We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and innovative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Messina

Restaurante Messina
Av. Severo Ochoa, 12, Marbella, Spain
952 86 48 95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 949 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $86
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Superb and innovative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went twice in January 2013. The food is exquisite, so is the wine. The serving was very innovative - I shall not reveal too much here... I had a "soupe poularde", with an egg yolk. They poured hot soup onto it slowly - at the table - so the yolk cooked in the steamin hot fluid. The colour scheme is subdued - I have seen this in other gourmet restaurants as well. it gives peace and focus on the food and drink. Wonderful, comfortable chairs. The service was of course excellent, lovely young ladies in some specially designed (?) black, short dresses, both sophisticated and sort of sweet. When will they get a Michelin Star?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    63
    22
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had to organize a sales meeting for our EMEA team as well as colleagues form the US and after many menus and checking out the only five star restaurants open in January in Marbella, Messina caught my eye from the start here on Tripadvisor. Pia, the owners wife, shared many emails with me, constructing a menu which would appeal to all 34 of us, including vegetarians. We were also able to chose all the wine for the evening beforehand and again, the friendliness of the staff and efficiency amazed. Something, that can be adrift in the UK these days. The food looked and tasted beautiful, different flavours wonderfully combined and presented in a very creative manner. The only thing I would like to point out is, that if somebody has a larger appetite, this might not appeal. The portions are very danty and elegant, but certainly not on the big side or what one might be used from other good restaurants. It reminded me more of a combination of appetizers and starters. Never the less, a very good place to come to and should not be missed when being in Marbella. Very close to the gorgeous Old Town, with its own Andalucian charm and beauty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a lovely romantic intimate restaurant with exquisite food and service. I am a massive foodie and travel all over the world to sample Michelin star restaurants. It's well priced with a large meal for 2 and bottle of wine costing around 150 euros. Real fine dining!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to Restaurante Messina back in 2008, and circumstances have stopped us returning.
We went to see our daughter in Spain at Christmas and on our last night we asked if she would drive us to this Restaurant.
To cut a long story short, it was even better than we remembered...if that is possible. And, the Chef's Wife can speak English even better than before, although our daughter chatted quite happily, and at length, to her in Spanish.
The only drawback, was that the pudding, Vesuvius, was not on the Menu, but it didn't matter as every mouthful was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“First the bad news”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

It's terrible to park nearby even in low season ( so maybe use a cab) and the lighting is very dull inside. However the staff (4 young women when we visited) are very welcoming and the food is terrific, and beautifully served. For main course we ( bravely we thought) tried neck of baby goat, Iberian pork and pigeon. All were delicious! Excellent selection of mainly red wines at sensible prices. In our view, well worth the very high Tripadvisor rating. Cost per head 63 e.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Messina also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Messina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.