We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Fun Time, Good Service - Go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citron

Citron
Plaza de la Merced 10, Malaga, Spain
952 22 63 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 1,239 Restaurants in Malaga
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Spain
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Time, Good Service - Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This restaurant is located right on Plaza de la Merced. You will be surprised when you walk in. It is modern and artful - beautiful colored walls and contemporary paintings. The food was very good as was the service. The menu offers argentinian empanadas and Thai. We really enjoyed this escape from the standard tapa bars.

Reservations are a must as the restaurant was packed by 2:00 pm for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    60
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood Shore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The restaurant community in Malaga in not one of the best I ever experienced. However, the Citron is one of the best restaurants I ever been. My entrecote was just perfect. The ambience is very nice and quiet. The service is awesome. Nothing like you usually experience in Malaga. Great food, great service, great restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“What a Difference”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had a great night in this restaurant last January (2013). Visited again two nights ago (2nd January 2014). What a change. Will never go again to be honest. The food was really poor. They serve a Thai chicken dish which was delicious last time, this time totally tasteless and my husband left most of it. I had cod which tasted of rubber, won't go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

After looking for a nice place to have dinner before going to the theater we were walking around Merced and decided to have a look at Citron. The menu looked interesting, we immediately found what we wanted to eat from the menu and took a table.

The waitress brought also a board with the days specialties or suggestions that were not in the menu. There was more to choose from now.

We ordered the chicken cuscus salad, which was delicious. I loved it a lot, and will return for this. Lovely tastes, lettuce and spices of the "normal" cuscus with delicious chicken on top, and a nice presentation.

The other dish we tried was the ecological burger. And I wont spoil this one for you - just order it and you will be amazed and surprised. I've never seen a burger like this.

These two dishes were more than enough for two, and we left happy and full. The bill with the dishes and two glasses of wine and a bottle of water was 30 euros more or less.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olvera, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice city cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Entering for lunch, we were met by a charming young women with good English in this stylish Malaga cafe/restaurant. There was plenty to choose from of the menu, which had a very international influence. Our first course was presented beautifully, a tabouli with a mustard sauce instead of a mint-lemon sauce. This change in flavor surprised us, but was very good and fresh. The second course, chicken stir fry, was clean and fresh, but a little on the wet side, as if the wok had not been hot enough. And as usual, I would have spiced the dish heavier by a factor of ten, but then I love Thai food, for example. Over-all, experience encourages me to buy SPANISH food in Andalusian restuarants, and not to lurch for the Thai/Mexican/Middle Eastern selection because generally it's just a little off...not enough spice or the wrong herb or some other curious variation. (The exception being if you are in a Moroccan restuarant, for example, then of course...) However, we had a great time at Citron, and it was stylish and welcoming, and all in all we were happy with our food. I will return when in Malaga on business. The clientelle was about sixty percent ex-pat and forty percent Spanish.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citron also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Citron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.