We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Besaya

Finca Besaya
Rio Verde Alto, 29600 Marbella, Spain
34 952 86 13 82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 924 Restaurants in Marbella
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in a privileged spot on Marbella’s Costa del Sol in the foothills of the mountains, Finca Besaya offers Egyptian and international cuisine. Its three different areas allow clients to choose the option that suits them best. The bar has a relaxed atmosphere and is lively with conversation; the terrace is unbeatable for summer evenings; while the restaurant has a varied and attractive menu. Finca Besaya’s facilities also cater for special events. It will not disappoint diner that are used to long and unusual menus, where main courses cost around 40 Euros.
Sinai, Taba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

A beautiful setting away from the sleazy Marbella tourist traps, great food, best cocktails in town. Been there 5 times and will definitely come back for more.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    9
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous birthday party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We went to Finca Besaya for a birthday party. The location is exquisite; the food was fantastic and the music great. We were a at private party and had the whole of the place to ourselves prior to dinner and after dinner a private section cornered off for the party. The service was very good and the whole night was magical.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what is worse than one bad experience - TWO......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

decided to give Finca a second chance last night, but from the moment we walked in we were greeted by a cold staff reception all round. Not one member of staff all evening made any attempt to make conversation with us, they never smiled, everything was an effort. Minimum attention given, and staff actually spoke to ask for our order. If you aren't a regular, they don't want to know. Decided not to stay on after the meal due to the bad atmosphere. Wish we had donated the money to a charity.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Ambiance fantastic, food the same. Service absolutely dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were greeted by a rather frosty, portly, female maitre d’ who, for all the world, could have had the smile painted on her face. From our welcome I had the feeling that the evening was not going to go too well, but it was too late to back out. First impressions do count. The Maitre d´ asked if we would like to have a drink at the outside bar, which was in a lovely garden patio area. She then proceeded to lean against the wall and have a chat with a waitress. There was no-one serving at the bar and we waited ten minutes before managing to catch her eye to order our drinks. We then asked for the menu and requested that our order be taken before going to our table, but we were advised that we would have to go upstairs to order as the bar and the dining room were separate (that one beats me as our bar bill was included with our dinner bill!) The outside dining area is in a fantastic setting and I would have thought that, for a Friday night, it would have been very busy. People did start to trickle in but, when we left later on, it was by no means full, strange for such a long established restaurant. Perhaps they have events later on in the evening and that may supply an explanation. The waitress who initially served us must have rubbed shoulders with the old girl down stairs as she was just as frosty and asking for a change of vegetable and the sauce on the side was just too much for her to cope with. The starter was served by the same waitress in much the same surly fashion, however the main course was served by two male waiters who were very pleasant. The wine service was very poor but the meal was excellent.

Every time I go to a European restaurant that has female waiters it is always a disaster. Perhaps they feel that they are the ones who should be waited on, or it is beneath their station to be servile or attentive. Females, in my opinion, are definitely not suited to being waiters, except perhaps in the Greasy Spoon where courtesy and service is not as important as the price.

If they get a decent Maitre d’ and more trained male waiters, we would definitely give it another try but the service has to match up to the price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“regretful dining experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The service was among the worst I have experienced worldwide! Reservations were made 1 month in advance and a table with a view and on the patio was requested, we were sat between a door and a waitress station that had absolutely no view!!! When we asked to sit at one of the 15 other open tables, we were told that they were reserved! So we sat inside and by the time we left there was still 10 open tables outside we could have been at!!!! The food was absolutely not memorable and for the prices it should have been!!! TERRIBLE!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca Besaya also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Finca Besaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Besaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.