We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad apple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella to your Saves list
Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One bad apple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here 5 times. Staff exemplary, without exception. Until a few nights ago, when I booked in only to delight in the ear splitting loud noise from a party in the rooms below. Phoned night reception to sort it out. An hour later, after no feedback, I phoned again to be told "security stood outside your rooms and reported no noise". "So I am imagining it then?". After much hoo and a lot of har, said receptionist came into the room and agreed that I was suffering from aural hallucination and moved us upstairs but with a begrudging attitude that peaked at a whacking 11 on the Fawlty Towers scale. One bad apple has lost this great hotel my business. Keep up the good work the rest of the staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We do deeply apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered during your recent stay.

Our front desk management is aware of the situation and has done a thorough follow up to make sure these types of events do not repeat again.

We always aim for our guest's comfort and would never wish to diminish your opinion about returning to our Hotel. WE hope you give us an opportunity to serve you better, should you consider visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    144
    45
    19
    21
See reviews for
139
217
12
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

i have been visiting this hotel for 25 years as a couple or single. the outstanding position between marbella and puerto banus with beach access is unique. the garden gives u privacy and calm. the rooms are special . look for rooms in the W,O or N area with extra privacy and car parking. service is always helpful. sometimes the beach service is unstable. the beach restaurant for lunch is a must even though expensiv. but u always live once.
good always for tennis fans and super golf club connected to the hotel.

Room Tip: W,O and N-rooms with parking access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our property as your second home and for your loyalty after so long. We are pleased that we have managed to keep on satisfying your expectations and we hope to continue in providing the service and standard that you expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you more in the New Year and many years to follow.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souther England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights for a business meeting and was overall very impressed with the hotel. The hotel is designed like a Spanish village, with small blocks of around 6 apartments situated along a small river, comlpete with swans, which runs to the sea. The eponymous Roman bridge spans the river near reception and there are lush subtropical gardens. It was late November and so, understandably, there was an out of season feel with most of the rooms unoccupied and the outdoor swimming pools unusable. Because of this unusual design, I suspect that some rooms are very much better than others in terms of location, my room was lovely but some balconies are very overgrown, and in high season I would imagine that my apartment (quite central to the restaurant and bar) would get very noisy on busy summer nights. However, I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were all lovely, the breakfasts and lunches were excellent and the location (and weather, for the time of year) superb. My room was comfortable and large, with an excellent shower and spacious balcony. The business facilities and wifi were also very good. My only complaint is that we had an evening buffet on two nights, and on both occasions it was very poor with food that should have been hot served cold and not enough for the number of people. The choice of food was also identical both times. One night was supposed to be tapas and was nothing of the sort. However, very few hotels manage high quality mass catering so I am only deducting one star. I'd certainly consider returning with my family when it was warmer, although I would be very careful about the location of the room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind consideration and for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Puetne Romano. It was a pleasure to share your comments with the rest of our team. We hope to have the opportunity to look after you and your family in your future visit to Marbella and try to make your holiday very memorable. We are improving our facilities therefore in the new year we shall have more services available for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you in 2013.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had not been here for 2 years; it was like returning home. Everything was excellent, except the Internet in the rooms.Too slow for words. The technician was called 2 or 3 times and was most helpful but could do nothing about the speed.A hotel of this quality should have Internet to match.Room service was extremely good as was maid service,reception and concierge. Same goes for the luggage men ..My only other complaint is that the breakfast croissant,petits pains au chocolat were below standard. The small white flour and whole wheat breads were delicious as was the butter.
I thought it unusual that the room, F14, did not have flowers. There was a vase with water though.....a rose did appear with every room service tray. I plan to return soon and hope to be able to return, if the price is right !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit again to Puente Romano. We appreciate very much to receive your feedback regarding our services. We are always very interested in our guests' point of view which helps us to improve our facilities and provide a better service. Every year we engage in new projects to upgrade our standards, it is our main goal and obligation to keep our guests satisfied and encourage them to visit us more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Puente Romano and make sure you have a wonderful stay with us.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved the location--beautiful beach resort. Rooms were great although some had a musty odor.Probably the case with all beachside resorts.
Everyone was very accommodating. Breakfast was amazing! Great quality and selection! Only complaint was that bar and restaurants on premise were extremely pricey.
Would return to this hotel for sure!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a good view, our room had a huge palm tree blocking the view! Garden views are extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and letting us know about your recent stay at Puente Romano. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed our facilities and the team have made your visit comfortable.

It is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went for October half term with my three boys, aged 15,14 and 10. The hotel was excellent, with pretty Andalucian village feel. Our two large interconnecting rooms were large and pretty. The beds were extremely comfortable so good sleep was had by all.The service was excellent especially the man on the front desk who was charming. Food was excellent (but expensive) and the Japanese restaurant was great for my birthday celebration although service was slow.
The heated swimming pool was most welcome in October. The tennis centre was magnificent with both clay and hard courts available. The downside was that rain of amazonian proportions fell constantly for two days, two of my boys cut their feet quite badly in the swimming pool but most annoyingly my favourite and expensive rain mac was removed from my bedroom!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sending your opinion and for your feedback about our services. From every comment we learn more and encourages us to follow the guests' interests and provide more comfort for their next stay.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel Puente Romano specially when we have better weather in Marbella.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a truly lovely hotel with gorgeous gardens and luxurious rooms. We were there in the off-season (October) and experienced fog every morning, but the hotel felt private and quiet. The ONLY reasons we can't give it 5 stars are: 1) the Concierge made several poor recommendations (a mediocre restaurant, and Gilbraltar -- not worth the trip), and 2) restaurant service was spotty, including delivering very expensive food to the table just after one of us had left to use the restroom -- it was cold by the time she returned, as was mine because I waited. However, if you eat elsewhere and generally ignore the Concierge's recommendations (or check them out first on TripAdvisor), you'll have a true 5-star experience.

Room Tip: Only 2 of 24 buildings (Y and Z) actually front the Mediterranean, so "sea view" rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuenteRomano M, Gerente at Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We are pleased that our installations have been satisfactory and made your stay pleasant. We are sorry that the restaurant recommendation was not entirely pleasing. This is quite surprizing as our Concierge team out of long experience would not suggest any unknown places to our guests. In this case we are sincerely sorry for your bad experience; we have shared your comments with our concierge team so they are well informed for the future.

Thank you again for your concerns, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Puente Romano.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602 Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Puente Romano, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is situated on the southern coast of Spain in the Costa del Sol within the “Golden Mile”, a residential area between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 35 minutes’ drive from Málaga Airport.The heart of the Resort and its social focus is the Roman Bridge (Puente Romano) from which the property takes its name. This ancient artefact from the first century is a remaining structure of a road which once linked Cadiz with Rome, the Via Augusta.Resembling an Andalusian village, the 278 spacious guest rooms are spread in 27 three–storey villas, scattered around 55.000 sq. m. of lush, sub-tropical landscaped gardens, gently cascading down to the Mediterranean Sea. Over 400 species of plant life have been brought to the gardens from all around the world, many literally in a suitcase courtesy of HRH Principe Alfonso de Hohenlohe, the founder of the Puente Romano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.