We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely comfortable, gracious hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella to your Saves list
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
232 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable, gracious hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

My wife and I tend to stay in fairly small boutique hotels but for a family event we spent two nights in the Puente Romano at the end of October. Perhaps it's not somewhere we'd go back to but overall we were very impressed.

First things first, the hotel is enormous. Absolutely vast. We were travelling with our baby and just pushing her to reception took 10 minutes. Lots of swimming pools (a few closed as it was October) and restaurants - all very well kept with beautiful flowers, plants everywhere and everything very clean. The beach was very peaceful and relaxed though I imagine it wouldn't be at the height of the season.

Our suite was huge. Extremely luxurious. A massive living room, a nice patio and a huge marble bathroom with a nice bath and separate walk-in shower. Two tvs, one with DVD player, all the mod cons, nice toileteries, bathrobes etc. Bed was very comfy.

Service followed the general theme of the hotel. Very proper, friendly and ever so slightly formal .

The hotel is clearly however not for everyone - and I have to say that while we had a lovely stay it probably isn't quite one for us to return to. The hotel does feel like a very self-contained holiday complex especially given the location which, while relatively convenient for short drives to Puerto Banus and Marbella, does means that you can't actually really walk anywhere from the hotel.

It is also perhaps a hotel for old or middle aged English people who seem to make up the vast majority of guests. For me the ambience is summed up by the fact that in the evenings the nice bar area plays host to a very cheesy seventies style singer. Not quite our thing but i'm sure it appeals to others. Decor is very nice but while the hotel does have the mod cons it is certainly not trendy or modern.

To sum up then we had a brilliant stay in a stunning room - just be aware that it's an old-style hotel which may not appeal to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    183
    57
    24
    22
See reviews for
181
275
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Me and my new wife held our wedding dinner with just a few invited guests at the cafe puente at the hotel and then stayed for the wedding night. To our suprise and delight we had been upgraded to the presidential suite. The suite of rooms could not have been more perfect, with a fine balance between lovely views and seclusion and just a minutes walk to the beach. The hotel has every luxury you could name and the staff are wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. As for the wedding dinner, what can I say? My wife and I agree that the hotel and its staff could not have made our day any more perfect.

Thany you and I recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive comments of Hotel Puente Romano. Possibly another time of season does appeal more to you. I offer you our assistance to make your future reservation at a suite that is located closer to the pools and breakfast area if you wish to do so.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your young family back soon to Hotel Puente Romano

Kindest Regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We just have returned from a wonderful trip to Spain and 4 nights at the Puente Romano. It was great to relax in the sun by the lovely beachside pool in Marbella after having hectic touring days in Barcelona (Also Great!). The staff was very kind and helpful. The suite was very spacious and comfortable.....you could have a party in the huge bathroom.....great showers. The breakfast buffet was one of the best. However Drinks in the bar are very expensive.
Great location just outside the hustle of Marbella yet very convenient. Easy drive out to Gibraltar for sightseeing....only an hour away.
Highly recommend the Puente Romano!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your comments about our hotel are very important to us. We are happy to hear that you greatly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere in the hotel and our excellent breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to your prompt return to our property and remain at your entire disposal for any inquiries for available rooms you might have.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed for a week to relax after a busy summer.
We haven't been to Marbella for about 30 years but wanted a quick break in the sun not far from home so a two and a half hour trip and the promise of good weather seemed just the ticket.
From our last visit many years ago the amount of building and construction in the area was quite amazing and in the current climate many closures and for sale signs were evident, but the old town of Marbella was still rammed with busy restaurants of varying quality.
It was nice to return back to the hotel to get away from the bustle and we encountered nothing but the most polite and helpful service throughout from the Concierge to the room maids everyone was charming.
It is certainly not cheap but the food was good and the pools all kept in clean condition, with sun loungers easily available at this later time of the year, the lunch buffet at the beach pool was superb but for €166 (incl. a bottle of house white) it should be.
We had a junior suite with a small balcony that was private and overlooked the well kept gardens and the bathroom was very spacious with one of the few hotel showers that didn't cause floods of water to spill into the room.
All in all a very good break but I would suggest that the management attend to a couple of points that were a slight distraction from the generally good and cosseted feeling you should get from a 5 star hotel.
Don't charge for wifi!
Supply bottles of water each night (free of minibar charges)!
Complementary tea and cakes in the afternoon!
All the other 5 star hotels we stay at in the Caribbean and Europe provide these little details and guests always feel that these things make a visit a bit special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you very much for selecting our Hotel for your stay in Marbella as well as your kind opinion regarding the property and our staff.
Your comments and observations are most valuable to us in that they provide useful feedback and help us maintain our service levels as a result.
On behalf of all the team looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Puente Romano in the near future, I remain

