We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Golf Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urbanizacion La Quinta s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marbella
1 review
“Annual Golf Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hotel had a nice Spanish rustic feel about it, with staff that were generally very friendly / professional. The food was nice with plenty of choice, although slightly overpriced based on the hotels status. There is a regular bus service from the hotel into town and onto Marbella but not too much to get a taxi into town (Puerto Banus) (~14 euros). The rooms were nice and clean although not too many places to organise clothing with few hangers in the wardrobe/s.

The golf course was very nice with great views, reasonably challenging especially course "C". I found the staff at this facility a bit arrogant especially considering to the amount of money that we has spent to play here. Words like it is a privilege for you to play on this course etc. were used - not "it is our pleasure to have you play on our course, please let us know what we can do to make your afternoon a pleasurable / memorable one.

Overall a great trip which I will look back on fondly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Jamie M,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá.

We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We do take your comments into account in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.

I remain at your complete disposal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    124
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
90
155
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spent a week there for a relaxing golf holiday. The resort is situated a good half hour from Marbella in beautiful surroundings. Not a true five star resort but a good four star nonetheless.

Our double room was spacious, with a small balcony overlooking the pool and a view of the sea. Not the most modern of furnishing, decor or quality but still acceptable.

Pros:
Staff are friendly, helpful and very professional.
Pool area is nice and clean although the pool is not heated so unless you go in the summer, it's bitterly cold.
The La Quinta golf course is excellent and is located just next to the hotel - 27 holes, separated into three 9-hole courses.
There is also a Golf Academy for beginners or those who want to improve their technique - free transfer from the hotel and okay prices plus very friendly coaches and staff.
The Club House is a 1-minute walk from the hotel with a decent restaurant, reasonable prices and a nice terrace.

Cons:
The breakfast buffet. Again, service was great and the food nicely arranged but the quality of the food is below par. Plasticky bacon, bland cheese, muffins and waffles clearly not homemade and of the ready-made "value range" supermarket quality. Expected a lot better and we skipped breakfast from the third day onwards although we had booked (and paid for) breakfast for the whole of our stay. Went instead for an early lunch at the Club House.
Parking is €10 a day and minibar prices are extortionate (yeah, I know, but still).
You do need a car although San Pedro de Alcantara is only a short drive away (probably not too expensive by cab) and it has some nice restaurants.

Would I go back? Yes but only on a good deal. If you book early, you can find better value for money around Marbella. Nonetheless, La Quinta is a nice place.

I should mention that there are two restaurants on the premises - one of which is Japanese, which we heard great things about from fellow guests. Both restaurants were dead though when we were there so we decided to go somewhere a bit livelier (i.e., Marbella or San Pedro).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear chelsealondon2010,

First of all we wish to thank most sincerely the time you have spent to send your comments regarding your last visit.

I would like to thank you for the nice comments about our hotel and our team. However, we deeply regret not to have been up to the standards in our food and beverage area. Be sure that I would share the comments concerning the breakfast to our food & beverage manager.

We really appreciate your comments, we do take them into account in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

my wife and i stayed at end of April. We found the hotel and golf course staff very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are big and airy and very comfortable bed and good views from the balcony on 2nd floor overlooking the golf course. The 3x9 hole golf course is both challenging and extremely pretty buggy is recommended. Excellent hotel, great breakfast and wonderful golf.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Paul Steven T,

On behalf of the entire team of Meliá we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your positive opinion about your experience in Meliá La Quinta on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.

We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days at the end of April to the beginning of May, We had 4 rounds of golf. The hotel was of a high standard we had single rooms were big with a massive bed it was serviced everyday, it had a full bathroom with bath and separate shower. We had a view out the front which wasn't anything to write home about. The room dose not have a kettle.
The Breakfasts was excellent but watch the coffee, the evening meals in the hotel restaurant were average at best. the Sushi restaurant was very good.
The pool and surrounds were clean and tidy,
This is not a cheap hotel with the food and drinks being on the high side

Room Tip: There is no shop/outlet for drink or snacks top up at the shops. There are not a lot of water fount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear keithx1,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

It would be a real pleasure to receive your visit again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any kind of assistance you may need.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Spent three lovely nights at this great hotel....staff were truly exceptional and made our stay most enjoyable. Our room had a stunning view over the pool and golf course set against the stunning mountains in the distant. Evening meal at the Japanese reseraunt was superb...(some of the best sushi I've had) breakfast was also excellent. Highly recommend and looking forward to return.

Room Tip: 324 on the top floor had the best views in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear David D,

First of all we would like to thank you for these nice comments and for taking your time to share your experience in Meliá La Quinta.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your comments about our staff, services and facilities. Our customer’s opinion will be of great assistance for us in our continuous improvement.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here over Easter for 2 nights. Our booking was for a family room as we are two adults and two children aged 7 and 9. On our booking form we were told our room was specially for children with extra special facilities for children. Well the room was sadly lacking! The two beds supplied were slightly bigger than a single but definitely smaller than a double, and there was nothing extra for the children. Whenever we have booked 5 star hotels in the past, and we have booked many, we have always expected to have nice beds to sleep in. We thought we could manage, and so I slept with my older daughter and my husband with our younger child. It was awful, in the end on the second night my husband ended up on the floor to sleep. The rest of the hotel was fine, there were nice restaurants and the pool was lovely. The spa left a bit to be desired, a bit run down, especially in the Turkish steam room, with big cracks in the wall and tiles missing from the ceiling, and not as clean as I would like. At 18 euros each, you´d expect a bit better. Also in the room, some complimentary water would have been nice, but instead at 4 euros a bottle we felt it was a bit expensive. However, we would have stayed again and booked two rooms adjoining with four beds, but when we complained to the desk and the manager, they dismissed us with a half hearted apology. Two sleepless nights should have warranted a free meal at least in my opinion, so we won´t be staying again.

Room Tip: If you are a family of four, then make sure you are happy to stay in smaller than average beds, or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear caboodlemedia,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us these comments. Our customer’s opinion is the greatest assistance to us in identifying possible lack of information and takes whatever corrective measures may be necessary to continue improving in all hotel areas.

We deeply regret not to have met up your expectations during your last stay with us.
I would like to inform you about our Family rooms. This ones has 2 double bed for two people each one. Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had during your stay if the beds was not like expected.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable with the most appropriate type of room.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Visited from April 11th to 14th April 2014 found the hotel to be quiet at this time of year and very helpful and friendly staff and rooms in spick and span clean towels daily .. Breakfast was lovely with lots to chose from..no shuttle bus to port at all at any time wich was in the package and the spa wanted 18€ to even use whirlpool or jacuzzi ......... Played B&C course on Friday wich was quiet but over the weekend became very busy with members,, took 5 hours to get around even with a buggy so beware of this !!!! All courses are very good with quick greens but preferred B if honest a better test...... B&C best to play .... No downsides really but get a room with pool view ,, we had room 125 wich is on the road not ideal and not what I requested .... Overall excellent hotel staff and golf courses .... Ooh and cheat up mr course Marshall costs nothing to smile !!!!

Room Tip: Top floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Phil E,

First of all, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Meliá La Quinta.
We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed.

We deeply regret not to have met up your expectations with the type of room you booked this time.

We would be glad to have the opportunity to receive you once again in our Hotel with a pool view room.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Marbella
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Melia, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella La Quinta
Marbella Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.