We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at El Pozo Viejo Marbella old town December 2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Pozo Viejo

El Pozo Viejo
Plaza Altamirano 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain
+34 952 82 25 57
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 924 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Fusion, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: You will find us located in Marbella's Old Town. The Old Well Constructed over 500 years ago is used today as a gastronomic house. Enjoy the harmony and selection of fresh local products and selected wines. Each dish is prepared with Special care and attention, to provide the highest quality for every guest. You will always receive a special welcome at The Old Well. El Pozo Viejo.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lunch at El Pozo Viejo Marbella old town December 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

Over a half a millennium ago, the first Mayor of Marbella built his house, and excavated the one and only well in the then village of Marbella. The house still stands, albeit extended many times, and it became known as El Viejo Pozo. (the old well)
A lot of the character has been retained, including the old well and many beams and tiles. There are several eating areas, one called “the secret garden” seats about 40 and a forecourt at the front with further 50 covers. The dining room seats about 50,

Having been closed since 2011, Maria and Elio, revived the eatery during the summer of this year, and have stamped their Mantra on the old well with an exciting menu. With rave reviews, and a trip advisor ranking of 29 from 911 Marbella restaurants, our expectations were very high.

But this was a “cool deal” visit, and for this, there was a special menu, which consisted of a choice of 4 starters to share, followed by 4 dishes from which to select your main. Comparing this to the menu proper where there are 26 starters and mains, made for an
unnecessarily restrictive process. OK let them charge a supplement
for certain dishes, but their object should be to WOW the diner.
There were many other dishes that I would have preferred to have tried. As it was we chose a Buckwheat salad with melon, apple, and nuts for our starter, and DB ordered the Entrecôte steak with potato wedge chips and mixed vegetables, and for me, the Dorado with a herb infused potato fondant and mixed vegetables, (see photo) Most of our meal was cooked and presented well, but I don’t think having the head of the fish on the plate added anything, and DB didn't realize when she ordered her meat ‘Poco Hecho’ (rare) that the steak would only be one centimetre thick, and therefore lost a lot of its juices and ended up somewhat chewy. Desserts for me a chocolate mousse, and for her, one of their signature dishes, Strawberries stuffed with Crème Brulèe with mango pieces, both were delicious.

Was our experience a-typical? Was it the principle chef cooking for us?, I don’t know.

The vital stats:
El Pozo Viejo can be found at Plaza Altamarino in Marbella old town
Reservations on 952822557 or email hola@elpozoviejo.com
Web site www.elpozoviejo.com
Their day of rest is Tuesday, and they open for Lunch and Dinner for the rest of the week
Underground parking in La Alameda or in Calle Felix Rodriguez
Average 3 course meal with wine, tip and cover charge 50€

Will we return to appraise a more normal visit, I am not sure,
but based on our cooldeal visit Bishlin marks out of 5:
Ambience 4
Menu 3
Food 3.5
Service 4
Value 4
O/A 3.5

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Atmosphere and Excellent Foods ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We had a dinner my self an my girlfriend in the beginning of November and we still remember very well this pearl of restaurant that we find in Marbella, from the beginning to the dessert we were felling like special guests,
from the service that is providing and the food that is simple fabulous and served with passion....

Thank you Maria for this outstanding experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trimingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“an unexpected find -the best sort !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

My wife and I had been wandering around the old town on our first visit to Marbella on Sunday 30th November.
Around 2 ish we were bushed and fancied a snack and a drink. Finding ourselves in a tiny piazza we were welcomed in to view the "secret garden"of the Old Well. We ended up having good food, hot and cold drinks and sweets. The restaurant has an outside dining area in the piazza, a small bar area, a cozy interior for dining and the lower courtyard, where we were content to sit and enjoy the freshly produced fare.

The proprietor was proud to use as locally sourced produce as he can get. The quality and flavor was witness to this.

An excellent find. A simple tuna and tomato salad with a pesto vinaigrette for her and a guacamole terrine with
Spanish ham chips. Prosecco, sherry,coffee and a chocolate mousse...left us impressed and sated.

Good food good venue.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“great food amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

such a pearl in Costa del Sol excellent food (pulpo a la gallega is a must) and friendly enviroment. Cant wait to go vack there soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Marbella secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We found this lovely restaurant in the old town through Groupalia- what a find!

We met Elio one of the owners & enjoyed a delicious lunch whilst he explained the history of the restaurant which has a well dating back to 1502!!

I will be back to sample their steaks!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pozo Viejo also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Pozo Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pozo Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.