We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but had its downfalls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar to your Saves list
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Estrella del Mar. Las Chapas, Carretera Nacional 340. Km, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Southampton England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but had its downfalls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just arrived back from this hotel, having booked this hotel for are friends 50th and my 25 wedding anniversary we were a bit disappointed. The hotel itself is lovely with beautiful gardens and pools (not heated) rooms were big and very comfortable beds.we had a large balcony but when it rained we had a massive puddle in the middle of it which got very slippery,I spoke to reception several times but to no avail and after 3 days it had dried out. Staff were not of a 5 star standard,we had expected to a little treat for are friends 50th birthday as I contacted the hotel before we arrived but all we had was a complimentary bottle of water in the room for one day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Marbella and for sending us your opinions. We are pleased to know that you liked the swimming pools and the hotel´s gardens, as well as the size and comfort of the rooms. Our guest´s satisfaction is, surely, our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, that we did not meet all of your expectations and would like to inform you that we will bear close in mind your ideas: surely, they will help us improve the service we offer our guests.
We are sorry, as well, if your room´s terrace had puddles because of the hard rains that fell in the area and apologize if our staff did not immediately take care of this incident, as we always do in these situations.
We would also like to apologize if we did not treat your companion with some small token of congratulations whose birthday it was during your stay. Our staff normally review daily the dates of the our guest´s birthdays and usually leave some small token of congratulations in the room, so we apologize again if this did not happen and we will taken additional measures so it does not occur again.
Lastly, we would like to note that among the Beach Club´s facilities we have available a heated pool.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    213
    69
    26
    19
See reviews for
177
428
18
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights over Easter. Whilst clean and the staff were friendly, this hotel is clearly not a 5 star property. Tiny bar, only one restaurant open, a very basic room ideal for breakfast buffet!!. There is no direct access to the beach which is very misleading on the hotel website. The beach club is nice but small and expensive to use. The most disappointing aspect was the quality of bedrooms...dark, dull furnishings and the beds had thin, soft mattresses which lay on a wire spring base with wheels - like a roll away bed. Despite a number of calls to reception reporting it we were ignored. Overall not up to the calibre of its rating as a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Marbella and for sending your opinions. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the cleaning and the treatment you received from the staff, though we regret that we did not meet all of your expectations. We will bear close in mind your opinions and feedback in order to improve the service we daily offer our guests.
However, in regards to our restaurant service, we would like to inform you that, during Easter Week we opened our restaurant buffet, which is available for our guests next to the a la carte restaurant. Our staff provide information about these services during check-in, and we leave a personalized menu for guests in their room with the time table and services the hotel has available. We are sorry, though, if during your stay one of the restaurants was not open or if you were not properly informed of these services.
Regarding our location, we would like to mention that we are located 300 meters from the beach, as we explain on our web page.
Further, we are sorry that our Beach Club was not entirely to your liking. We would like to note that the reason that this facility is not included in the price of the room is because it is part of the additional services that the hotel offers. However, guests staying in the hotel can access the Beach Club and use its services (thermal circuit, gym, infinity pool, dressing room, bath kit, sun chair and parking) at a special rate.
We regret as well that the room you stayed in was not to your liking. In our establishment we have available different types (Junior Suite, Suite Duplex, superior, standard and adapted), so that those guests who are not pleased with the room they have been assigned can notify us and always in so far as it is possible we will offer them a change of room, trying at all moments to make their stay pleasant and enjoyable.
Lastly, we are sorry as well that you considered that our reception staff did not adequately handle your complaints. All of our staff are known for providing impeccable service and for taking care of at all times guest´s requests in order to provide them with a perfect stay, so we apologize if you felt that in your case it was not like this.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel is set about 5 km away from Central Marbella in a quiet residential area.
Across the A7 is the suburb of Elviria, with restaurants and shops, so you don't have to travel far if you don't want to, and Marbella/Puerto Banus is just a 5-10 minute drive away.
There is an attached Adults-Only Beach Club with an infinity pool looking onto amazing views. Spa and Thermal pools are available, as is a gymnasium. There is an attached restaurant with basic food, and drinks are delivered to your sun lounger.
However, walk out onto the beach in front of the Beach Club and you have a lovely local restaurant serving local spanish cuisine at great prices - Best memory was drinking sangria by the litre and chowing down on calamari in the lovely sunshine!
The hotel room was luxurious, with comfortable beds and a huge bathroom with rainfall showers and eqyptian-style bathtub.
I wasn't too impressed with the buffet breakfasts, and the selection was moderate. Unfortunately, the ala Carte restaurant (Baraka) was not open when we were there, though we had heard good things from other travellers.
The lobby bar was a little quite, (though they served a pretty decent club sandwich), though cocktails were decent and relatively cheap.
Surrounding the hotel are several beach clubs(e.g. The Beach House) and bars (La Higuera) within walking distance.
Overall a good relaxing trip away from the hustle and bustle. If you want to be more central, there is a sister hotel in central Marbella

