We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in southern Spain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella

Save Saved
You added Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in southern Spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A Classic Mediterranean hotel Club (tennisand gym) and the Marbella Club Spa. It has Very comfortable rooms. Friendly service One of the best restaurants near at the beach for lunch and very cozy for diner.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Puente Romano for your recent stay and for highlighting the experience you had during your visit. we are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities.

We are pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing a new Spa project in the hotel by the beach front, so hopefully in your next visit you have the option to use the Puente Romano Spa and get totally pampered.

We look forward to have the pleasusre of welcoming you back to our property.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    129
    37
    19
    21
See reviews for
125
185
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex uk
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been coming here for about 20 years or so with our children then a pause ourselves
Then with one of our grandchildren . We have always liked liked the place since reading about it as one of the best 100 hotels in the world around 25years ago by the Harper and queens travel writer , the gardens , so pretty , then the 3 pools , the beach restaurant , the buffets etc.
Last time about 5 years ago , my goodness a makeover with taste has taken place .
The beach restaurant ,now the sea grill is a place that dreams are made of of at night particularly
Or by day , we arrived in time for lunch a week ago what a setting , simply sensational , the food does not quite match the surrounds ,but is still good , the service perfect .
At night on subsequent meals our feelings were reinforced -this is the place in Marbella-we did venture out of the hotel once , but regretted it , returning to have a drink in the Hollywood splendour of the bar area .
We also had lunch at their Del Mar on the beach -excellent .
The serafina independently run from the hotel was a dissapointmenr , sadly ,tepid food , nothing special at all , we had high hopes here after the reviews , maybe a bad night , but we didn't try it again.
The problem was our first course was presented in 5 minutes , mine was crab cakes with a very bland sauce ,and I love crab cakes, my wife prawn pil pil curiously not spicy , hopeless. Truly .
And so it continued .
The snacks at the smaller pool at lunch were perfect , service again excellent, not haute cuisine but just right for lunch.
Our room with it's vast bathroom and large balcony , was perfect , a garden deluxe suite .
We had 2 buffet lunches at the Marbella club next door ,part of the same group , my goodness , this was luxury made flesh, the best buffet with lobster , best beef Wellington , the best asparagus , I could go on, any meet or fish cooked as you want, even the suoerlative sandy lane buffets paled by comparison .
A drink or two in the plaza at the hotel of an evening with a live band was a plus .
Didn't try the suite or the Japanese as they were not open during our sty.
So all in all, combined with fabulous October weather in the 25/28 range , no wind , blue skies we had a ball.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at Puente Romano during your visit to Marbella and very grateful for your positive feedback.

We have made several recent changes to the Food and Beverage outlets throughout the hotel in order to satisfy guests who are looking for a wide range of cuisine combined with beautiful settings. It is very disappointing to hear about your experience at the Serafina Restaurant, they do always deliver very good service, however your opinion is much appreciated and will guide and assist them to keep improving their services.

Please also note we are currently undergoing a new Spa project in the hotel by the beach front, this will add more value to our facilities and guests can enjoy a nice treatment and get totally pampered.

We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and await your return in the near future. Next time hopefully you will have the chance to visit our Namazake and Suite Restaurants as guests continue to praise their service and meals.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights in this hotel in October 2013. We got a nice room on the second floor of Ronda house right next to the main pool. October is not high season for this region, as sea is getting colder with each day, and only risky and weather-beaten Russians continued swimming in +17-20-degree water :), but it is still hot and sunny (it's Costa del Sol, Sun Coast, don't forget, so the sun is always up your head reaching +30 even in mid-October!), and all pools are heated, so if the sea is not the only thing you're looking for during you vacation, welcome here, you won't regret it a minute!

The hotel is perfectly located right between Marbella (3km) and Puerto Banus (2km), what on the one hand gives you some kind of privacy as there're no crowds of tourists like in Marbella, but, on the other, you'll have either to walk or to ride or drive to some key activities nearby. And it's about 40 min drive from Malaga airport, if that matters.

The hotel can boast a large territory with 3-story houses scattered all around in a large and beautiful botanic garden with very interesting plants. There're several large heated pools and several restaurants to please all tastes. Parking for guests is free (those who rented a car in Spain will appreciate this advantage, as parking costs in general pretty much :), and you can leave the car right in front of your house, what is quite convenient, as it takes some time to cross the hotel premises from one side to the other.

