We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa

Hermosa
Local 1A | Puerto Cabopino, Marbella, Spain
+34 952 837 483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 875 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: $29 - $59
Cuisines: International, Californian, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Christmas day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A group of 7 of us ate Christmas day lunch here, and it was EXCELLENT again, i think the service is second to none and the food is just brilliantly mouth watering. Thank you Mel,Alex and baby Isabelle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermosaPC, Owner at Hermosa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review, we are glad you enjoyed your Christmas Day with us. As always it was a pleasure to have you dine with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    146
    23
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great experience at Hermosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I chose this restaurant based on other TA reviews, and specifically because of one that mentioned this being a nice place for special occasions. As this dinner was to celebrate the birthdays of both my wife and 5 (turning 6) year-old son, I wanted to make sure we were going somewhere they would both enjoy. Hermosa was definitely the right choice.

The experience started with a phone reservation. The English gentleman with whom I spoke was very courteous in handling my request for something special to celebrate the birthdays, and suggested a dessert assortment appropriate for both ages. A call the day of the reservation to push back the time was also handled graciously. We arrived 15 minutes early, and were seated without issue. The hostess (and owner, I believe) was very friendly, and immediately made all of us, especially my son, feel right at home.
Going over the categories:

Atmosphere:
The restaurant at first glance looks very modern. Lots of glass, minimal colours - mainly shades of gray and brown, with pictures and post-card like posters of Hermosa beach in California. It's all very tasteful, and the decor and small-ish size of the restaurant combine to give the place a very comfortable feel.

Service:
The service was excellent. As mentioned, the hostess was very friendly, and extremely accommodating, from seating us early to coming up with some wonderful creations in response to special drink requests (something citrusy for my wife, something fruity but non-alcoholic for our friend). We asked for recommendations from the menu, and the suggestions were excellent. As for the pace of the service, it was on the slow side given that there were only two other tables seated at the time, but I actually appreciated this. Rather than being too slow, it felt unhurried. We were allowed time to enjoy the meal and conversation, without being pushed on to the next course, dessert, the bill, etc. And importantly, I could see that the owner/hostess was keeping an eye on the table and making sure we were being served.

Food:
The food was, without exception, very good. My wife and our friend opted for Caesar salads as a starter, while I went with the Indonesian Salmon fish cake - which was definitely the standout. The flavours were wonderful - a slight hint of curry wonderfully complimented by the bed of leaves and cucumber, with a bit of balsamic vinegar.
For mains we went with the fillet for myself, my son and our friend, while my wife had sea bass with the baja spice rub. The spice on the fish was nicely done without being overpowering, and the fillets were all excellent - beautiful cuts of meat cooked perfectly. The side of Szechuan beans accompanying the fish was also delicious - beans left a bit crispy, and nicely spiced.
The dessert was equally good - a lovely assortment of cakes and puddings that everyone enjoyed.

Value:
I felt the prices on the menu represented very reasonable value given the quality of the food.

Overall:
I highly recommend this restaurant, both for special occasions and for just an evening out. It was a wonderful experience and we'll definitely go back when we're in the area again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermosaPC, Owner at Hermosa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visited whilst on holiday. Food average to good, but overpriced. Surf and Turf 28 euros, Steak 23 euros plus iva tax.
Staff over stretched, service slow.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajnicoll, Owner at Hermosa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your food. Sometimes, especially during a busy service things can slow down, especially in a small restaurant. As we mention in the menu card - if you are in a hurry, let us know and we will try to speed things up for you. That being said, we do put quality of food first and some dishes take more time to cook than others. Price wise - we use the very best imported and domestic meat and fish and we price our menu accordingly. There are many cheaper options available on the coast and many more expensive - it's relative to the type of restaurant, the location and the quality of their ingredients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“In A Nut Shell, Dining Out at its Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I love this restaurant. Its cosy, elegant and has a great menu choice. The staff are attentive, the food is amazing and not overpriced. The steaks are highly recommended, although so is probably everything else on the menu!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajnicoll, Owner at Hermosa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Cool..................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hermosa is a modern Californian Bistro and grill that serves dishes which typically combine the flavours of the old and new world from Tuscany to the Pacific Rim and feature modern interpretations of traditional European, American and Asian cuisine. The menus also offer a unique dining experience, ‘The Grill’, which enables you to design a main course to suit you. According to the introduction to the menu, the Hermosa has been operated by Alex and Mel for 6 years. I thought the introduction was a nice touch setting out their philosophy of ‘fresh not fast’.
We were the first diners in on a Thursday night at 1905 (they advertise a free glass of wine per person if seated before 1930) but by 2030, the 30 places were virtually full. The menu offers about 8 starters, 8 mains and 6 desserts and ‘The Grill’ – you choose your meat, then your sauce and then the accompaniments. The main menu allows you to choose certain dishes that give a set price for 2 courses or for 3.
My wife enjoyed her chicken grill excellently presented with thick wedges and broccoli (a really generous helping). My pate to start was a a little bland, but the chicken curry contained really chunky pieces of chicken and was mild as ordered but with delicate rice.
Décor was crisp, clean and contemporary. The background music was jazzy versions of popular music, for example U2s ‘With or without you’. The total bill was 46 euros. Service was pleasant and efficient – though use of ‘guys’ was a bit overdone. Our scores - Food 10; Service 9; Ambience 9; Value for Money 10.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermosaPC, Owner at Hermosa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind and informative review, it is much appreciated. We will be sure to check how the chefs are preparing the pâté as we pride ourselves on getting the most flavours out of our food. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermosa also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.