We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to feel you are in 'old Spain' this is the place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua Casa de Guardia

Antigua Casa de Guardia
Alameda Principal 18, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
+34 952 21 46 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 174 things to do in Malaga
Attraction details
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Want to feel you are in 'old Spain' this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The malaga wine (very sherry like) selection is great, we had the Malaga Seco, light in colour and not too sweet a good start for a trip walking around Malaga. While we were stood at the bar a local came in with his own empty bottle and for 8,70 euro's had it filled up and went on his way - this is how it should be!! We also noted that some drinkers have a mixture of the wines, which we are going to try next time we visit. They keep your bar tab by chalking up your bill on the bar in front of you. Very charming, very Spanish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espergaerde
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“History in a nutshell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I first visited this place back in the early/mid-70s when two people could have an enjoyable evening with plenty of tasting samples (including the complimentary headache the next day) for about EUR 1.50 - including tips. Coming back almost 40 years later it was amazing to see the place having changed very little. You still get the rare Malaga wine from old barrels, with waiters chalking down the price on the bar counter as you order, exactly as some 40 years (and probably 150 years) ago. On my first visit I was disappointd after having sampled a wine that was a bit off, but the next day they had apparently refilled the barrel with an entirely different result. Plenty of atmosphere and very authentic - a history book opens up.....A place not to be missed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey/Hants border
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Thanks trip advisor, yet another great suggestion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We went here upon suggestion from trip advisor and were not disappointed (yet again!) For 15€ we spent a very nice afternoon trying and testing a selection of local brews... The chalking of our tabs on the bar and sawdust on the floors just added to the atmosphere and charm.
A real highlight of our trip to Malaga. Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,678 reviews 2,678 reviews
2,413 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
2,480 helpful votes 2,480 helpful votes
“Great Place for Malaga's Sweet Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Casa de la Antigua Guardia is a very good place to try Malaga's sweet wines. Each glass costs only between 0.80 euro and 1.20 euros. There must be about 30 different wines that you can try. The place has plenty of atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Unique bar in Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is very different. They only sell "Malaga wine" which is a fortified wine similar to sherry. There are 21 barrels of different wines on the wall and the staff simply fill you a small glass of your choice and chalk the cost on the bar. It is not too expensive and there is a separate seafood stall in the bar. It is simple and friendly. There are few if any seats which is useful as it can get quite busy in the evenings

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antigua Casa de Guardia also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Antigua Casa de Guardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua Casa de Guardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.