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, and you can just walk out the screen door to it in your flip flops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing us and for sending us your feedback. It is a pleasure for us to read your opinions and know that the hotel was to your liking. We will pass on your words to the establishment´s entire staff. Surely, feedback like yours motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience in our hotels is pleasant and enjoyable.
Likewise, we will take note of your opinions in order to improve the service we daily offer our guests.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is elegant and almost austere on the simplicity of its Moroccan style architecture. Yet it is also extremely comfortable with places to lounge comfortably all over. I like cooked breakfasts, and the breakfast here is one of the best hotel breakfasts I have experienced. It is set off from Marbella which we appreciated but a car is definitely required. I would echo a previous negative reviewer in pointing out the absence of an effective concierge service. There really is zero help in finding out about the area other than pushing their own facilities. This however is what we have Trip Advisor to do, and it was not a serious drawback. Otherwise service is good and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen Vincci Hotels and for sending us your feedback. We are pleased to know that the hotel was to your liking, overall its decoration, comfort and breakfast buffet. Surely, our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in our establishments.
We regret, though, if you considered that the recommendations given by our staff were not adequate. We will bear close in mind your suggestions as they will help us improve the service we offer our guests.
However, we would like to mention that upon arrival we offer all of our guests tourist information about the area and also recommend plans and places of entertainment – among them, our own hotel – to those guests who request them. We are sorry if in your case you considered that our recommendations were insufficient or inadequate and we will take good note of your feedback in order to improve this aspect.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fully agree with previous comments - This is not on par with other 5 Star hotels, 3 or 4 at best.

Buffet selection was basic and level of service was abysmal. Not enough staff to deal with number of guests, long queues (30mins) and was left standing unattended for 10 mins while waiting for someone to prepare a table.

Room size and cleanliness was fine, however we had to call reception each day to ask them to replenish shower gel after they had made up our room. This is basic at this level and clearly something Vincci is unwilling to address despite negative reviews from other guests.

The hotel claims to have free use of gym facilities, however an exercise bike and a treadmill would not be considered a gym in any respectable 5 star hotel chain. You are of course invited to use the fully equipped gym at the beach club which is charged additionally - very disappointing and misleading.

The hotel service is however is the area that disappointed most. As a guest from abroad you would expect the reception staff or concierge to demonstrate both interest and knowledge of the area ie. places to see, restaurants etc. The staff lacked any knowledge whatsoever, or couldn't be bothered to help, and simply recommended the use of the beach club (again!) or meals in the hotel restaurant, which resembled more of a school canteen environment.

During checkout we had to wait for over 30 mins for our luggage to be brought from our room to the lobby. The staff made no attempt explain or apologize for the inconvenience and basic customer service such as asking whether we enjoyed our stay was completely ignored.

As mentioned in a previous review. Parking is also always full, therefore you either have to attempt to park outside the hotel in a back road or pay for the hotel parking. You are not informed that the hotel parking has a cost (not indicated anywhere or during checkin) - you are simply presented with the charges during checkout.

