We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar el Estrecho, a gem in Marbella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar El Estrecho

Bar El Estrecho
Calle San Lazaro 12 | Old Town, 29601 Marbella, Spain
+34 952770004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 936 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gibraltar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bar el Estrecho, a gem in Marbella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wandering around Marbella today we wondered where to eat good Spanish food. We happened on bar el estrecho and as we could hear Spanish coming from within we thought if this is where the locals go then this is where we will eat. Wow! We have been in Spain 8 years and i think i have had the best calamares and rosada today in El Estrecho. Try the salmorejo too, its fabulous.
Service was excellent. I cant fault it, Don't know what some other reviewers complaining about, perhaps the language barrier tainted their experience but that is their fault not the fault of El Estrecho's. This is a typical Spanish bar where guess what, they speak Spanish but please don't let that put you off. Try this place, its well worth it. I'm definitely going to return to try the rest of the menu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    101
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average tapas at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

For our first visit to Spain we had high hopes for Tapas. The ones we found at Bar El Estrecho were average and overpriced. The waiter conveniently misunderstood that we EACH wanted EACH of the tapas. The price jumped pretty quickly. The atmosphere is cool and the location is classic Old Town, on a NARROW street. Walking in we were very excited but in the end we were disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very sympa restaurant, very typically spanish! The owner (3rd generation) was very friendly helpful and kind! Great variety of freshly made tapas - cold and warm! Excellent value! House wine was delicious! Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best tapas bars in Marbella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited this tapas bar at the end of last year, we turned up on a Saturday afternoon and it was already very busy, mainly with spanish locals. We sat and had some lovely tapas, seafood salad, chorizo, paella & the manchengo cheese platter were the ones that I remember served by friendly & helpful staff.I think we had 2 soft drinks and 5 small beers & 5 or 6 tapas dishes and the bill came in around 25€, excellent value for the area that it is in! I will certainly be back when in the area as it was that good, try it yourself if you can find it!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More Tapas please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic food, friendly service, and very reasonable price.
The only down side is that we felt so comfortable that we drank wine at "sitting at home" pace.
Try the croquets, we had two portions.
My wife and friend fancied the waiter.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar El Estrecho also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Bar El Estrecho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar El Estrecho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.