We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Paloma

Save Saved
You added Hostal La Paloma to your Saves list
Hostal La Paloma
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal La Paloma
C/ Barcenillas 8, 29012 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 85 Specialty lodging in Malaga
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed one out of five nights we had booked in advance.
The beds and bathroom are really dirty. So we changed to a Hotel closer to the centre, slightly more expensive but clean.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

For location and cleanliness completely overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
6
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was staying recently in Hostal La Paloma for 9 nights. Rooms are not very clean there and batrooms are even dirty especially shower which i think it wasnt clean from the time that hostal exist. Rooms which are not taken have open doors so you can see all of them. Once when i going out i saw on the floor dog droppings. It was really disgusting!!! Next thing that now its not very hot in Malaga and room was very cold and cause of it we both with my fiance came back home sick. We ask for some hitter but thing what they gave us wasnt even put the temperature inside the room a little. Everything is old and dirty even bed sheet and bedding stufs. Everything different colours, blancets also didnt seem nice and clean. I really was all the time thinking that i will catch sth bad there. We were very surprised with my fiance cause during summer we have stayed in other hostal ( El Nogal) and there everything was nice and clean and we chose this one cause was closer to the city but we didnt expect that it will be such a huge difference between them. Internet didnt work properly... From 9 days we had internet jus for 2 and for next 7 day nobady came to fix it even when we were asking for it. Hostel is not far from the center so you can walk sth like 15 min without taking bus but really i prefer to use bus every day and be happy with plays im staying in. It was the worst experince i've ever had in the hostal so if you want to have nice stay dont choose this hostal.

Room Tip: Room no 6 is ugly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I went to Malaga with my 2 friends so we were looking for something afordable. I didnt expect this hostel to be so great. It has a special feeling and atmosphere, great kitchen where we spent most of time inside but the most amazing was staff who were the most friendly people I ever met. We had a great time and felt like home, almost crying on our way back. I will come again only to visit these great people with big heart. Hugs to you guys from Slovakia/ UK

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room but seen almost all of them as hostel was empty when we came. They are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I spent in La Paloma two nights in march 2011, it all cost 50 euros. It was my first visit of Malaga, and right from airport I went to that hostal. It was funny, but I couldn't find the hostal though I got to the right street, finally I asked people in a store right near it. You have to go upstairs and there you will see a sign pointing at the door of hostal.
Stuff was nice and helpful, they speak English.
I booked a single room through Internet. It was not that small, normal one: one bed, a small bedside table, two chairs, sink with mirror, TV. Furniture looks kind of poor and old. There was one big window with look for walls of opposite houses, also it was a small balcony, but i didn't open it and didn't go there.
Shared bathroom was right opposite my room. It was good enough: clean, and no problem with hot water. And actually I didn't see many people there, so bathroom wasn't occupied at all.
Maybe coz of weather, but in room it was a bit cold, especially at night.
Actually location of hostal is good, not that far from city center. Also it's very easy to get to Alcazaba, Gibralfaro and Cathedral.
As for me it was not bad, everything was expected for such a price. For travellers who don't need much but bed, shower and simple things it's good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

Having stayed for a week in Benalmadena @ the Royal Oasis Club @ Benal Beach I needed to find a place for 2 nights near the airport so decamped to Malaga. I booked the room by phone at 11am for 2 nights knowing there was no en suite facilities but what do you expect from a 1 Star Hostal.

I arrived in Malaga at about 12.30 and took half an hour to locate the road the hostal was located in. The cost was 48 Euros for 2nights room only, no breakfast but the staff were in general very helpful especially Raphael.

The room was large enough with 2 single beds in the room and a balcony that unfortunately was overlooked by 2 other blocks of flats and overlooked a rather tired street ( I would have called it a large alley). I arrived at 2pm and the room wasn't ready and the lady cleaned it in about 20Minutes.

The Hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk away from the main drag area of Malaga and near to Marquis de larios and the shopping area for the spanish and about 15 minutes from The Alcazabar and the Castille Gibralfaro

The shared bathroom was kept pretty clean but was spoilt by the 3 blobs of dried black paint in the bath and the fact that the shower was actually just an attachment like te one my grandparents used!

Unfortunately I cant recommend this place overall - would I use it again, probably not but would if there was no choice.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Paloma

Address: C/ Barcenillas 8, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 Specialty lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Budget Places and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hostal La Paloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Paloma Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Paloma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.