We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice on the whole.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urbanizacion La Quinta s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Amslon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good choice on the whole.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What do mean, 1st up Melia is strong brand and great deals to be had online and if you are rewards card holder then your sorted. Rooms big, gigantic melia bed, nice views, sea, balcony, golf course side prolly best because sea facing rooms tend to be directly over the bar or restaurants. I can assure you sea facing rooms over the bar, you are not sleeping.

This is a Golf resort and they do conferences. (no brainer) large groups of men getting pissed not ideal. That is my main complaint. lovely pool, spa, grounds, good japanese food on site and parking.
Melia La quinta needs to be careful ensure their clients are getting getting what they want at a 5 star resort.
Stag nights are not what I would expect nor would expect no dampers on furniture scrapping away on the upper floors. We stayed in 2 different rooms, 2nd floor and 3rd floor.
Nonetheless the staff coped with it well. Very polite, always helpful.

Breakfast is ok, you are near Benahavis and 15mins tops Banus. 1hr drive to Ronda.
I would recommend it esp if you mad about Golf, want a good deal and staying for 2 days. if you are planning a week, then my advice would be ring up 1st and enquire re conferences. You have been told.

Room Tip: 3rd floor Golf course facing side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Outside101,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Marbella and for taking the time to share your opinion in this website.

We are really glad to read your comments about the impression of our hotel staff. We appreciate your feedback because this is the way to know what else we need to improve and modify in the future to achieve the guest satisfaction. Do not hesitate that we will take good note about your comments in order to keep improving our service.

We would like to see you again in our hotel Melia Marbella La Quinta, as soon as possible.

Kind regards,


Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    124
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
92
158
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Myself along with 15 golfing buddies chose to stay at La Quinta for our annual golfing trip this year and if was a choice well made.We stayed four nights and played golf at the hotel (I would recommend courses A & B) and two other local courses.
About 45 minutes from Malaga airport and having three 9 hole courses of it's own it's a great location. The hotel has a small feel to it and is built in a more traditional style to many of the ultra modern hotels we've stayed in before. The hotel is very clean, well maintained and has large rooms (two double beds in our twin room which was nice) along with all the amenities you'd expect. There's a very nice pool and there was no fighting for loungers or indeed loungers covered in personal items with nobody there (so irritating at other hotels). The hotel provides a shuttle bus into Puerto Banus or you can take a cab for around 11 euros for the ten minute trip into town. Probably not a great location for people who like to walk places from the hotel, but we were happy with the transport available
We didn't eat evening meals at the main hotel, however the breakfast was of a good standard with the usual array of choices to suit most people and outside seating. We did eat at the golf club bar/restaurant (attached to the hotel) and the food very good and interestingly (and most welcome) the drink was far cheaper than in the hotel itself!
All in all very good an I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Braddy,

Thank you very much for taking your time writing these comments about your stay at the Meliá La Quinta hotel We are very glad that you have enjoyed your annual golfing trip with us.

We are pleased to know that you liked our facilities and you had been satisfied with our service and we completely fulfilled your expectations.

We hope to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Melia La Quinta hotel was a great choice for us to spend our vacation. It has great facilities, especially if you enjoy playing golf. The hotel offers good quality of accommodation and the service is also very good. Breakfast was very nice with a good variety of fresh fruit and other warm delicacies. The pool was very refreshing and had very comfortable sunbeds to relax. Overall this was a good experience and I would come here again in the future !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear DamianNew7,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that our facilities, services and staff exceeded your expectations. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Our main objective is to offer the best service to all our guests and reach your expectations.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel!

Best greetings,

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from Melia La Quinta after spending 3 nights and 4 days. First impressions of the hotel were pretty good until we got to the reception desk and then things started to go wrong! On the positive or rooms were ready, despite the fact we arrived at lunch time, but the greeting from the receptionist was far from welcoming and we appeared to be more of an annoyance than anything else.

We weren't asked if this was our first visit (which it was) and we were given no introduction to the hotel or the facilities available to us.... In fact the only thing he seemed concerned with was making sure we either paid the €10 per night for the hotel car park (a rip off) or we needed to move our car out to the street. We were due to tee off shortly after our arrival but again there was no information provided about where to go in terms of getting to the caddy master etc

Our rooms were spacious, but as mentioned previously the floor was badly scratched and the number of clothes hangers was inadequate for even a 3 night stay!