The room was quite spacious with everything one needs for comfort staying. I don't think I need to enumerate all positive things, you can read them on their website. Some previous authors blamed hotel's age. It's true, the hotel was built in 1979, and some pieces of furniture are not that 'fresh' but that doesn't ruin your overall impression, as the hotel is built like a white-house Andalusian village, and I admit those houses may contain some pieces of retro-furniture that may even add some charm. In any case, it's a matter of perception. For us the suite was perfect!

Now about food and beverages. Breakfast was impeccable: you could get everything you wanted, and if I start writing about all the variety of dishes, it'll be a trigger for salivation... You need just to taste it! Breakfast is served in Seagrill restaurant right next to the beach with a good view over the sea. Talking about dinners, everything was perfect, whether it was room service or Serafina italian restaurant or Seagrill... Our largest thank you to Sergio Sanchez, Head of F&B Dept.! He does really a good job in pampering his guests :)

In general we would also like to thank Jorge Manzur, General Manager, for maintaining the atmosphere of an excellent 5star hotel. We had an opportunity to meet him in person during a special cocktail party for hotel guests arranged by hotel management team and thank him for flawless friendly staff and for overall homelike environment.

My description and photos attached can share only a smaller part of what one is sure to experience there. I strongly recommend to visit Puente Romano and see everything with one's own eyes. It's simply perfect! :)

Room Tip: Ask a room on the second or third floor with a view to botanic gardens :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Puente Romano for your recent stay and for highlighting the fabulous experience you had during your visit. It is reassuring to receive such a positive evaluation.

I have forwarded your message to Sergio and the food and beverage team whom I am certain will be very encouraged by your remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon and we are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay and for your kind words.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We only got to spend 2 days here on our trip but had a great time. The hotel was large and they upgraded us to a suite overlooking the water. The pool was warm and the breakfast buffet was awesome. There is a boardwalk right outside where you can walk/jog into the town to check the stores/restaurants/yachts. The food in the hotel is pricey but it's to be expected in a resort town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our property during your visit to Marbella.
It comes with great pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We have made several recent changes to our resort in order to further satisfy our guests.

Allow me to inform you also, that we are currently undergoing a new Spa project in the hotel by the beach front and this will provide more luxury service for our guests.

We are hoping you will return soon for a longer stay and look forward to welcoming you once more.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The property is dated but not bad. One can tell that its prime days were in the 1980's but that said the hotel has done a good job of maintaining itself. The lobby is nothing special and we only went there for breakfast. Our room was on the second floor - you must request a top floor the first floor doesn't strike me as being very good since we had a view of our neighbor sunbathing down below. The room was spacious. Large bathroom with a double sink, walk in closet, a nice sitting area and a respectable sized balcony. Overall the room was really quite nice. The amenities were good quality. I like the Nespresso machine as we had our morning coffee before leaving the room.

The property has lush, mature gardens which were all very beautiful. I must say that the beach was a bit of a disappointment. Expected more from the famed Marbella, perhaps a different hotel would have had a better beach area. Since the weather was on the boarder of not being beach weather i didn't feel slighted but I can tell you during high season I would have been disappointed.

One last comment, the prices for beverages and food seemed a bit high. Two bottles of still water at the pool cost 12 euros. The breakfast buffet was mediocre. Didn't care for the croissants. Felt a bit mass produced with average quality.

Overall, I give the hotel a 4 star rating. It has good and bad going on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback, this gives us the opportunity to improve in the areas where we need more improvement.

We are pleased that overall, you were satisfied with your accommodation.

In regards to the breakfast at Sea Grill, we are still looking for strategic implementations which may improve the overall quality and meet our guests expectations. Still, your comments have been forwarded to the food and beverage department in order for them to take your feedback into account.

We always intent on preserving the traditional Spanish style and ambiance to our property and continue to maintain our garden areas as much as possible in order to keep a nice and natural feeling to the hotel scenery. Please also note we are currently undergoing a new Spa project in the hotel by the beach front and this will provide more services for guests to enjoy during their visit to our Hotel.

