We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Malaga to your Saves list
Barcelo Malaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A unique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at this “designer” hotel for one night after arriving at Malaga airport – which is a twenty minute drive away. It is situated next to the AVE high-speed rail station and is close to the old part of town.
The colourful and cleverly designed bedroom was well equipped and of a good size with good views over the city. Reception and bar staff were helpful and the restaurant food was of a high standard.
But, importantly, my wife enjoyed the experience of sliding down the 6 meter high slide from the first floor into the lobby area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    501
    95
    18
    10
See reviews for
160
618
78
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We took the train from Madrid for a one night stay prior to a cruise. The Barcelo Malaga looked like the ideal hotel to us since it is in the train station at Malaga – and it was.

You can reserve a room with or without breakfast. I decided to reserve with breakfast even though it was pretty expensive by our standards, especially since we normally stay in hotels (in the US) where breakfast is included. I was not disappointed. We were really hungry in the morning after the flight the day before and the breakfast really hit the spot. It was a typical European breakfast with everything you could think of including omelets made by a chef. I counted at least 12 different fruits – amazing.

Internet is included and in our room (#631) the reception was really strong. There was also a laptop safe and a mini-refrigerator which had enough room to store some things we bought.

The hotel has an entrance on the right (if you are arriving on a train) just after you get into the main hall. There is a notice on the door that it is only for hotel guests, but there is a call button and they will open the door for you.

Even though there is a huge shopping mall, with a food court, that is part of the station we couldn't find a mini-market to buy drinks, etc. Most train station have this. We ended up going to the Larios Center which is about 3 blocks away, which has a huge supermarket.

We took a taxi (E12) to the port the next morning. Since we didn't sleep on the plane we did not do any sighseeing, but we are scheduled back to Malaga as a port on a cruise next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided to choose the Barcelo again over the Ibis. The Ibis is nearer the old town but the Barcelo is so close to transportation links that this was the deciding factor. We arrived from Granada by coach and the coach station is opposite the train station, where the Barcelo is sited. It also made it easier for us to catch the train to the airport for our homeward journey. However, it isn't just convenient but it is a well built, comfortable and funky hotel.

We had room 612 which is at the front and affords a sea glimpse, if not a sea view. We felt that the breakfast had improved since our last visit two years ago (apart from the Spanish Omelette which was very salty both days I tried it).

The old town is a good 15 minute walk but you can catch a bus. So I think on balance we made a good choice; convenience, comfort and a touch of luxury.

Room Tip: The soundproofing is good so the front offers sea glimpses, the back mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We both liked this hotel which is very modern. The hotel has a slide from the first floor to the ground floor and we were encouraged by the reception staff to try it. We gave it a go and it was good fun certainly a unique experience. Our room a good size with a comfortable king size bed. The Wi-Fi and air-conditioning worked well and there were a number of English language TV channels. The bathroom was good and the toiletries were of a high standard. The location was very convenient for us as we arrived in Malaga by bus and departed by train and the hotel is part of the train terminal and adjacent to the bus terminal. It was about a 15 minute walk to the old town. It is not in the nicest of neighbourhoods but we always felt safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A beautiful hotel with an excellent location, great staff, clean and very nice room! What else can i ask for? You can walk to see the city, go to the train station and visit it, take the train for many destinations.. you don't need any other transportation method. I recommend this hotel for your stay at Malaga, Spain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room was clean, bathroom clean, awesome shower, great air conditioning, good bed and tv. The staff were so helpful, always with good answers and didnt mind when we made special requests. and had really good english. The location is so ideal-right next to a shopping mall and the central train station. Its in the new part of town-the old town being about a 15 minute walk. The hotel lobby slide is pretty cool-be careful you can go fast!

only negative is that there was an open bag of peanuts in our fridge, but they didnt charge us. it was a bit expensive, but a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I got this hotel through (Tesco) Clubcard exchange so it was practically free which made it even better. The hotel is literally attached to the main train station in Malaga which has a direct link to the airport for less than 2 Euro. Do not get a Taxi, it will cost you about 30 Euro. The desk staff were amazing, very polite, always professional and even saw the funny side when I lost my luggage tag. The rooms were not overly spacious but ample and very well decorated, the chairs were so comfortable. I lost days just sitting in them and reading my Kindle. The breakfast bar was delicious with a wide range of foods for everyone and the waiters always remembered your room number which was nice. The gym was average, quite small but I went at odd times so it was very quiet. Unfortunately I did not get to use the amazing slide from the 1st floor to the lobby as it was under construction but what an awesome feature in a hotel!!! Its very well situated with a shopping centre and a supermarket less than 100 ft away. The beach was about a 10 minute walk. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definately stay here again. X

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Malaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.