We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Patio

Marbella Patio
C/ Virgen De Los Dolores 4, 29601 Marbella, Spain
+34 952 77 54 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 920 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You are welcome to enjoy traditional Spanish cuisine within the Andalucian atmosphere of our Patio.Bienvenido a Marbella Patio a donde puede conocer cocina Espanola y sentir el ambiente Andaluz.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My first "average" review! We must have just come at a bad time as our experience was not as great as other reviewers. The waitress seemed like she was not enjoying her job at all and would have much rather been somewhere else - looking at the type of customers that were in that night I dont really blame for having had enough and I could sympathise but it didnt really create a good ambience...
The young man who welcomed us into the restaurant was very sweet though and served up a great sangria! (definitely recommendable).
Food - was very average. The pil-pil tasted good but it was a shame it was such a tiny portion (definitely overcharged us there) I ordered the fillet steak as a treat for my birthday which was delicious but was just served with some boiled carrots, beans, and steamed potatoes - rustic cooking sure, but at way over 20euros I expected a bit more! My partner had the sole meuniere - the flavour was awful as it had been drenched in lemon and was way overcooked. Also served with overcooked vegetables and rice (??). For dessert we had the flan which was nice enough (can never really go wrong there).

In summary - the food falls into the category of rustic home-cooking and the owners think they can charge high prices because of their location, and close competitors. Sorry guys but your competitors are just better and would have much rather spent my birthday evening somewhere else!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro B, Gerente at Marbella Patio, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that we have not been able to meet your expectation. We strive for enjoyable and satisfied customers in which we unfortunately did not succeed in your case.We intend that our personnel always offer service with a smile and that they feel comfortable within their field of expertise.

We are a restaurant that offers traditional Spanish cuisine and we have never tried to be haute cuisine nor Michelin star. From 1980 on we have offer fresh product and price-quality up to our best possibilities. We do not compete with any, we only wish for customers to come and for them to remind and recommend us on basis of their positive experience at our restaurant.

I personally would have appreciated it, when I personally asked whether you were satisfied that you would have commented it was your birthday and as well your dissatisfaction in terms of the Sole Meuniere (which you got to know according to our recipe, with a sauce of butter, charlotte and lime). In reference to your birthday, we would have been able to prepare a little surprise, as we always do.

We respect and value all of the comments posted as they help us to improve. So we have noted yours as we believe it was honest and voluntary as accounts for all comments posted before and that will be posted after yours.

Pedro Barrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    57
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had planned to visit another restaurant over Christmas period only to find it closed.
Found the Marbella Patio close by was open & looked inviting.
This did not disappoint. Obviously popular as several tables were reserved but staff found us a table without a problem.
Excellent menu & wine choices enhansed by a free tapas starter and a free glass of cava at the end of the meal to wish us "Feliz Navidad".
Prompt service, great meal with happy staff - could not ask for better

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro B, Gerente at Marbella Patio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
On behalf of the whole team we would like to show our gratitute to guests who have shared their opinion on social media such as Tripadvisor because this enlightens us and simultaneously motivates us to continuously improve.

Special thanks for visiting us during the holiday period.

We are pleased to hear that your have enjoyed the food. Our objective is to satisfy our guests and we believe we can best do that by treating our guests profesionally, yet informal in order for them to feel 'at home' and to be comfortable during that special night out. Thank you for pointing that out.

Kind regards,
Pedro Barrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Stuffed is the word.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Having heard many people comment on the food there, Marbella Patio was our choice this week,
We were not disappointed, the staff were very attentive and the food was fantastic, the free tapa starters were just perfect for a cold evening.
by the time the Mains were coming out we were already quiet full, The house special(Suckling Pig) was one of the best I have ever tasted.
I will definitely be back in the future

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro B, Gerente at Marbella Patio, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank our guests who have posted positive feedback on social media such as Tripadvisor because this enlightens us and simultaneously motivates us to continuously improve.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our restaurant. A special thanks to recommending an commenting on one of our house specialities.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the (near)future

Kind regards,
Pedro Barrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Spanish Resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a great evening in Marbella Patio,, excellent hosts and very attentive we had a starter of a selection of his own tapas followed by Bay leg of lamb and sea Bass baked in salt..
The location is easy to find park in the La Pesquera car park.. take the lift up, when you come out turn right and just follow the street for about 100m and its on your left side.....Easy,,,, note the carpark closes at 12:30.....
Highly recomended if you want a traditional spanish meal with good hosts and average prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro B, Gerente at Marbella Patio, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank our guests who have posted positive feedback on social media such as Tripadvisor because this enlightens us and simultaneously motivates us to continuously improve.

Yes we are indeed representing the Spanish cuisine. Not only in terms of our dishes but as well by the ambience of our unique Andalusian Patio, as it is the only onto the ancient castle of Marbella.

The pleasure was ours and special thanks for posing the directions to Marbella Patio

Kind regards,
Pedro Barrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I spent 7 nights in Marbella and ate in this restaurant on 3 nights!
The food is extremely good, the staff are very friendly and attentive and the restaurant itself has a unique character, especially the section inside and to the back

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro B, Gerente at Marbella Patio, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank our guests who have posted positive feedback on social media such as Tripadvisor because this enlightens us and simultaneously motivates us to continuously improve.

Thank you for stressing the professionalism of our staff as well as the preciousness of Patio.

Kind regards,
Pedro Barrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marbella Patio also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Marbella Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.