We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the slide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Malaga to your Saves list
Barcelo Malaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Try the slide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We both liked this hotel which is very modern. The hotel has a slide from the first floor to the ground floor and we were encouraged by the reception staff to try it. We gave it a go and it was good fun certainly a unique experience. Our room a good size with a comfortable king size bed. The Wi-Fi and air-conditioning worked well and there were a number of English language TV channels. The bathroom was good and the toiletries were of a high standard. The location was very convenient for us as we arrived in Malaga by bus and departed by train and the hotel is part of the train terminal and adjacent to the bus terminal. It was about a 15 minute walk to the old town. It is not in the nicest of neighbourhoods but we always felt safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    503
    96
    18
    10
See reviews for
161
619
79
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A beautiful hotel with an excellent location, great staff, clean and very nice room! What else can i ask for? You can walk to see the city, go to the train station and visit it, take the train for many destinations.. you don't need any other transportation method. I recommend this hotel for your stay at Malaga, Spain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room was clean, bathroom clean, awesome shower, great air conditioning, good bed and tv. The staff were so helpful, always with good answers and didnt mind when we made special requests. and had really good english. The location is so ideal-right next to a shopping mall and the central train station. Its in the new part of town-the old town being about a 15 minute walk. The hotel lobby slide is pretty cool-be careful you can go fast!

only negative is that there was an open bag of peanuts in our fridge, but they didnt charge us. it was a bit expensive, but a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I got this hotel through (Tesco) Clubcard exchange so it was practically free which made it even better. The hotel is literally attached to the main train station in Malaga which has a direct link to the airport for less than 2 Euro. Do not get a Taxi, it will cost you about 30 Euro. The desk staff were amazing, very polite, always professional and even saw the funny side when I lost my luggage tag. The rooms were not overly spacious but ample and very well decorated, the chairs were so comfortable. I lost days just sitting in them and reading my Kindle. The breakfast bar was delicious with a wide range of foods for everyone and the waiters always remembered your room number which was nice. The gym was average, quite small but I went at odd times so it was very quiet. Unfortunately I did not get to use the amazing slide from the 1st floor to the lobby as it was under construction but what an awesome feature in a hotel!!! Its very well situated with a shopping centre and a supermarket less than 100 ft away. The beach was about a 10 minute walk. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definately stay here again. X

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife had her passport stolen in Seville which meant we had to travel by train to Malaga to visit the British Consul. We chose this hotel over the internet because it was literally on top of the station and close to the consulate. At 89 euros for the night (without breakfast) it was fair value as the hotel is very modern and clean. Reception staff were very helpful and let us use their computer (the one in the Business Centre was down). We did not have breakfast, but there is a huge food mall by the hotel and at the station which would meet the needs of just about anyone.
The hotel was quiet on a Sunday night and I dont think many were staying there. There are not many facilities, other than bar and restaurant, as it is very much a business conference hotel. There is no intrusion from the station.
We could not have chosen a better location and hotel given our circumstances, but someone on a tourist trip might prefer to be nearer the centre of town which is a 20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ultra modern style hotel in great location with one exit right into Maria Zambrano rail station.
We arrived at 8.45am hoping we could leave luggage until we checked in later in the day. To great surprise we were in our room five minutes later!
Really helpful staff, room was very quiet and breakfast great. Will certainly go back in the future, if only to go down the slide from 1st floor to the ground floor again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were very lucky to get a great rate at this wonderful hotel where we stayed because we had an early morning train departure. (Perhaps our good rate was because we were traveling off-season in November).

The room was very comfortable, spotless, very quiet , well-serviced and the WiFi worked flawlessly.

The staff was very nice, even printed travel documents for us from the internet at no extra charge.

The buffet breakfast looked nice, but was pricey, so we opted to have great Spanish coffee and tortilla de patatas at a neighborhood bar a half block away.

The hotel is adjacent to and accessible from Maria Zambrano RENFE station and across the street from Malaga's bus station. The ViaLia shopping center (part of the railway station complex) offered a food court and other conveniences.

We highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Malaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.