We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous peaceful break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Real Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Real Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Rio Real Golf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Golf Rio Real S/N, 29603 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous peaceful break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This boutique hotel has fabulous communal spaces that, due to the hotel being so small, you can often enjoy alone with no other guests around. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are fantastic!

On our first visit we were shocked to see the small pool and sun terrace however having spent two holidays here I can confirm that there is more than enough space! The staff are very attentive with breakfast and lunch by the pool being excellent and the restaurant is outstanding.

This is a perfect hideaway for couples - it is quiet and not really a place for families. Golf is also great (apparently!)

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

just returned from 5 nights at rio real marbella and loved it...lovely hotel,great location,wonderful staff and pretty but tricky golf course..we stayed in a birdie suit which was a great sized room overlooking the 11th fairway..breakfast was fab and you"re just a short drive into marbella where there are ample restaurants top eat at...approx 35 mins from airport and very easy to find from the motorway...highly recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We spent 5 days here in September 09. The place is beautiful. The room is one of the best we have ever stayed in. The golf was very good and it is a short taxi ride into Marbella. The only downside the main restaurant was closed in the evening which was a shame.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

This place has only few rooms as it is part of a golf complex. All in all we had a pleasant experience, although the place is tailored mainly for people playing golf. It is 5 minutes by car from Marbella centre where there are several parking facilities at a reasonable price. Our room (suite) was very large with a big bathroom and a very nice balcony with table and chairs overlooking the golf court. Food was average and the staff was nice, although the overall standard it’s not 5 star. There is a nice pool (although not very big) and just next to the golf court. I am not sure how this place will work without a car, so it will be worth asking about taxis to and from Marbella prior to booking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from the Rio Real.

We went simply to chill out and relax in the sunshine (we are from Dublin where its never sunny!!) and it was a perfect location for doing this.

The hotel is situated in a very nice residential area of Marbella. As it is in a residential area there are no surrounding shopping or transportation facilities.

However, it is less than a 10 minute taxi ride into the centre of Marbella (which costs 10 euro) and a 10 minute taxi ride to Marbella Coach Depot (also 10 euro)

The best option for getting to this hotel from Malaga Airport (other than car or taxi) is to avail of the Portillo Coach Service which departs on the hour from just outside the arrivals hall at Malaga Airport. The trip to Marbella Bus Depot takes 45 minutes and costs 4 euro 30 cent per person. - A taxi to the hotel can then be taken from outside the Bus Depot.

The hotel itself is spotless and in excellent condition throughout.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent (although a little expensive) The pool, which is located on the roof of the hotel, although small, is fine for a dip and the surrounding lounge area is divided into two sections - one around the pool and the other just off poolside and a little more secluded.

The views from the pool area and breakfast/dinner terraces are excellent and overlook the hotel golf course. Although we did not use the golf facilities the course looks beautiful and very well managed.

Overall I would strongly recommend the Rio Real Hotel if you are looking to relax in a very clean, modern, quiet hotel.

Although having a car would be advisable if you wish to explore Marbella centre or surrounding areas its not essential as outlined above.

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I agree with the other reviewers that the room is really lovely. The bathroom and shower is particularly good. And the hotel location, overlooking a golf course, is very serene.

What lets this hotel down is the service....or lack thereof. I realise it is not 'peak season' so perhaps one would expect a lower staffing level. But at a five hotel, and one that doesn't 'discount' during the shoulder season, you would expect better service.

For example:

1. Upon arrival, at 3 pm, there was no one at the reception desk. After wondering around looking for someone, a security guard appeared. He called someone, and 10 minutes later, the front desk manager finally appeared.

2. Food service is not offered by the pool.

3. The restaurant was closed leaving only the golf 'snack bar' available for food.

4. Room service stopped at 6:30 pm.

5. Breakfast selection was very poor - cold cereals; canned fruit salad; bread at the "buffet". And a limited a-la-carte menu selection.

6. Although the hotel was only 20% occupied, a request for a later check-out (2 pm) was denied on grounds that there "hotel was going to be full". I rather they just say no then outright lying.

I'm sure the service and amenities are much better during the summer months. But I certainly wouldn't risk going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We spent a long weekend at the Rio Real Golf resort in May , we had wanted closer to Marbella but other than the fact taht we didn't have a car (a mistake) it wasnt a real problem as teh cabs to Marbella were c10euros and at least we could relax! Cost to and from Malaga airport c65euros.(each way) The hotel is wonderful; neither of us play golf and it ceratainly isn't necessary; they reduced the cost of our room by 20euros as we were golfing but all tehe golfers we met said it was wonderful. We choose this hotel because it has a spa and looks classy; we were not disappointed. Nothing is too much trouble, the beds ;especially the pillows are absolutely wonderful we have never slept so well! I always take my own pillow even if staying in 5star (which we always try to do) but here it really is not necesary and so next time (and there will be a next time) I wil have more room for shoes in my case! They had a special offer of a free massage when we went and I really wish we had taken them earlier in our break as they were so wonderful we both would have had more but we left it to the afternoon before we left so we had no chance but I can not recommend them more highly. My partner and I both said taht we had never had better! He has a large muscle frame taht is hard to work and I just love being pampered so we both wanted different things but we very very happy; he actually fell asleep; I managed to stay away and enjoy it all! The breakfast is wonderful; fresh fruit and usual in buffet plus hot etc from menu; all incl in price. The palce is a haven of tranquility , we only had lunch once; on our day of arrival but it was teh best ceasar salad we have ever had! They dont do evening meals after 7/8 which just means you can enjoy all that Marbella old town has to offer. Thankyou Rio Real; we will defenitely return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Real Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Real Golf Hotel

Address: Urbanizacion Golf Rio Real S/N, 29603 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Real Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rio Real Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Real Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.