We thank you for choosing Hotel Puente Romano and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The most Amazing Hotel on the famous Golden Mile in Marbella, This is not just a Hotel, it's a complete experience for the perfect getaway, Excellent food, Atmosphere and wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, not to mention the fantastic sea views, Hotel Puente Romano is a must for every couple looking for that somethin special!

Room Tip: A Suite in Y or X is the perfect location for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to receive feedback such as yours.
We are committed to meeting standards and exceeding our guests expectations. We are constantly making changes to our property in order to offer our guests the wonderful experience they are looking for.
We truly hope you will visit Puente Romano in the near future and would like to thank you for your positive evaluation.

Best Regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager
manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

To set the scene, this review is on behalf of two professional 30 year olds that thoroughly enjoy a sun retreat to unwind from a very busy work schedule. Having heard great reports about Marbella we opted for this as our destination and after much deliberation over location booked Puente Romano for our 5 day stay. We arrived via taxi and were warmly greeted by the welcoming party. The reception area itself was underwhelming, quite plain and lacking in some wow factor. We checked in and were told we had been offered an upgrade to a junior suite. We advised that we had already paid for a junior suite but were told our reservation was for a basic room! The booking confirmation confirmed we had paid for a suite so we were pleased about our non existent upgrade. We were chaperoned to our room by a very helpful member of staff who took the time to run through the various functionalities including air on, safe etc. We then discovered the bed was two singles pushed together and best of all on wheels. Not what you expect from a junior suite. So we raised this to the attention of the booking staff who advised there were two options, to change room or have a cover applied to the singles to technically zip the beds into one! We took the opportunity to view another room. Unlike ours it was on the ground floor, we got floor 1 and very very musty. We quickly retreated and opted to stay where we were and opt for the alteration. Our room was clean, spacious with a cute balcony and nice and bright. Typically Spanish by way of decor. We then decided to explore. The surroundings are idyllic. Beautifully land scaped, with palm trees and little streams. A very quaint setting indeed. Now for the very negative aspects. Food and drink prices are beyond outrageous. A coffee, supplied in a polesyrene cup 5.50 euro. A gin and tonic in a plastic beaker 17 euro. If you are flippant with money or have just won the lotto go ahead, otherwise this will not suit you. Dont get me wrong we do like to splash out and don't skimp while on holiday but this takes the biscuit. the number of people ordering drinks reflects this as they are few and far between. Needless to say we have also opted out and so are making do with our g n'ts in our room. The restaurants are plentiful and again deserted, most likely due to the over generous pricing. Basic dishes are twice what you expect to pay in the Uk. 18 euro for a sandwich! Not even what you pay in the Ritz London, just obscene. This place has so much potential but the reality is the obscene food and drink prices make it unattainable for anyone that has any value on their spend. I only wish someone had written an honest review like this before we came.

Room Tip: Please read, all potential travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Puente Romano for your recent stay and for highlighting the experience you had during your visit. I appreciate your detailed comments and criticism, which are essential in helping us to further improve the quality of our services.
In regards to the inflated prices, we will be studying and investigating the matter by comparing our prices with those of close by luxury five star hotels as well as similar hotels internationally. We will then modify our pricing strategy accordingly in order to avoid such situations in the future.

Please rest assured that your feedback is very well valued and important for us. On behalf of the entire team I hope to be given the opportunity of welcoming you again to Puente Romano Hotel, to convince you of our true hospitality. Please feel free to contact me personally should you need to talk this further or for any other assistance I will remain at your entire disposal.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager
Manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Puente Romano, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is situated on the southern coast of Spain in the Costa del Sol within the “Golden Mile”, a residential area between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 35 minutes’ drive from Málaga Airport.The heart of the Resort and its social focus is the Roman Bridge (Puente Romano) from which the property takes its name. This ancient artefact from the first century is a remaining structure of a road which once linked Cadiz with Rome, the Via Augusta.Resembling an Andalusian village, the 278 spacious guest rooms are spread in 27 three–storey villas, scattered around 55.000 sq. m. of lush, sub-tropical landscaped gardens, gently cascading down to the Mediterranean Sea. Over 400 species of plant life have been brought to the gardens from all around the world, many literally in a suitcase courtesy of HRH Principe Alfonso de Hohenlohe, the founder of the Puente Romano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, MrandMrsSmith and Venere so you can book your Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.