We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very value for money family run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Finlandia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Finlandia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Finlandia
Notario Luis Oliver, 12, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Marbella B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very value for money family run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a nice 1 star hotel run by Jose' and his family. Jose' is a very friendly guy always ready to help and give you the right advices about where to go and eat. The room we got was big enough and clean like the bathroom. Moreover our room had also a nice terrace with a table and two chairs, which I really appreciated when using my laptop with the free wi-fi provided. The hotel is very well positioned as it's very close to the beaches and the city centre too and the road where it is it's very quiet. From the bus station is very easy to get there as the bus station (Alameda) is just 200/300 metres from the hotel. Even if the hotel doesn't provide breakfast it's surrounded by bars where you can have nice "tostadas" and fresh orange juices. It was definitively a value for money choice for us and I would recommend it to anyone who would like to spend some day in Marbella.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have just spent a week at the Hotel Finlandia as part of a superb JoeDaisy Painting Course led by Caroline Hulse. The hotel, run by Jose and his wife Emma ably assisted by Jose's father, couldn't have been more welcoming. A real home from home perfectly situated in a friendly and safe neighbourhood close to the beach and the old town.I stayed in a studio apartment with a lounge, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and balcony. It was modestly furnished , with everything I could need - all spotlessly clean. The air conditioning worked perfectly and was whisper quiet. Jose even gave me a standard fan for added coolness in the hot weather. I was lucky to also pick up a good wi-fi signal from my balcony, although it was best in the lounge where via the wonders of satellite tv I was able to catch up on Andy Murray's progress.
I would not hesitate to return to this gem of a hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was my second time with friends in hotel Finlandia. Very nice, clean, and the location is exellent !! Staff, owners, is really friendly and helps when ever you ask something. This hotel is very good value for your money. Also next time this is my hotel!!
Many thanks and greetings to Jose and the family
Taina, Vantaa, Finland

Room Tip: Rooms and apartomentos are both good. If you stay longer, it's better to choose apartomentos wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was a great hotel that I booked 2 days before visiting marbella during the summer half term - so glad I did, fantastic location near the beach (literally about 2 mins walk) close to some great tapas bars and 5 mins from the old town and a supermarket around the corner!

Really friendly helpful owners and always quiet at night, so quiet I spent the first 2 days convinced we were the only guests until I noticed the "no vacancy" sign on the door.

The only thing I'd say is that I wish there was a fridge! We were on a budget and it would have been good to have been able to store a few bits for the snacks and drinks we had.

Room Tip: The side room (number 18) didn't have a very good view, some of the photos seem to show rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Finding ourselves back on the Costa, we couldn't resist revisiting this lovely hotel.
Pleasantly surprised to find it newly painted inside and out with new security door with cards for residents and heating/airconditioning in every room. Really spruced up since last year but same excellent rates!
We were blessed with 10 days of glorious winter sun too!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have balconies, both the ones we used have. Ask when you book..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

A family hotel, very helpfull. great location near the old town and near the beach.
Clean. simple but nice and good for going out to trips in the erea.
We are very glad that we found this place. Got help with plannig our nearby visits.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just had a great few days here with two pre-school kids. Rooms are basic but bright and spotlessly clean. Location is 2 mins from the beach. Lovely English / Spanish couple who ran it were great for info on where to go with the kids, where to eat etc. Best of all, they provided a kids' supper on two nights so that we could get the boys to bed at a reasonable hour and then they babysat (they have a couple of baby monitors for the purpose) while we went out for dinner. Result. Will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Finlandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finlandia

Address: Notario Luis Oliver, 12, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just another soulless, commercial hotel, this is run by a local family and it couldn't be better located. It's right in the centre of Marbella, yet just 150 metres from some of the best beaches on the Costa del Sol. A friendly place to stay, its eleven rooms are neatly furnished, clean and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Finlandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Finlandia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.