We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Save Saved
You added Hotel Molina Lario to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Malaga
Maidenhead, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I can only agree with previous reviews - perfectly located and a good, comfortable hotel with pleasant and helpful staff. True, the beds are very firm, but surprisingly comfortable. We also much appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities - not always available in other European countries. All in all, would thoroughly recommend this hotel in Malaga.

Room Tip: Can't comment on a standard room as we were offered a superior room for an extra 10 Euros and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    312
    61
    25
    8
See reviews for
109
469
35
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puebla, Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As we stayed for two weeks at the Molino Lario, we had plenty of time to find any possible faults with this hotel, and nit-picking to find any.
The Reception staff are charming and efficient; they welcome you and make you feel at home immediately. The location, across the road from the more expensive and shabbier AC Palacio Marriott, is perfectly central to all one would want to do and see in Malaga. A guest can walk to all the sights, and in 5 minutes or so, be at a bus stop to easily reach the beaches on the east and west of the city. The neighbourhood appears to be safe to walk around. But watch our for bicycles!
We opted for a superior room and were very satisfied with our choice. I emailed the hotel before our stay and requested a quiet room on a higher floor, and the 4th floor facing Calle Bolsa, the side street, was perfect for us. True there were street noises, but so much quieter than a hotel, say, in London, England. When the buzz and the screams of the film fans outside the Marriott got too loud, we closed our window and used the air conditioning.
The only annoying noise came toward the end of our stay when a large cultural group arrived (from a large country!) talking loudly in the hallways and banging their doors early in the morning and late at night.
Earlier reviews complained of hard beds. We slept very well. The pillows were also comfortable. I believe the hotel is non-smoking . In any case, our room smelled fresh.
The room was well-equipped for a long or short stay. There was even an umbrella!
The bathrobes and slippers were great and could also be used to go up to the Terrace on the 8th floor to the pool area.
Bathroom amenities include shampoo (NB No conditioner) bath gel, razor, shower cap, sachet of tissues, comb, shoe cleaner and soap. These were replaced as we used them.
We got one small bottle of complimentary mineral water with gas when we arrived and that was it. (We later bought inexpensive bottled water at Super Sol opposite from the Atarazanas market.)
It was good to have a kettle and teas and instant coffee -- unlike Mexican hotels where a grubby coffee maker is the only source of boiled water. You may need to clean out mineral deposits in the kettle. Check inside. Not a big issue.
The internet connection in the room was good (and included in the price of the room)
We used the Rooftop Terrace to relax for short periods, and always found a place to sit. The background music was very classy and played at a low volume.
There were guests who did lie there all day, but the sun, even in April, burns. Beware. The pool is really only a plunge pool. For swimming we would recommend the nearby beaches, that is, when the sea warms up. In late June or July? Malaga gets cold currents from the Atlantic. Blue-grey towels are provided on the roof, so guests don't need to bring up their room towels.
Or their valuables. Do use the very efficient room safes. All you need while in the hotel is your enormous room key.
This means you don't have to come down to breakfast and bump/ trip other guests with big back packs or bags! (Reference to that aforementioned cultural group)
Breakfast is good with choices for all tastes -- though celiacs are only offered a small container of possibly cross-contaminated cereal. The coffee machine provides good coffee.
We ate a few meals at the hotel and found the value, selection and quality to compare more than favourably with the surrounding restaurants. There is a menu del dia for about 18 Euros which is very good value. (Those advertised 8-Euro menu del dia meals are worth that -- 8 Euros) Our only negative comment is that mobile phone use and those loud two-way un-private conversations should be banned in the restaurant.
The terrace in the evening is quite magic with views of the harbour and the lit-up cathedral. The drinks are reasonably priced for a hotel. Again, the background music is "background" music and appropriate.
The business centre and library on -1 floor is a good place to work, and to print up boarding passes.

A wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the best value. Quietest ones are on higher floors and face Calle Bolsa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We only had one brief night here (had to leave at 4am) but were happy with our few hours there. Location is nice, just off the main thoroughfare, close to the main pedestrian street and the old town. And with rooms overlooking some of the quieter streets with floor to ceiling opening windows it has a really nice feel to it. Rooms are clean and white and spacious enough without being huge. Bathrooms are slightly modern and add to the design concept and feel of the place.
The roof top pool is a nice addition, nice views, but obviously small and was crowded when we were there so didn't stay there long.
The lifts you have to pay attention to, as only some go to certain floors and can also leave you on the wrong level for your own floor, only a minor quirky thing but staff do try to help you.
We did have a very helpful concierge helping us unload and even block the taxi drivers for us (who weren't pleased!) when we arrived - as it can be tricky parking there when you just need to do a quick drop off.
Unfortunately we didn't get to sample breakfast but they did offer to have a packed one made for us but we decided against this for the early morning.
Can see that this is a really great place for a weekend trip to the town and gives a nice feel to the holiday. Would go back again if in Malaga again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of Malaga therefore great for business trips and city breaks. Just a few meters away from the commercial and cultural centre. It's close to the Port of Malaga, the Muelle Uno with many good restaurants and shops.
I stayed in room 406 for five nights. I liked the size of the bedroom and the bathroom only the wardrobe was a bit small as I had to hang up business and leisure clothes.
Breakfast was good. I also had a meal at the El Cafe de Bolsa which was great.
As already mentioned the staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful.
I will certainly return on my next business or leisure trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well situated, close to the harbour and on the edge of the vibrant old town, this hotel delivers simple, contemporary elegance. I found that my assigned room smelled of cigarette smoke and was quickly shown two other rooms, from which i could choose. The room i chose had a small balcony, and overlooked one of the charming pedestrian-only streets of the old town. The bed was comfortable with quality linens. and the bathroom well appointed. It was very clean. I would have liked to have more air in the room but I could not leave the balcony door open (was on the first floor) and the air conditioning was ineffective. Bathroom amenities were ok, but I would prefer shampoo and bath gel that is neutral or white rather than the synthetic transparent red colour that is design-conscious but which shouts "artificial ingredients" to me. Daily cleaning left the room immaculate each time.
Breakfast was excellent! Hot and cold items were Spanish styled - and delicious. Eggs were available, cooked to one's preference.The layout of breakfast is interesting, as various stations are situated around the small room. However, one quickly learns how to navigate to the areas of interest! I LOVED the Nespresso machines ... I could enjoy a freshly made espresso or caffe con leche made just for me, with the coffee taste I prefer. Front desk staff were polite but not particularly helpful. They seemed short-staffed, but then my stay was shoulder-season so perhaps they were on minimal staffing at the time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in early April. In my opinion, there is not any other hotel in the city with a better location. It is perfectly situated for exploring the city, and the city sightseeing bus stop is even outside the door. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, wifi is free, as is using the computer and printer for printing flight tickets etc. The location is very important in this city as it is quite sprawling and other hotels in the outskirts, aren't in the nicest of areas and this is certainly the safest and cleanest area of the city as far as I experienced.

The roof area with the pool is stunning and has lovely views of the sea and is a very relaxing area.

Although I did not eat at the hotel any night, I did enjoy a drink in the bar, and the bar staff are very helpful and friendly.

The only negative in my opinion, is that I upgraded to a superior room and the double bed was 2 single beds pushed together, with 2 single duvets etc, which isn't ideal when on a romantic city break.

Room Tip: Double beds are 2 singles pushed together with 2 sets of single sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Made the decision to visit Malaga after a two week stay in Germany. We wanted someplace warm and a hotel located in center city, close to all the sites, and not having to rent a car. In addition we wanted a pool and a buffet breakfast. After searching Trip Advisor and reading many reviews we selected this hotel. The hotel nor the staff disappointed us. The BB was included the rated we selected - and it was wonderful. In addition to the BB u can order eggs and -American coffee is also available. We choose a superior room - however (310) - didn't like the view - changed to (317) thought it was to small so we splurged and upgraded for an additional 30 euros a night for a junior suite - (606). Fantastic view of the harbor. Two rooms, plus powder room. Had a few minor items that needed to be addressed - and management took care of everything. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Location - and space to spread out. View from room 606 fantastic. Higher the floor the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#6 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Molina Lario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.