We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar

Save Saved
You added Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Estrella del Mar. Las Chapas, Carretera Nacional 340. Km, 29604 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 hotels in Marbella
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“FANTASTIC HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and could not have chosen a better hotel. We are regular visitors to Elviria, usually staying at either the Alanda Club or the Marriott Beach Club. We opted for a smaller boutique style hotel, where the focus is on luxury and our choice was perfect.
The pool areas are fantastic, with a choice of very comfortable loungers or double day beds - we used both & the pools themselves are fantastic. We only dined in the hotel for lunch, which was excellent, and the pool bar was very handy & made great cocktails.

We would definitely stay at the Vincci again - the rooms are lovely, the food very good, pool area amazing, the perfect location for a romantic break in wonderful surroundings. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    191
    61
    22
    19
See reviews for
152
380
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The rooms were very stylish and spacious. The 3 pools all looked lovely. The gardens and grounds were well maintained and it was a 10 min car journey to the centre of Marbella. The new beach club was less than 5 mins walk. The beach itself was well maintained and full of good restaurants and bars.

The staff were all extremely helpful except the waiting staff at breakfast who all just seemed very busy but not with providing you with efficient service.

Superficially this hotel looks great but really lacked social areas. The hotel bar appeared to be an after thought and was very expensive.

We did not eat at the hotel except for the breakfast. The food provided did not match the hotels 5 star status. Some of the fruit was tinned, and the selection of items fairly basic.

We had a problem with a smelly drain in our first room but were moved and the problem dealt with well. The rooms were lovely and were very well maintained.

The beach club was well resources but we decided it was too expensive when compared with the facilities on the beach.

Overall this hotel looks the part and was full of glamour but it lacked soul. A great place to stay if you are happy to travel out of the hotel in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our location, rooms, pool, gardens, beach and staff were all to your liking. Without a doubt, our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we in Vincci Hotels work for every day.
We regret, however, that we did not meet all your expectations and that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay. In this regard, we would like you to know that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments always with the aim of improving.
We would like to clarify though that we try to make sure our communal areas are pleasant, peaceful and comfortable for all our guests. In any case, those guests who wish can enjoy the live performances we offer in the outdoor area of our bar, open every night.
Regarding our breakfast buffet, it consists of both hot and cold products (fresh fruit, salads, cold meats, pies, pastries, cakes, cereals, churros, sausages, scrambled eggs, eggs and omelets, among many other products). If a guest wishes for some other product they can mention it and in so far as it is possible we will try to provide it for them.
Lastly, we would like to clarify that our Beach Club is part of the additional services that the hotel offers as is indicated on our website and in our informative brochures. However, guests staying in the hotel can access the Beach Club and make use of its services (thermal circuit, gym, infinity pool, dressing room, toiletry kit, beach chairs and parking) at a special rate.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

11 days half board 2 to 13 Sept 2012 in Room 131. Brilliant in every way apart from location. A great hotel for a break if you do not want to see the countryside but simply sit and read by the pool or sea.You need to hire a car to get around the area. Taxi into and out of Marbella cost 28 euros. Buses are few and far between. The hotel is just on the edge of Marbella (8 km from the centre) and the next town east, Elvira. There is a superb beach 3 minutes away where you can walk for miles in either direction. The Beach Club also has its own small private beach but it is very busy and difficult to get a sun bed. They are also very close to each other with not much room to breathe. The restaurant, like the A la Carte at the hotel, excellent for either lunch or dinner. When we were there the Club restaurant was open in the evening Mon, Tues and Wed whilst the hotel a la carte was open Thurs, Fri, Sat and Sun. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and would go again without hesitation but as we are elderly and cannot hire a car we felt a bit "cut off"

Room Tip: We had a room in the east side and the evening sun was so hot we could not sit in the Balcony until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that our a la carte restaurant was especially to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s stay in our hotels continues to be pleasant and enjoyable.
We regret, however, that you were not entirely pleased with certain aspects of your stay. In this regard, we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, always with the aim of improving.
In any case, we would like to clarify with respect to our location that we are 250 meters from the beach, 8km from the centre of Marbella and 1 kilometer from the Elviria shopping centre, where one can find a wide range of shops and restaurants. This zone, in a more secluded area, gives our establishment the tranquility that many of our guests are looking for. Those guests who wish to travel to Marbella can do so by car, taxi or bus.
We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

As so much has been said before I'll bullet point the good and not so good points:

Good:
Really dedicated friendly staff
Comfortable spotless rooms
Lots of Sunbeds by the three pools
Very close to beach
Decent evening buffet

Not so good:
Location - Taxi is €15/20 to Marbella and not much choice for restaurants locally so if you are here for a week it's an expensive treat
Only one barman on duty at night
Very poor lunch/snack selection
Lacking atmosphere on the evenings when no entertainment provided