Will definitely not be returning - there are much better options available in Marbella! A hotel for the undemanding traveller...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen Vinnci Hotels and for having decided to publish your opinions and feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the size and cleanliness of our rooms, but deeply regret that the rest of the aspects of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that we will bear close in mind your feedback and ideas in order to improve our service and adapt ourselves as best as possible to the tastes and preferences of our guests.
We are sorry firstly that you were not satisfied with our restaurant service and reiterate that we will bear close in mind your opinions in order to continue improving. At all times we try to offer a varied and top quality selection so all of our guests can find something that they find appetizing. We are sorry that in your case it was not like this and we will take note in order to improve.
We would also like to add that we always try to provide our staff with the number of guests in the hotel in order to guarantee an impeccable service and avoid any type of delay. So we apologize if perhaps your stay coincided with a very busy moment and it was not always like this.
Regarding our cleaning service, we would like you to know that the established timetable is from 08:00 to 16:00. However, those guests who need their room to be cleaned as early as possible can request it at reception and our staff will take care of their request.
Further, we would like to clarify that for environmental reasons the bath products are only replaced when they are about to finish. In any case, those guests who would like to have more products of this sort can request them at reception and we will provide them.
Regarding our gym, we would like to mention that it is a completely free facility for hotel guests and remains open 24 hours a day. Amongst its machines, it includes a treadmill, dumbbells, elliptical trainer, exercise bike and weights. Along with this, we offer those guests who wish, the possibility of using our Beach club Estrella del Mar, included within our additional cost services. This facility, which guests staying in the hotel can enter at a special rate, has as well a thermal circuit, infinity pool, dressing room, bath kits, sun chairs and parking.
We would also like to mention that upon arrival we offer all of our guests tourist information about the city and, as well, we recommend restaurants and other places to eat – among them, our restaurants—to those guests who request it. We are sorry if in your case you considered that our recommendations were insufficient or inadequate.
Furthermore, we would like to apologize if upon your departure from the hotel you had to wait for your luggage to be moved from the room to the lobby and would like to inform you that this delay was probably due to the bellhops carrying out another service. To avoid waits and to be able to offer a service with maximum punctuality, we always recommend to our guests that they request this service as much ahead of time as possible.
Lastly, we would like to clarify that we have outdoor parking available that is completely free and also indoor parking for an additional cost. Our staff inform all guests interested in using it about its conditions and prices, so we are sorry if in your case this did not happen and if at the time of your departure from the hotel it had not yet been sufficiently clarified that it was a service with an additional cost.
We are at your service for whatever you may need.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Clean , quite , wonderfull spa, and above all- the best team for the best service esspecially the girl at the rexeption-Lorena Rebollo who made for us reservations for our next destination.Breakfast was amasing with a great selection of food , 3 pools and a very short distance walk to the beach

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice room and bathroom with garden terrace overlooking a quiet pool area with views out to sea. We found this to be perfect at this time of year as the Hotel was very quiet. A short stroll to the beach with restaurants and the beach club.....2 free passes to the beach club came in very handy on dull days, it was so quiet we had the whole spa to ourselves for about an hour one afternoon which was lovely.
We ate in the Hotel restaurant a couple of times and really enjoyed it, the staff are nice and friendly and the food was good, there are nice restaurants on the beach and along the main road...The Playwrite and San Martinos are very good. If you have a car a trip to Mijas on a nice clear day is well worth while.
The Hotel is difficult to find in the dark by sat nav, we phoned the Hotel who gave us the road name and that took us straight to it. Try to find this out before you set off as it wasn't in the address on our booking sheet.
Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Only go for a ground floor room if you don't mind the odd person passing by your terrace to go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar

Address: Urbanizacion Estrella del Mar. Las Chapas, Carretera Nacional 340. Km, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#3 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vincci Selección Estrella del Mar 5* is a Luxury 5-Star establishment belonging to the Vincci Hoteles chain. The Vincci Selección Estrella del Mar is located in Marbella, 8 km from downtown and 43 km from Malaga airport. The hotel is set in an exceptional location in the heart of the Costa del Sol, in the area known as “Elviria–Las Chapas”, regarded as one of the town's most desirable spots and near what is considered the best beach on this part of the coast.Built in a modern Mediterranean style with Arab influence, it has 137 rooms and suites, all imbued with Vincci Hoteles trademark style and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion Estrella Del Mar Hotel Marbella
Vincci Hotel Marbella
Seleccion Estrella Del Mar Vincci

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.