We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply the best restaurant in Marbella.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Messina

Restaurante Messina
Av. Severo Ochoa, 12, Marbella, Spain
952 86 48 95
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 818 restaurants in Marbella
Price range: $50 - $86
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best restaurant in Marbella.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We always visit Messina when we are in Marbella, it is fine dining at its best. Service is amazing and menu never dissapoints. Excellent value for money and deserves it's status as best restuarant in Marbella.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    269
    48
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The restaurant from outside does not look great and is not the nicest part of Marbella.The menu is very different to what we were used to and i think on your first visit you should try the taster menu which is 75euro per head . We struggled to find food we liked andwere excited about and ended up with boring old steak which was good but not my no 1 choice for a meal but equally the goats neck did not sound right.More explanation of the different foods would have helped service very good

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Superb and innovative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went twice in January 2013. The food is exquisite, so is the wine. The serving was very innovative - I shall not reveal too much here... I had a "soupe poularde", with an egg yolk. They poured hot soup onto it slowly - at the table - so the yolk cooked in the steamin hot fluid. The colour scheme is subdued - I have seen this in other gourmet restaurants as well. it gives peace and focus on the food and drink. Wonderful, comfortable chairs. The service was of course excellent, lovely young ladies in some specially designed (?) black, short dresses, both sophisticated and sort of sweet. When will they get a Michelin Star?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had to organize a sales meeting for our EMEA team as well as colleagues form the US and after many menus and checking out the only five star restaurants open in January in Marbella, Messina caught my eye from the start here on Tripadvisor. Pia, the owners wife, shared many emails with me, constructing a menu which would appeal to all 34 of us, including vegetarians. We were also able to chose all the wine for the evening beforehand and again, the friendliness of the staff and efficiency amazed. Something, that can be adrift in the UK these days. The food looked and tasted beautiful, different flavours wonderfully combined and presented in a very creative manner. The only thing I would like to point out is, that if somebody has a larger appetite, this might not appeal. The portions are very danty and elegant, but certainly not on the big side or what one might be used from other good restaurants. It reminded me more of a combination of appetizers and starters. Never the less, a very good place to come to and should not be missed when being in Marbella. Very close to the gorgeous Old Town, with its own Andalucian charm and beauty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely romantic intimate restaurant with exquisite food and service. I am a massive foodie and travel all over the world to sample Michelin star restaurants. It's well priced with a large meal for 2 and bottle of wine costing around 150 euros. Real fine dining!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Messina also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Messina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.