Suggestion:
Provide a daily shuttle bus service to Marbella






  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and comments regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was pleasant and that our rooms, swimming pool area and staff were all to your liking. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we in Vincci Hotels work for every day.
We regret, however, that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay and would like you to know that we will bear close in mind your observations as surely they will help us continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
We would like to clarify though that with respect to our location we are 250 meters from the beach, 8km from the centre of Marbella and 1 kilometer from the Elviria shopping centre, where one can find a wide range of shops and restaurants. This zone, in a more secluded area, gives our establishment the tranquility that many of our guests are looking for. In any case we have performances for those guests who would like to see live shows.
Regarding our restaurant selection, we would like to note that, with the aim of being able to offer our guests a wide range of top quality products, we have a buffet restaurant, a la carte restaurant, as well as our Beach Club´s a la carte restaurant. We have, as well, two bars, one of which is open until 02:00.
We are at your disposal for anything you may need.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

i was there on the 22 of august for ten days, what i can tel is that every thing was perfect: front office, restaurant, bar,beach club, valet parking came up verry handy. nothing to say except for the room service: i tried to order food three times at around 1 am after getting back to the hotel, it was impossible!
but i definitly recommand the hotel,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments and feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that our facilities were to your liking. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience in our hotels is pleasant and enjoyable.
We regret, however, if our room service was not entirely to your liking and would like you to know that we will bear close in mind your comments with the idea of improving it. However, we would like to clarify that our room service is available 24 hours a day and that those guests who wish to use it can make their requests by telephone or directly at reception.
We are at your complete disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Took a short 3 day break to this Hotel, and its simply stunning! the whole place is spotlessly clean, its beautifully decorated, and the grounds are well tended, about 300 yards from a lovely secluded beach, the food is wonderful, with a great choice,
but the greatest praise is reserved for the staff, the management should be proud of them all, from the cleaner to the manager, and everyone in between, the service is the best I've ever encountered, (and we are pretty well traveled) each & every member of staff we met, were, friendly,polite and helpful, we had a wonderful time, Cant recommend this hotel highly enough. absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Vincci hotel is set in Eviria a residential area in Marbella. Whilst the exterior is rather ugly and sombre, the inside was very elegant, designed and decorated exquisitely.

 The walk down to the beach was just five minutes, although we expected the hotel be set on the sea front. 

We ate lunch every day at a super beach bar called Lido, next to the beach club. Prices realistic, food very good and service was excellent. We tried dinner at Las Banderas, on the next street down. The food was good but there was no atmosphere

You do need a car if you want to enjoy the area. Taxi to Marbella cost us 18 euros each way. 

The Good
-All staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you

- The room was huge, the largest bed I have seen. The bathroom had an oval bath big enough for 2  and a powerful rainforest shower. With a big balcony kitted out with the latest rattan furniture. The bed was the comfiest I have slept in with pure cotton bedding and a choice of pillows

-The breakfast offered plenty of choices of fruit, cheeses and hams. Chefs making eggs and omelettes on the show stand . Even champagne!!!!

- very comfortable sun loungers and double balinese beds to relax on. There were still plenty of beds at mid day so no need to rise early.  

-The adult only pool was a welcome haven 

The not so Good
- paying extra for the beach club seemed a rip off.Need to just charge for the gym as other hotels do. The extra 25 euro isn't worth it

-wifi is very patchy and coverage is poor, limited to a small area of the bar and not by the pool as I was told by reception. Room wifi would be good and expected for a hotel of 5 stars

- disappointed with lunch, a poor choice available. Poor salad. Pool snacks would have been nice (other than a selection of three tapas)

- there was a no sun bed reservation policy but it wasn't checked by the pool staff. The few Balinese beds that there were were reserved by towels by 8am but nobody came down until 1030, and again kept reserved over three hour lunches  

Overall, we found our three days at this hotel pure relaxation. It's very peaceful away from the buzz of Marbella.

- I would definitely come back but for a longer holiday next time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments and feedback regarding our establishment. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that our facilities, atmosphere, breakfast and staff were all to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience in our hotels continues being pleasant and enjoyable.
We regret, however, that you were not entirely happy with some aspects and want you to know that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and feedback, always with the aim of improving.
We apologize as well if during your stay there was a specific problem with the Wifi connection that caused the inconveniences you describe and we would like to let you know that we are currently working to improve this service with the goal of achieving greater customer satisfaction.
Regarding our Beach Club, we would like to mention that the reason this facility is not included in the price of the room is because it is part of the additional services offered by the hotel, as is indicated on our website and in our brochures. However, staying guests can access the Beach Club and use its services (thermal circuit, gym, infinity pool, dressing room, toiletry kit, beach chairs and parking) at a special price.
With respect to our hammocks, we would like to note that it is not permitted to reserve them. Our staff try at all times to make sure this norm is respected and that all users of the pool can enjoy them in total comfort and tranquility. We apologize if, in spite of our efforts, during your stay some guests did not follow this rule and caused problems for the rest.
Regarding our restaurant service, we would like to point out that we have a buffet restaurant and an a la carte restaurant, in addition to the Beach Club´s a la carte restaurant, with the aim of guaranteeing that our guests are offered wide and varied range of top quality choices.
Lastly, we would like to clarify with respect to our location that we are 250 meters from the beach and 8km from the center of Marbella. Those guests who would like to shorten the distance to the beach can request to travel using our internal shuttle service to our Beach Club, located on the beachfront.
We would be delighted to welcome you again soon to our establishment.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar

Address: Urbanizacion Estrella del Mar. Las Chapas, Carretera Nacional 340. Km, 29604 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#3 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vincci Selección Estrella del Mar 5* is a Luxury 5-Star establishment belonging to the Vincci Hoteles chain. The Vincci Selección Estrella del Mar is located in Marbella, 8 km from downtown and 43 km from Malaga airport. The hotel is set in an exceptional location in the heart of the Costa del Sol, in the area known as “Elviria–Las Chapas”, regarded as one of the town's most desirable spots and near what is considered the best beach on this part of the coast.Built in a modern Mediterranean style with Arab influence, it has 137 rooms and suites, all imbued with Vincci Hoteles trademark style and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion Estrella Del Mar Hotel Marbella
Vincci Hotel Marbella
Seleccion Estrella Del Mar Vincci

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.