We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sloanes Bistro

Sloanes Bistro
Avenida Las Cumbres, KM 191 | Elviria, 2198430 Marbella, Spain
952835560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 873 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A jewel in the heart of Elviria
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Why we haven't tried this restaurant before I don't know. We went many years ago when it was Chez Michel but somehow we have been drawn to central Marbella when dining out. If you want good food in a lovely relaxed, almost old fashioned setting then you must try Sloanes. The owner's Alex and Nicola are wonderful hosts and the cherry on the cake is when Alex finishes his work as barman and takes the microphone and starts to sing. He has the most amazing voice, covering many of the oldies from the 60s onwards. We don't normally like restaurants with music but this is really something different. Definitely a place to return to with friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    68
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best, again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were 5 friends having dinner at Nicola and Alex last week. I was the only one who had visited them before, but they now have 4 new fans. Fantastic surroundings, good soft music and singing by Alex. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Five Years in a Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Once again had the opportunity to visit Sloanes on our trip to Marbella and enjoyed five visits during our three week holiday. Nicola, Alex and their wonderful staff were once again very welcoming and the food and drink was excellent on each occasion. Alex provides great laid-back music and the atmosphere is always amenable to enjoying a romantic evening or chatting with people on the next table. Looking forward to seeing you all next year - please don't change a thing!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

When travelling with a 3year old it's very hard to find a restaurant which delivers superb service, great food and was welcoming of my little girl. Sloanes Bistro is fantastic and worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We ate here last night and everything was superb, the food, the setting, the staff, it was a good experience, as so many restaurants are overcrowded and can't cope.
We were given a lovely welcome by Nicky, and the waiters were very efficient. Good value at 20 or 25 euros, for two or three courses, and a big selection. The house wine was good too. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant, which deserves every success.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloanes Bistro also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Sloanes Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sloanes Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.