We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant premises but not a 5 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urbanizacion La Quinta s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Pinoso
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant premises but not a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are currently on holiday for a week at this hotel and having researched so many options decided this was the one for us. Unfortunately, we are very disappointed with the lack of flexibility the Customer Quality Team have shown as they simply will not find us a room on 3rd floor although this is what I specified before booking, a week before arrival and one day prior to arrival. Each time I was assured this shouldn't be problem but to check with reception when we checked in which was on the Sunday.... No..... We were on 2nd floor and absolutely no chance until Tuesday to move to 3rd look. Then on Tuesday we were told the people in the room they had earmarked for us had decided to lengthen their stay. (I don't believe this for a second) and there were no other rooms of our category on 3rd floor. I had stated we old downgrade from the Premium Pool View if that's what it took or upgrade to a Junior Suite and we could pay a little more but I have just had fob offs and excuses. I was offered to upgrade though.... For an extra 180€ per night! The floor tiles in our room are stained and scratched and the room really could do with an overhaul. The pool and gardens are nice, the outdoor bar staff friendly and nice although for most 5 star hotels I have been to their is a waiter service to the sun loungers.... Not here. Little touches like that make a holiday special. I ordered a bottle of Cava to be in the room on ice for our arrival as we are celebrating our 10 year anniversary and it never arrived. i mentioned this and when we came back from our evening meal it was there but we decided to save it for our special day and then although it was unopened, for some reason, i can only presume the cleaner removed it. I have never known that before. The driver of the shuttle bus very friendly and helpful and 5 stars to Miguel on reception for his levels of customer service.

Room Tip: Don't expect to any requests to be met
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sezwilco,

It is a pleasure to be able to greet you again.

Regarding your comments, as per conversation, our reservation department always take note about all the preferences of our guests to try to offer them the best personal service.

They informed you that a room on the third floor would be provided you if the occupancy allowed it. In that time, the hotel was fully booked and it was not possible for us to give you that room on top floor. On the other hand, you could enjoy the category of the room that you have reserved in advance so at the time you lost any of your benefits.

As we read on your comments, we tried to change to a room on the third floor on Tuesday but, finally, that was not possible due to the guest decided to stay longer.

In relation the bottle of cava, I regret that the housekeeping retired it. As soon as we knew that, we asked you if you would like to have another one and you told us that you will already inform us.

Never the less, we appreciate all your observations because this is the way to know what else we need to improve and modify in the future to achieve the guest satisfaction.

Your comments about the attitude of all the staff will be shared with the objective to encourage us to offer the best quality.

We will be delighted to attend you and your nice family in future. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Mª Jose Guerra
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    118
    42
    9
    9
See reviews for
86
149
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to this resort. We spent 6 days and played 3 rounds of golf. The golf has 3 nine holes courses and all are different. Buggies have cool boxes and free bottles of water, a club cleaner and ball washer. There is a small deli on site, which is very reasonable and there is a half way house run by a couple and the food is to die for. The club house is good and serves food late although service can be slow at times only due to a lack of staff. The hotel is 5 star full of atmosphere, My only complaint is that a 5 star hotel should have tea and coffee in the rooms. Having said that a great golf resort. With a free shuttle bus to Marbella and P Banus. Back next year

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the golf course on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Tricia115,

I would like to thank you your opinion about your visit at Meliá Marbella La Quinta Hotel. We are happy to see that you spent some lovely days with us.

We always try to give all the facilities to all our guest in all services. It is for that reason that we have reported your comments at the departments involved.

Thank you for leaving your opinion in Trip Advisor web and we sincerely hope to welcome you again next year

Best wishes,

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just a very nice place to stay just outside of Marbella. Food terrific across all venues within the hotel - Teppen Yaki restaurant was well worth a visit. Scenic position overlooking La Quinta golf course with plenty to do at the hotel if you have time. Excellent, attentive and very friendly service from all staff. Could not recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Possibly overlooking the pool may be better than overlooking the 18th at la Quinta... decisions, dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr Wayne,

Thank you for sharing your nice comment with Trip Advisor Community.

We would like to express our gratitude for your nice comments you made about your stay. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel, service and installations.

The Meliá Marbella La Quinta team hope to be able to welcome back in short time.

Best greetings,


Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very good Resorthotel, with a very friendly Service Staff there. As our Friends have been there already last Year, we followed their Advice and went also there. Friendly Check In and they also speak good english there.
The very good thing there was the Breakfast Choices and especially the good Coffee. Friendly Staff there too. Also we have to say, that there was a nice and friendly Atmosphere and we could relax good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Goldensunbenny,

Thank you very much for taking a bit more of your time and leaving your opinion on the Trip Advisor web site.

We feel so proud to know that you had a very pleasant stay at the Meliá Marbella La Quinta Hotel and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel and resort was stunning, scenic and beautiful. A hot spot for many celebrities as we met ex-England manager Fabio Capello there! Golf course is very good and the pool is large. Food was nice, and drinks reasonably priced. There is a in-resort salon that does many treatments including waxes. Efficient and helpful staff. 5 minute taxi ride from Puerto Banus. We stayed here for a 5 day trip and didn't want to leave, you definitely get what you pay for! A+++

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Morwalker

It is very nice to receive such a nice comment about our hotel and our services during your last stay in the Meliá Marbella La Quinta Hotel. We are glad to know that we fulfilled your expectations and we all hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Best wishes,

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here back in June for 2 nights and I would highly recommend it. The spa treatments were incredibly relaxing and the beauticians were very friendly. The hotel staff were very efficient and helpful. Very big rooms with a generous balcony and bathroom.
The pool area is incredible. There were plenty of sun loungers at the time and it was very peaceful. The gardens are well kept and clean. The poolside bar is reasonably priced.
It is quite out of the way of the Banus and Marbella but that is part of it's charm. There's a shuttle bus that runs a couple of times in the evening to Banus and Marbella which was really handy.

Great breakfast selection including chilled Cava - don't miss the brekkie!

Would definitely go back.Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear VinoLover99,

In first time, we would like to thank you for letting us know your opinion through the Trip Advisor web site and for your holidays at the Meliá Marbella La Quinta hotel.

We are glad to know your stay was so incredible! We are self assured daily to give the best service all our guests! We will communicate your nice comment to all our staff in order to keeping their high motivation.

We all hope to be able to welcome again next time.

Yours faithfully,

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Up and down a bit this one!
Lovely hotel / setting / pool / rooms etc but you can see all that from the website right?

Service hit and miss - depending who is serving you. At times, the 5 star experience you would expect (and have paid for), at times more akin to a youth hostel.

Drinks and snacks aren't cheap, but this is to be expected and as with other reviews on here, it's fair to say the prices in the hotel reflect those in the area. A couple of sandwiches and a couple of beers would be around thirty of our English pounds.

So overall? Brilliant. Would go again and recommend, I just hope the occasional slip in service can be rectified by the hotel and then you are looking at something very special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mª José G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Chris T,

In the first place we appreciate your comments in relation to your experience at Meliá Marbella La Quinta . We also thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your opinions.

Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure our Guest Satisfaction. We always try to exceed the expectations of all our guests and we try to make their stays as perfect as possible.

Finally, we are happy to know that you will recommend us!!

We will be delighted to attend you in the future. We would like to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mª José Guerra
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Family Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Melia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella La Quinta
Marbella Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia La Quinta Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.