happy to read that we reach your expectations in all departments of the hotel, and we hope welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Grettings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    187
    79
    25
    29
See reviews for
178
351
22
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for overnight stay on andalusia trip. Drove up and asked room at reception which sounded expensive. Stayed on because of location. Room was ok but needs urgent renovation and bathroom is totally outdated. The grounds were great and management does a great job to keep a deluxe feeling with a very old property. Breakfast selection also excellent. Overall good hotel but would not stay there for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mr Bobfu,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments in the website and for chosing Gran Melia Don Pepe for your stay in Marbella.

We really appreciate your nice comments, we well make sure to share all of them with the entire team. As you know our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us to know that we must continue every day in the same way to assure our Guest Satisfaction.

Nowadays, We keep on improving all our facilities in order to give the best service to our guests, thanks to that we have just opened the new gym facing to the see, the New Copo Restaurant, next to the swimming pool, last year we inaugurated the Ocean Suites... we think that our guests deserve the best services and the best facilities and we do our best to get them. And for this reason we really appreciate all your comments, because this is the best way to know what else we need to improve.

Thank you very much again for your good comments.

Looking forward meeting you again in Marbella,

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our stay was from the 11th. July until the 16th. July 2013 was absolutely lovely at this Fab Hotel. From check in until departure, the hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.
A nice touch is complimentary Ice cold water and sparkling wine that is available by the reception desk for guests.
This was only the second time away for us without our two children. They are now adults and we decided to go away for a short break somewhere not too far away without them !
Knowing Marbella very well, we chose this hotel as we heard a few good reviews and the location was good.
Don Pepe didn't disappoint I'm happy to say. From the breakfast to the hotel and the pool area and grounds, I would be happy to award it 5 stars for nearly everything.
Particular merit really must go to Raphael the pool man. This charming, friendly and very hard working man keeps the pool area running absolutely fantastically and practically single handed. There are helpers of course, but he is the Man. Arrive at the pool and he's there. Other hotels should go to Don Pepe. Go and observe and see how its done !
Breakfast is great here. The fruit and other areas of the breakfast room are fabulous with an amazing selection of good quality food. The only thing I would have liked to have seen would be some proper sausages to go with the amazing bacon ! Eggs are here any way you want them. And quick.
Location is good. About twenty minutes to walk to the old town. Quick walking mind you. Get a taxi though. About £5.
We didn't really get the chance to sample much of the lunch or evening food here as we like to go to different restaurants, but the one lunch we had on one day was very nice.
The general feeling of this hotel is relaxing and unstuffy. Most people walk about in the evening in casual clothing.
Fresh flowers abound and the attention to detail here is really lovely.
OK... all good... !!!
The only criticisms I would make are very very few. Every place has something I suppose.
I'm not going to say anything about them though because they are just peculiar to me and would not in all probability affect any one else.
The one thing I will mention though is this....The hotel should improve the security - or lack of -allowing the odd few people to use the grounds and pool without being guests. We witnessed two couples who sneaked in and integrated them quite happily thank you for all the time we were there ! We knew for a fact they weren't staying. They weren't undesirables or anything like that, but it was a bit annoying knowing we paid over two thousand pounds to enjoy this wonderful hotel and they didn't. ! That's all. Should have said something really but Hey Ho !!! Maybe there should be some sort of ID when shown to the sunbeds to prove you were staying.
We would both definitely go and stay here again. Loved it. Cant wait for next time ! Woop !

Room Tip: Now... you have to be very careful about this.Its only a small point but might be worth it. The far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear londoner2468,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your last stay in Marbella, as well as for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I we are delighted with your comments about our Pool Concierge Staff, and specially with Rafael do not hesitate that we will share with them.

Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay in Marbella and for your feedback, we will take good note about your comments.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We two did spend there a very good Beach Holiday in Marbella. Awesome and large Melia Hotel - with avery good Interiour. My Friends am me have been there for 14 Days. The Beach at Hotel was very clean with clear Water. Swimmingpool Area have been nice, but mostly much Guests there, so we decided to go better to the Beach. In Evening the Buffet for Dinner was very good and there have been a large Choice of Meals. Especially the Desserts have been very tasty. Reception Staff was very friendly and did gave us good Recommendations for Daytrips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear AzeriTravellerDOS,

First of all let us thank you for your kind comments about our resort and for sharing it with the rest of Tripadvisor’s users.

We are really proud to know that our service and food have exceeded your expectations; we do our best to continue improving our facilities to satisfy all the requirements of our clients.

In the name of all the team of the Gran Meliá Don Pepe, we hope to see you again and have the opportunity to offer you a delightful stay,

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have just spent a night at the Melia Don Pepe Hotel in Marbella Spain and from the moment I set foot in the hotel I was impressed, yes the hotel is impressive but what stood out the most was the hotel staff. The attentiveness and friendliness of the staff was exemplary. Checking was professional and efficient, my room was very nice with a high standard and a great view, every night the staff came and performed a turndown service and left a few chocolates in the pillows. The restaurant selection, entertainment, variety and quality of food was also excellent.
I only have a couple of minor negative things to say, the bath in my room needed replacing it had been patched up a few times and I thought it let the standard down a little. The main complaint was the pool area and although it is remarkable and the pool boy was so helpful, it annoyed me that the hotel let people come to the pool and leave there towels on the beds in the best locations even if they didn't use those bed until later that morning. The second thing was there was not enough mattresses for all the sun beds so some people just had to lay on the hard bed.
Although I have made a few negative comments they are more aimed at the hotel so they can rectify, I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Bydand75,

We can not start to answer your nice comment posted on Tripadvisor’s website without giving you thanks.

Is a pleasure to know that we offered you a first-class stay on your first experience in Gran Meliá Don Pepe. Do not hesitate that we will keep working for upgrade our service in order to offer to our clients an unforgettable holidays.

We look after to welcome you again as your destination in Marbella,

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The room with the sea view is lovely, bathroom is a tight squeeze but still very plush looking... The rooms are plush and very tidy... The only fault is that it is two beds pushed into one which can be slightly irritating at times... But that is just a picky fault.

Other than that I can honestly say the hotel, the grounds and the staff... ALL AMAZING.

This was such a wonderful holiday experience, me and my future husband have decided to return here for our honeymoon...

You have the best of both worlds located here, nice location with peace and quiet and not too far away from the lovely Nikki beach (party beach) and Porto Benus. EXCELLENT... We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear HMD80,

On behalf of all the staff of the Gran Meliá Don Pepe, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your last stay in Marbella, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion.

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay. We work really hard to ensure that our guests feel like at home. That is the reason why is a pleasure to receive your positive feedback.

We will share your comments with our staff, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent hotel with great location since it is within walking distance to the old town and shopping and also it is right at the beach. We loved the and pool and lush grounds and the amazing view of the Mediterranean sea. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with very nice amenities. The service and food was excellent and to top the experience, the weather was amazing!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Andrea B,

First of all thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us.

We are really pleased that we reached your expectations with all aspects of your stay.

It will be a pleasure to see you again soon. We will share your very kind words to all the team,

Grettings from heart,
Lluis M. González,
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Melia, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Don Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.