We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, portions tiny, restraunt empty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Comedia - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Comedia
Calle San Lazaro, 3, 29600 Marbella, Spain
+34 952776478
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Swedish
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, portions tiny, restraunt empty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We visited this restraunt in July 2011, we are a family of 5. I thought the portions were tiny, with starters averaging 8-12 euro and main cross 20- 30 euro. I had chicken with pineapple which was tiny and poorly presented. Then when presented with the bill, the credit card machine was not working so we were walked to a bank link machine by a member of staff. Terrible

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Although overpriced, it has a good view from the balconies and great character.
It's also a friendly atmosphere, the local wine recommandation we got from the owner was great.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very romantic!!!! lovely place with lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I went to la comedia last night and had a very romantic night! the owner told me she had changed her chef and theres a scottish chef cook now. i knew the place from the last owner and didnt know what to expect. the food was really nice! we were sitting on the balcony and it was the same ambiance as i had a couple of years before. i think theres something magical about this place and the little balcony is absolutely worth it to visit it. i really enjoyed my night and there was a girl serving us who was really kind and made us have a laugh. im definetly coming back in summer!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't be fooled by the enticing balconies & fairy lights!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I made the mistake of choosing this restaurant purely on it's exterior and menu (all looked & sounded good!) but it was so terrible it was actually funny. It reminded me of Fawlty Towers (the one where the chef gets drunk and passes out.) Once inside there were many signs that it was not going to be good: 1. The place was empty although the square outside was buzzing. 2. It took 40mins before we received our starter. 3. Three of our party ordered the mussels but when they were served 85 % of them were closed. When we called over the manager she said they were fine and walked off. When we called her over again she said she didn't know why that had happened as it had never done so before. We asked for them to be replaced which she grudgingly agreed to but then a while later came back and said she thought we better not have them. By this point we had been in the restaurant an hour! She offered us a bottle of wine on the house and as it was very late by now we decided to stay for the main (wrong decision!) Again, it took ages!! and when it arrived it was mediocre with many ingrediennts missing. All the dishes were served with identicl veg and mash (cold) and not what was on the menu. The manager then asked us if we wanted a dessert (hahaha)..
The best bit was when the manager sauntered out of the bar with a large brandy and said to one of our party "what a night! I need a drink!" She then sat with the only other 2 guests in the restaurant and started chatting and drinking. It was so appalling it was actually comical! The bill was not comical however. An absolute rip-off. We felt robbed. The waiter also told us they didn't accept payment by card. What a joke. Please don't go there!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Back where it belongs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This restaurant was the busiest in the Old Town, often full of friendly Irish and British regulars all being looked after by the charismatic Damian, his wife and their happy team. Everyone talked to everyone and it was the place to be. Good(ish) food but a wonderful craic.

Then they moved upmarket and uptown to Calle Ancha. Much bigger, posher and full of small rooms, nooks and crannies. The sort of place to take your mistress and not be seen! It just didn't happen and they lost their way a bit.

The new building didn't last long before they shut-up shop, put up the for sale notices and re-opened the original La Comedia - which they hadn't managed to sell!

Back where they belong and hopefully their once strong following is now back with them and enjoying the atmosphere and eclectic menu.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Comedia also viewed

 
Elviria, Marbella
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Comedia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.