Having eventually found our way to the golf course pro shop, we were once again 'greeted' by a rather rude lady who again provided little in the way of information or direction about where to go or what facilities were available. She gave us keys for our buggies but no direction to where they were or which ones were for us. Most frustratingly she didn't even see fit to tell us that we were going to be joined by a single player who was not in our party... This concept doesn't bother me or my playing partners in the slightest.... But being pre warned before you rock up on the first tree is usually an advantage!

On a positive note the golf courses were excellent and in very good condition... We found course A to be the most visually impressive, C the most challenging, and B was a tactical challenge but a good scoring opportunity for the clever golfer.

The final frustration was the gates to the pool being locked by security at 6pm despite all the notices saying it was open for use until 8pm... Something reception were unable to justify and unwilling to provide any solution for

Overall the hotel is nice, in a good location and has excellent facilities.... But be prepared to have to search them out yourself with little or no help from the 'customer service team' - and if you want to park your car securely it will cost you an extra €10 per night!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We chose La Quinta to be able to visit friends who live in the Marbella/Banus area after spending some time further up the coast. We often stay in Melia Hotels and have always been impressed by their quality & service levels. We were given an upgrade to a poolside room which was larger than average, big comfortable bed, etc.etc. we were given an extra room key card so we could go out and leave a card in the electric box to keep the A/C going, and a welcome presentation of "luxury" bottled water and chocky biscuits daily (nice touches!).
Good breakfast/lunch menu & not silly prices, and a nice terrace to have it on. we didn't have dinner at the hotel, but the Japanese restaurant looked inviting.
Lovely pool & garden area. Didn't play golf there as the day we wanted (Sunday) didn't have early tee times available. So played at nearby Atolayah Park (at much less cost!).
Brilliant staff, everyone very friendly, courteous, & helpful. We had late flights home and the reception staff gave us a late as possible check out, then use of the beautiful Spa facilities to shower & change after lingering at the pool to get the last of the sun before returning to cold old UK!
The only niggle was that our room key cards never seemed to work. good job we were on the same floor as Reception and didn't have to walk too far to keep getting them re-validated. Same thing happened whenever getting out of the car park, where the room card should allow you to exit. No one seemed to know why, and we noted some other guests had the same issue. For this reason only I have downgraded Service to "Very Good".
That said, we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear JohnSet,

I would like to thank you for letting us know your opinion through the TripAdvisor web site and for your holidays at the Meliá Marbella La Quinta hotel.

It is a pride for the entire team to read your feedback and to know that your stay has been a nice experience. As you know our principal aim is to give you the best service, making your stay exclusive and unforgettable. Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction.
We are really sorry for the inconveniences with your room key cards. I would like to inform you we proceeded take the corrective action.

We would like to see you again in our hotel as soon as possible!

Warm regards,


Mª José Guerra
Guest ExperienceManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Concierge , and front of house staff, excellent, spoke very good English . Our room on 3 rd floor, very good size, with relaxing lounge area, and large balcony overlooking pool. Very hot when we were there, so the shady trees near the pool were a blessing. Staff also organised golf games for my husband, course in excellent condition, very well looked after, played early morning as it got too hot later on. We found hotel grounds in good condition, everything very clean, including room and bathroom. We never used our rental car, staff said parking in puerto banus and Marbella was difficult. Free shuttle bus was provided quite regularly, up until 11p.m. At night, driver very obliging dropped us off in centre of town. Also ate at main resturant a couple of times, food o.k. But found the food at the golf club terrace much better, and lovely view, with a nice breeze, also free appetiser from the chef. Also excellent wine suggested by the waiter.

Room Tip: Don't choose ground floor, unless you have children, most of them seem to be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Marion A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experienceat Melia Marbella La Quinta hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities and our rooms.We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, we always try to exceed your expectations and we try to make your stays will be as perfect as possible. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure our Guest Satisfaction.

It would be a pleasure to see you again.

Sincerely,


Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel was excellent, we stayed for 3 nights in August 2013 and couldn't have faulted anything. The restaurants were great and the pool was fantastic - there was a lack of sunbeds at one point but the staff soon sorted this out. The spa was excellent, very relaxing on a hot afternoon! The golf courses looked amazing too, but we didn't play them. The free bus to Marbella & Puerto Banus was good given the location of the hotel. Would definitely return for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear scottishlass812

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Marbella and for taking the time to share your opinion in this website.

It is a pleasure for the entire team to read your positive feedback and to know that your stay at Meliá Marbella La Quinta has been a nice experience. As you know our principal aim is to give you the best service, making your stay exclusive and unforgettable.

Looking forward meeting you again for a longer stay!!

Best wishes,

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Marbella
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Splendia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella La Quinta
Marbella Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.