We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Molina Lario to your Saves list
Hotel Molina Lario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
EVANSTON
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I spent four nights at this lovely hotel. The location is perfect and the buffet breakfast was reasonable & very good. The room was quiet, comfortable and the perfect springboard for Ronda, Alhambra & Morocco. Further, the service, especially Roberto, was excellent! I give this hotel my highest recommendation & will stay here again when I return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    348
    69
    27
    10
See reviews for
122
541
38
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estepa, Spain
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We started well. Our deluxe room had a fantastic view of the port. The room was pleasant and the daily complementary whisky is a nice touch. But - hello! - you don't get mineral water in your room after Day 1. That was a new experience - and they call themselves a 4-star hotel. The service is shockingly variable. Breakfast day 1 - the waiters were more concerned with stacking their own plates and skulking off to the kitchen to fill their faces than with serving guests. Shocking. Breakfast day 2 - different staff, better energy, but sadly no English - so today's poached eggs became fried eggs. Meanwhile at reception - some pleasant, helpful men in suits and spectacles, but the accompanying cute youths in stylish black polos and matching jeans are so self-obsessed that you don't even get eye-contact, when they hand you your key - that is, after you have had to cough or raise your voice to attract their attention. Look at the website pictures - pool and cathedral and bar - one of the reasons one chooses the hotel in the first place. Reality = small pool, people stacked on the minuscule deck like refugees trying to make believe it's all going to be fine. It ain't. This is a hotel with rooms on 7 floors. The pool area is like a back yard. Nothing to tell you that the pool bar is only open on the weekends - so half an hour to organise a glass of beer on a late Wednesday afternoon. Room service - sometimes yes; sometimes no. Thursday night - bathroom tidied, fresh towels etc. Friday night - guess what? no. It makes me so livid that these places show pretty pictures and rely on the fact that they're near the centre etc, charge the earth and do nothing. Advice? Change the management and send all the staff to Cambodia to learn what service can and ought to be.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Molina Lario in April for one night on our way back from Seville. The hotel is in a great, central location in the middle of the town right next to shops, cafes etc. We specifically asked for a room away from noise after reading trip advisor room tips and were given one at the back of the hotel overlooking the breakfast area. We were not disturbed by any noise at all. The hotel is very modern and, to be honest, I found the bedroom very bland and lacking in character. However, this is down to taste and some people will love it no doubt! The room had a safe, tea/coffee making facilities, bath robe etc so well equipped. The pool area on the roof is a bonus for a city hotel but because the area is small, when we went up there to relax in the sun for abit, around 4.30pm, it was really busy and so there was no room for us!! It was disappointing but nothing we could do about that. It would be annoying if that happened every time you went there after a day sightseeing though! The views from the terrace/pool are lovely and nice to have a drink there before going out for the evening. The breakfast was quite good with cold meats, cheeses, cereals , hot food etc.
All in all, I would recommend the hotel for a short stay. Good choice to stay if you wanted a city break of , say,3 days in Malaga.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulmona, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is fairly close to major sights in town. Rooms are comfortable, but a bit "cold" and minimalist. Our room overlooked the courtyard, not the cathedral as I had asked in a @ written a few days before. Breakfast was definetely too expensive (18 euros), therefore we tried the coffee shops in the town centre. They open around 8 o'clock... The reception was ok, English is not their favourite foreign language though.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the cathedral and on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located right next to the cathedral, shopping area and within walking distance of the beach, castle and metro train (last stop) from the airport.
We enjoyed a deluxe room which was very light and spacious with an extremely comfortable bed.The room was in the corner of the hotel which affords a good view of the harbour. Unfortunately, the towering neighbouring hotel (Marriot) blocks much of the view from many of the hotel's rooms. Despite being next to a busy road the windows had effective soundproofing.
The rooftop pool is almost swimmable, and there are sunbeds but very limited in number (5) so not enough to meet the demand when we were there. However, it is still nice to sit on one of the chairs and enjoy the great views.
The breakfast is excellent, e.g. plenty of fresh fruit, which is not surprising as the kitchen caters for the restaurant during the rest of the day.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

we spent 5 nights in this lovely hotel early april.the staff in all areas were very helpful and we were
allocated our room immediately on arrival at midday which was excellent as we had been
traveling since 5am.our superior room was of a high standard with mini bar and coffee making
facilities.towels and linen were changed daily.Molina Lario is in an ideal situation for bars,
restaurants,cathedral, shops and the marina.Small but impressive roof terrace with pool and bar.
Hotel bar and restaurant excellent with very reasonable prices.Our room was on the 4th floor and
would advise to request a room 4th floor or higher to avoid street noise

Room Tip: choose 4th floor or higher in a superior room for a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed during Semana Santa which meant that the room facing into the central courtyard was quiet and a bonus. We used the C2 bus route in from the railway station and saved for the taxi fare back out to the airport in the morning. The staff were friendly, helpful and forgiving of our Spanish! The café del Bosa bar was relaxed both for the first tapa of the evening and the last copa de Oloroso. Very well situated for the Cathedral, Alcazar and general exploration of the City. Also not far from the waterfront so it is not difficult to get your bearings (with the Cathedral) after a night of cultural indulgence! Ideally they could do with a bit of internal decorating a touch of paint and some new carpets in the hallways but it was another well recommended hotel-enjoy!

Room Tip: I think the internal facing rooms would be better for the quiet and shade in the Summer; go to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#3 Family Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Molina Lario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.