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I am a regular visitor to Marbella, having been 5 times in the last 6 years. After a bad stay at Guadalpin last year I thought enough was enough and decided to book somewhere with a solid reputation but still close to all the action I love in Puerto Banus. I was not disappointed. We had a deluxe room with a garden view. It's a huge hotel split into blocks (we were in V block), and has 3 pools and 3 restaurants. The pool at the beach club is the best with lots of sunloungers and right next to the beach. It's a 5 minute taxi ride to the port and 5 minutes in the other direction to Marbella. The only negative thing I can think of to say is that the hotel charges 19 euros per day for internet use which is, quite frankly, ridiculous. Breakfast is fantastic, everything you could possible want including Cava! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to look after you during your stay at Puente Romano. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future to our Resort.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frome, somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and i have just spent a long weekend at this fantastic hotel. The staff were courteous and friendly from the beginning and we were driven to our room on a golf buggy with our luggage. We loved the lay out of the hotel, with the different blocks of rooms, amongst the amazing gardens. It resembled an old Spanish town.

The pool areas were great to chill out and relax in. We were a bit worried about getting a sun lounger, as we had heard that other guests had already reserved them with their towels. But this wasnt a problem. There was always some available.

Our room was beautiful and quiet. It was great to come back to a lovely, air conditioned room, after being in the 35 degree heat. We had room service, which was quick and efficient. We used the internet in the room, which was on the pricey side. But we knew how much it cost, so it was our decison to use it or not.

I have to write a special mention to Layla on reception. While unpacking, my wife opened her diamond ear ring box in the bathroom and one of them shot down the plug hole in the sink. We obviously informed reception and Layla organised the maintenance guys to come down and they virtually stripped the bathroom down to retrive it. They went far and beyond what was expected of them.

Everything about this hotel is 1st class... Or 5 star!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff, It was a pleasure to look after you during you recent visit to the Hotel Puente Romano. Your kind remarks mean a great deal to us and we very much appreciate your opinion about our resort and the team work. We are mindful of the fact that it is only by receiving guest feedback that we can offer a five star deluxe service.

On behalf of all the team, looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Puente Romano in the very near future, I remain.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I just came back from spending five days at the hotel and overall it was nice but I agree with the other reviews about the internet. Overall my experience at the hotel was fine, food was good, buffet on the beach was good and the rooms were very clean. My main concern was the front desk staff. I have to say for being a part of "The Leading Hotels of the World" they have a few lessons to learn in hospitality. This being my first time to Marbella I asked a few questions upon arrival and the concierge was rude, arrogant and acted like they were doing me a favor answering my questions or they were too busy with paper work. Being in the hospitality business I was taken back at how we were treated. The bellman that took us to our room was more helpful and warm. There was only two front desk staff that was very nice and helpful.
This had to be the worst front desk staff I have ever experienced at a hotel. They need to treat their guests with a little more respect- they never know who they’re talking to. Maybe everyone was having a bad day…….EVERYDAY. Next time will stay at Marbella Club.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for highlighting the experience you had during your stay at Puente Romano and I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered about the service not as attentive as it should be. This has come to us as a total surprise, as the comments we receive from guests are usually extremely positive about our front desk team.
I have taken the opportunity to discuss the points that you have mentioned with our front desk team. Pleases rest assured that your comments have been taken very seriously and have been followed up on in detail.
We hope to be given the opportunity of welcoming you again to convince you of our true hospitality. With renewed apologies for your experience,
Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.2 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#7 of 79 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#18 of 79 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
8.5 mi away
Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Puente Romano, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is situated on the southern coast of Spain in the Costa del Sol within the “Golden Mile”, a residential area between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 35 minutes’ drive from Malaga Airport.The heart of the Resort and its social focus is the Roman Bridge (Puente Romano) from which the property takes its name. This ancient artefact from the first century is a remaining structure of a road which once linked Cadiz with Rome, the Via Augusta.Resembling an Andalusian village, the 278 spacious guest rooms are spread in 27 three–storey villas, scattered around 55.000 sq. m. of lush, sub-tropical landscaped gardens, gently cascading down to the Mediterranean Sea. Over 400 species of plant life have been brought to the gardens from all around the world, many literally in a suitcase courtesy of HRH Principe Alfonso de Hohenlohe, the founder of the Puente Romano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.