We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly managed! shame as location excellent!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Marbella Playa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marbella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Marbella Playa
Save
You added Camping Marbella Playa to your Saves list
Ctra. N-340 Km. 192,800 | Málaga, Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poorly managed! shame as location excellent!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this site for the past 6 years because of its location which is fantastic,unfortunately There has been no investment into any of the facilities on this site,which must have been constructed and not updated from the 1970s ,although very clean, its so basic, it borders on disgraceful!,what do they think modern caravanners are used too! im sorry those days have long gone where people from Europe will tolerate such basic and poor facilities!
Pricing seems to be so hit or miss when asked for,or it seems name your price for long stays! its just so badly managed, lots of staff all working hard, but site still a tip, resulting in a shanty town look,no wonder the caravan club and the other European organisation have dropped this site,try Cabapino or the new site in Estapona for value and quality, give this site a wide berth unless you are desperate!

Room Tip: pitches around the bottom of the site near the gate to the beach etc get the best sun parcela 205 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
12
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for the last 2 nights of our holiday in our campervan and found the site perfect for our needs, sadly the swimming pool was closed but it was November.

The restaurants had a fantastic atmosphere and were great value and the supermarket was well stocked and not overpriced.

Will definitely pop back if we are passing Marbella again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We spent three nights here in our motorhome during the Easter period and would make the following observations. The campsite is well positioned for both the beach and the regular (every 30 mins.) bus service into Marbella. The supermarket is well stocked and reasonably priced. However, the issues with the site I had was that it was extremely noisy throughout the day and until well after midnight even though campsite restrictions should have applied. Dog owners were a nuisance in and around the campsite. We even had to clear dog's mess off the pitch when we arrived and there seemed to be little control on where dogs were allowed to perform. The toilets and showers we used were very tired and in need of an upgrade. The site has a scruffy, shanty town look with a variety of semi-permanent screening arrangements used to separate tightly crammed caravans and motorhomes. There is also a real health and safety issue for children concerning old vehicles which litter the way to the play areas. The roads are very tight for large vehicles which didn't seem to deter many campers from driving well above the regulation speed limit. Staff were courteous but on arrival we had to wait well over an hour before our electricity supply was connected even though we were told it would be just a few moments. The swimming pool area was well controlled with lifeguards on duty even though very few people were using it because of the weather. We did not use the restaurant which seemed to be offering a very limited choice and appeared empty most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed here during a road trip throughout Spain, it was so lovely we stayed for about 6 days (initially we only planned 3!) this was the best campsite we stayed at.

We used the Alan Rogers Campsite guide to find the site and found some wonderful places to stay but this campsite had a fantastic pool area and welcome shade over the pitch.

We had our own tent but I believe you can also rent caravans and chalets direct from the campsite and on looking at the price list we found this to be a relatively cheap option.

Unfortunately on our pitch there was no grass so it was quite dusty, although during the trip we found that this is quite common in Spanish campsites, we only had a comfortable grassy pitch once!

At the time of our visit there were staff who spoke English and there was a well stocked shop, the facilities were clean and modern and site was very reasonably priced. We couldnt fault the site, we had a wonderful stay.

We had a hire car and so I am unsure as to bus availability etc, the site is some distance from Marbella town so we found a car useful for visiting and getting to see the area. Marbella was a lovely town and brilliant for relaxing and see the local sites - avoid like the plague the tacky areas like Malaga and Torremolinos, they are not a real reflection on Spain - we drove into these towns then straight out again!

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#17 of 79 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
6.7 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
7.8 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#8 of 79 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
13.5 mi away
Barcelo Marbella Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Marbella Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Marbella Playa

Address: Ctra. N-340 Km. 192,800 | Málaga, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Marbella
Number of rooms: 428
Also Known As:
Camping Marbella Playa Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Marbella Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.