We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay in Malaga” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Pintor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Pintor to your Saves list
Hotel del Pintor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alamos, 27, 29012 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay in Malaga”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were in our room at the Hotel del Pintor for a very short time since we arrived in the evening and left very early for a morning flight. We managed to find the hotel although we passed it by at first since it's located down a small street. We walked to the train station which took about 25-30 minutes for luggage which wasn't the most convenient but saved us some money compared to hotels closer to the airport. If you were staying in Malaga it's very central to all the main tourist sights. The front desk agent was very helpful at check-in and was more than happy to recommend a restaurant nearby which ended up being one of our favorites during our time in Spain (Pimpi). The hotel has a somewhat surreal art theme in black, red and white so it might not be for everyone. It reminded of a hostel more than anywhere else we stayed but we still had our own room and bathroom. We didn't have any problems with the wifi and had a quiet interior room. The room itself was simple and pretty small. It did have a slightly musty smell I think because the ventilation wasn't great but this wasn't a problem for us. All in all it was a fine place to stay on a budget and quick trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    122
    41
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
133
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Rooms were very clean and spacious. The hotel also had tv and wifi (english channels). Lots of light and space, and everything has been redone. Looks a little sketchy from the outside, but it is a great value and definitely worth it! Location is in between the train station and the beach, and is walking distance to everything! Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel del Pintor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much Theresa for your kind comments.
It really feels that you have enjoyed your days in Malaga.
Hope to have you back again...

Much love,
Sergio B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is awful! The rooms smelled like mold/mildew and something else bad. The street noise was very loud. The shower was broken. The sheets were stained. It was all very creepy. The only good thing was the great organic restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel del Pintor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear guest,

First, if our hotel did not like, I want to apologize.

Our showers have not had any trouble in the last few weeks, because other guest has not told us the breakdown. Also do not understand why has not informed reception who did not like their assigned room. Our receotion might have changed your assigned room .
In short, we feel not meet your expectations.

Best regards,
Sergio B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahaus, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is in the down town, one of the best places for visiting the city. The room was not direct on the street so it was really quiet. Bed comfortable. Decoration in the hotel really original everything red, black and white. The breakfast was really good, we had the "Serrano and Salmorejo" toast, ummmm great taste.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel del Pintor, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank for your opinion about our small boutique hotel.
We will recommend your breakfast to our future guests.

I hope we choose our hotel on your next visit to Malaga. We are happy to welcome

Best regards,
Sergio B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was situated near the centre; our room was nice, clean and quiet. The hotelstaff helped us out when necessary and there was an excellent breakfast nearby.
I visited Malaga with my 16 years old son. We liked the city!

Room Tip: I am sorry, my knowledge of the spanish language is not good enough to answer this question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel del Pintor, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted that you have had a good holiday in our city, Málaga.

Thank you for your opinión about our staff and particular and different breakfast.
We are always being improved and we are pleased to receive feedback like yours.

Thank you very much,

Yours sincerely,
Sergio B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent one night here to catch early flight. Excellent location plenty of bars and restaurants close by and near attractions. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We were given a ground floor room with no outside window, was fine for 1 night but would request a high floor if return.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel del Pintor, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel.
I hope we can welcome you on your future visits to Malaga.

Thank you very much,

Yours sincerely,
Sergio B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel-the location is perfect, very close to the old town and within a 10 minute walk of all the main sights of Malaga. Our room was very spacious, beautifully decorated in a modern style and with lots of little perks- the sweets and origami animals left on our pillows were a particularly nice touch. Fast wi-fi and all for 30 euro per person! Bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel del Pintor, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Katie,

Thank you very much for your opinion on your stay in our Hotel Del Pintor.
We are excited because we know that you enjoyed our little boutique hotel.

We hope to host it on another occasion,

Yours sincerely,
Sergio Barroso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Pintor

Address: Alamos, 27, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Pintor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is a modern 3-star city hotel in the historic center of Malaga. We offer rooms with a unique decor, designed by our painter and poet Malaga, Pepe Bornoy.This decoration, present in every corner, is based on contemporary art in red, white and black.We are very close to the Picasso Museum, Alcazaba, Gibralfaro, Cathedral or the Cervantes Theatre and just 5 minutes from the beautiful Calle Larios or a 15 minute walk from the beach of La Malagueta.All around there are countless restaurants and tapas bars.All rooms are soundproofed Painter, air conditioning or heating, Wi-Fi, desk, satellite LCD TV and private bathroom with hairdryer and amenities a cute game.The Hotel del Pintor has a car rental service and bicycles as well as a 24 hour reception where we tell you about the sights of Malaga.The Painter offers the service bar / cafe / room service, serving drinks, snacks and meals 24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel del Pintor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Pintor Hotel
Hotel Del Pintor Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Pintor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.