We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reply to Carl 16 July 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Real Golf Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rio Real Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Real Golf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Golf Rio Real S/N, 29603 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Marbella
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reply to Carl 16 July 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We are regulars at the restaurant and the bar as we live by the golf course of Rio Real .
The cats are NOT stray and the are resident of the hotel and very lovely and they Do NoT annoy any one !
We love the the cats here and so dose all the other regular customers and we look forward to seeing them

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel surroundings are gorgeous but the room we had required extensive updating as it was very dark and the TV was old with a bad signal.

No kettle in the room to make tea/coffee or free still water which after staying in numerous hotels should be essential. Mini bar prices are also over priced as well as the breakfast.

Had to ask reception for an iron and ironing board as there is none in the room. Was told another guest was using it and had to wait 45 mins!

When we did receive the iron the first time, the plate had come away and was very dangerous which resulted in us having to wait another while to receive a replacement.

The hotel is not cheap so small things which you expect in a standard hotel should be essentials at Rio Real.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay from last year. We endeavour everyday to improve our quality of service and facilities, it is very important for us to hear all comments from our guests.

Some improvements have been done in 2013.

New flat screen TV´s have been installed in every room. Also, we reinforced our ironing assests in order to match our guests needs.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Marbella.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Rio Real hotel with a friend from 20th May to 24th May. The 40 min coach transport link from Malaga airport to Marbella was very good at 8 euros per person and then it was a short taxi ride to the resort costing 10-15 euros.

The hotel staff were very pleasant on arrival. The Par Superior room was amongst the best hotels I have stayed in, clean and spacious featuring free Wifi and an amazing view from the balcony of 11th hole.

The golf course was a good challenge for golfers of all levels and the green keepers were out early every morning to ensure it is kept in prestige condition.

The breakfast included was limited but you could pay for optional extras. The lunch and dinner was very good quality and value for money.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone whether you play golf or are just looking for a quality boutique hotel a short taxi ride to Marbella town. I will certainly be returning in the near future.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review and for awarding us such fantastic ratings.

Also for all the information and photos that you have included in your review, which we trust any traveller will find very useful.

It is great to hear that you would recommend our hotel and you would return.

Thank you once again from all staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Río Real Golf Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapellen belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Been here for one week. Great golfcourse. THE hotel is small, with big nice rooms. We had a birdy suite which was amazing. Personell is friendly and THE restaurant has excellent food. We booked via pinhigh THE semi all in formula. Would recommend not to do this since there are restrictions on menu and you have to pay for any additions on breakfast and if you want to eat something else. So the extra money for this formula is not worth the value, and food and drinks are at reasonable prices. It is nice place to play golf and relax. Evenings are a bit boring there since there are not so many people and there is no nightlife, no music etc. But Marbella is very close, 15 euro with taxi. Complained about THE beds because THE matrasses were old, but they changed these the same day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Río Real Golf Hotel.

Regarding our breakfast service, our restaurant offers two different types. The one included in your reservation was continental breakfast, but we also offer the option of adding A la Carte to our guests by paying a small suplement.

We endeavour everyday to improve our quality of service and it is very important for us to hear all comments from our guests.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Río Real Golf Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying It was in general a nice hotel. Location is good, right on the golf course, and our room (Eaglesuite) was pretty gourgious. But there were too many small things not good to be really happy in the end.
First of all there was no wifi in the room although the hotel advertises with free wifi in the whole place. I complained at the reception and the answer was that the signal was the strongest on the groundfloor. Oké, but we're not staying on the groundfloor, so what are you going to do about that? Well, nothing.
Second there was continental breakfast included in the roomrate. That was quite a disappointment because the breakfast included was actually a croissant, a piece of toast and some butter and jelly. If you wanted some yoghurt, fruit or eggs you had to pay extra.
Third we booked some tee off-times and after 2 rounds on the Rio Real course we wanted to switch the 3th round to another golf course nearby. It was more than 48 hours before our tee off-time when we wanted to cancel but the simple answer was no. You booked so you have to pay. Not very customerfriendly if people are staying 9 days at your hotel and play several times on your golf course.
Last but not least I was annoyed by the poor english that the most staffmembers speak and the lack of kindness from the manager. Every time I had to ask something at the frontdesk he made me feel like it was too much or that my questions were annoying. Not the feeling you want on your holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. Kralingen,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Río Real Golf Hotel.

First of all, I would like to apologize for those inconveniences that you mentioned.

As you say, WIFI connection is advertised and offered as a free service. In case the signal does not reach every room in the hotel, a reseting of the router can be done after we realize of the problem. Once the reseting is done, connection is provided to every location in the building again. The reason of why this reseting in necessary, is due to the number of connection that the router handles, also that it is connected 24h. a day, so at some point it might need to be turned off and on again. If there is a major problem with the wireless connection, we also provide every guest with the posibility of using the computer which is in the lobby.

Our restaurant offers two different type of breakfast. The one you purchased is continental breakfast, but we also offer the option of adding A la Carte to our guests by paying a small suplement. Both types of breakfast are offered in our website.

Due to our golf club policy, cancellations or modifications for individual bookings must be notified with a minimum of 5 days in advance. We did our best to modify your reservation, but at this time we are in the middle of golf high season.

We endeavour everyday to improve our quality of service and facilities. It is very important for us to hear all comments from our guests.

We trully hope to have the opportunity of greeting you again in the future at Rio Real Golf Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd visit to the Rio Real Hotel & Golf and we just love this hotel. Yes, some of the rooms should get a make over and appear a bit old but the hotel compensates more than enough with its charm. Staff is super friendly, great breakfast, restaurant is very good etc... The swimming pool area is very quiet and great to relax. Pool is small but mst people are there to relax post golf anyway. The golf course is great by the way. We will be back....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of Río Real Golf Hotel and for awarding us such fantastic ratings; it is great to hear that you would return.

Also for all the information you have included in your review, which we trust any traveller will find very useful.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Río Real Golf Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The only positive thing about this hotel, was the fact that our room was beautiful and spacious,
If you do not play golf this is not the hotel for you, the pool was no bigger than a postage stamp, the loungers had no mattresses on, only a towel, which became very uncomfortable after a while, the food was very well presented, and of a high quality, unfortunately we were the only 2 people dining, apart from 2 stray cats constantly moving around our table and meowing!!!
Would have been nice to have had music playing while we were eating, and some ambient lighting. Also a car is a must, miles from anywhere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Río Real Golf Hotel.

Our facilities are on size according to hotel capacity (30 rooms) and of exclusive use by our hotel guests.

We really appreciate your comments about our restaurant area and we will pass this information to our F&B manager in order to improve our service.

We endeavour everyday to improve our quality of service and facilities. It is very important for us to hear all comments from our guests.

Thanks again, we would be really glad to greet you in our hotel on your next visit to Marbella.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Real Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Real Golf Hotel

Address: Urbanizacion Golf Rio Real S/N, 29603 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Real Golf Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rio Real Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Real Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.