We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Malaga!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Malaga to your Saves list
Barcelo Malaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best choice in Malaga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has been deservedly racking up the points for some time now. Just take the Cercania Train to Maria Zambrano Station from the airport and you can be in your room 30 minutes after landing. The convenience of the location and the helpfulness of the staff have already been highlighted by other fellow travellers, I will just add that this one undoutably has to be your first choice, especially if yours is a short stay and you want to get the best out of Malaga in comfort and convenience. A big star for the amazing, techno shower. Do not look any further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    618
    113
    22
    10
See reviews for
200
746
88
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location, right by train and bus station, and so easily accessible from airport. Very modern hotel, our room and bathroom was spotless, nothing to complain about. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment on that, but the staff we were helpful when we checked in and when we had any questions. Across the road from the hotel El Corte Inglés, so easy to buy any snacks/ drinks etc. needed. 15 minute walk into the centre of Malaga, very easy to get to. We were really pleased with our hotel selection, and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel has been sitting high on the TA tree for some time now, and like many other reviewers I would hint that its location in Malaga largely accounts for this - stroll out of one door and you are in the main railway station - walk a few more yards and you are at the bus station. You also have a direct link to the airport from both of these for only a few euros, so you can venture pretty much anywhere in Spain (or further) from your own backyard.
You also have (as you may have read in other reviews) an indoor shopping mall on you doorstep. This is quite handy if the weather (as it was for us) is not too good or you fancy a bite to eat. The food hall is on the upper floor and is typical of many with the usual selection of fast outlets coupled with one or two restaurants. If you aren't too fussy, you should be able to find something to satisfy your appetite. At least the kids will feel at home.
The hotel building itself carries a huge "Barcelo" sign on the outside - this is probably visible from Madrid so not much chance of getting lost anywhere in the vicinity. I mentally removed this and I have to say that it did almost remind me of our local hospital or even (shame on me) a block of flats. In a country with more than its fair share of beautiful buildings, a little bit of Spanish flair would not be amiss here.
They say it's what's on the inside that counts. We found all the staff we met to be very pleasant and helpful - and very smartly dressed. Full marks there. The decor throughout is very modern with more than a hint of Ikea about the furnishings. In fact you could probably teleport the hotel to Stockholm and it would not look out of place. Our room was on the fourth floor and was fine - very clean - an extremely comfortable bed and everything worked perfectly. I was a little surprised at the lack of English tv channels in a hotel of this calibre but this seems normal in Spain so just make sure your Kindle is charged. The corridor on our floor did have a strange musty smell but this was not present in the room itself. I have to say that the dividing walls are pretty thin - I expect this may be due to their modular design - so if you plan on having an argument, you may want to save it until you are outside.
We had booked B & B and I have to say that the breakfast choice (and quality) was very impressive - everything from breadsticks to buck's fizz, with coffee addicts being particularly well catered for by means of a Nespresso machine which could very well have been lifted straight from the bridge of the Starship Enterprise.
It would seem obvious to any guest staying at the Barcelo that this is a hotel more geared towards a business and corporate clientele - this is not a criticism because as obvious tourists we were made very welcome. Let me just say that the morning attire is more suits and laptops rather than shorts and t-shirts.
I must of course mention the slide between the first and ground floors. Very quirky - and likely to be fun if you have the nerve. I didn't actually see anyone using it during our stay but I confess I did think about giving it a try. The fear of landing in the barman's lap thankfully brought me back to reality.
Yes, the Barcelo may not be perfect (how many hotels are?) and may not be to everyone's taste but I have to say that for us it performed its function admirably and we would be quite happy to return there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just stayed one night at the Barcelo in Malaga before picking up a hire car to drive to Estepona. The hotel was PERFECT for our purposes - train from airport was less than 2 euros; hotel is within the station complex itself; 10 minutes walk into town - the side with Malaga's modern art gallery (The CAC), food market and spice shop (ie the side we like); the hire car office is next door and car pick-up is across the road. Perfect. Add to that quirky design, a slide from breakfast to reception and friendly staff. Great... oh and it was cheap too! RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauchringen, Germany
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Barcelo Malaga very much for a number of reasons:

- It takes just 10 minutes to get there from the airport (taking the suburban train, which runs ever 20 minutes and costs under € 2) and no time at all to get there from the train station, because that is where the hotel is located.
- If you need a car, several rental companies are just outside the reception area.
- Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Its design modern, but still cozy.
- The beds are excellent.
- All the staff were very friendly and helpful, providing every information you might want without you having to ask for it.
- We found that we got excellent value for our money.
- The very good breakfast buffet as well as the restaurant as such must be mentioned on the plus-side, too.

A (minor) disadvantage of the location is its relative distance from the city centre, which is a 20-minute walk or a short bus- or taxi-ride away. And it should be mentioned that the room has a bit of a 'formica/plastic touch' which makes it look a bit 'cheap'. But that is nothing that should stop you from staying there.

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and can highly recommend this place, especially because of the staff that put in a lot of effort to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotlan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited Malaga for a 5 day break and stayed here 4 nights. When we arrived, we were slightly disappointed with our room as it wasn't as nice as what we had been seeing in pictures and reviews on here. Our room had some broken tiles on the floor, gaps in the laminate flooring and wallpaper coming off the wall at one place! Was clean mind you, but noticed some mouldy bits in the shower. However the shower was great and very powerful.
Had a good sleep in the queen size bed and the rooms were warm enough (too warm at some points and the aircon wasn't that great). The wifi was also terrible but the staff did manage to fix the problem later. The worldwide BBC channel had an awful reception so we had to stick with Spanish TV for the majority of the time.
The hotel is a good 15/20 minute walk from the main centre of Malaga. We taxied it most nights but walked during the day. It does have an excellent link to the Maria Zambrano station which was great for a day trip to Torremolinos and also only 3 stops to the airport. The buffet breakfast was delicious in the morning and staff were friendly enough.
Overall we would maybe return to this hotel due to the great train links, however feel it is a bit overrated. The modern decor is probably a bit of a coverup for an average hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for just 2 nigts. Modern, confortable, clean and with a very good quality-price ratio. We had a problem just the first night with some extremely noisy (and probably drunk) neighbours who came to their room which happened to be next to ours at 3 o'clock in the morining. Laughing loud, slamming doors, yelling... We had just to pick up the phone and ask the receptionist to ask them to stop it, and the situation immediatly turned again smooth.
We had a very nice breakfast with a lot of dishes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 86 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#1 of 86 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Monte Malaga Hotel
Monte Malaga Hotel
#11 of 86 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Malaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.