We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet in a pleasant neighbourhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Hotel Picasso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Malaga Hotel Picasso to your Saves list
Malaga Hotel Picasso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de Guadalmar | Guadalmar Beach, 29004 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“peace and quiet in a pleasant neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I checked in for one night prior to flying,but had time to stroll in the neighbourhood - surprisingly beautiful with flocks of crazy green parakeets nesting in an avenue of vast trees! by the beach I dined at the Chiringuito where a delicious fresh fish was barbecued for my supper.

The bed was comfortable, the room clean and quiet. It would be hard to justify a longer stay in this area, which is not really close to Malaga city centre, but other than that I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Any should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
76
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I would be agree with other reviewers that this well placed for late arrivals from the airport and offers good value accommodation. There were a number features in our room and elsewhere in the hotel that give this hotel character. i agree it is not the easy place to find because the entrance signs are fairly discreet. We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay having had a good welcome and an enjoyable breakfast. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back number one I think and you could open the patio doors and overlook the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel is located on side of the city in quiet area, near the airport and the beach. Lovely feature, nice clean with extremly friendly staff ready to deal with any guest queries. Wifi internet connection free. I would come back there and gladly recomend it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musselburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a great little hotel within a few hundred metres of the beach with its excellent seafood restaurants (chiringuitos ). Bus stop for Malaga just around the corner from Hotel entrance:1.30 euro fare, no 10 bus. There are some small bars/restaurants nearby in the adjacent streets, in particular resto/bar La Iniciativa which is actually on the same street and one that offers a very warm welcome to its customers with lots of complimentary tapas when ordering drinks! There is also a fair sized supermarket 1 block away and a very large complex of shops/bars/restaurants etc a few stops away on the no 10 bus. Hotel Picasso is comfortable, relaxing and intimate enough with only 11 rooms to offer a genuinely personal service. Breakfast involves both hot and cold food, the coffee is excellent, there are games available(draughts,chess etc) a small bar should one feel the need for a late nightcap. Taxis from the airport do have a set fare of around 19 euros but that is the same for passengers travelling much further towards the city so one can access buses and/or trains to reach Picasso cheaper but we did,nt bother and returning to the airport will be cheaper as Malaga taxis are metered. All in all this hotel is a little gem and we would have no hesitation in returning to such a wonderful location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 6 which was fine, television channels included BBC 1 and 2, there is a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I agree with all the great reviews. The only problem is the price of taxis as so many mention - but not a fault of the hotel. If you want to go into Malaga, ask the about bus 10.
Good that it's a pleasant 10 minute walk from 2 chiringuitos.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the reception are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I am sure lots of people have faced the problem of what to do wwhen you are staying in Andalucia an hour or two's drive from Malaga and arrive at Malaga airport late at night or leave early in the morning? Well, this is a great start or end to a holiday. Tasteful decor, lovely garden with pool, friendly staff, very quiet. BUT it is also a good place to stay for a mini break in its own right if you don't want to travel much when you get to Malaga? Excellent. Just bring a books and/or wander around Malaga. It has 2 decent chiringuitos nearby for fried fish and a couple of cafes.
My only 'complaint' is that it was hard to find even if only 5 minutes from the airport. I'd printed off google maps directions but to no avail. Their directions are not so great for a first time visitor.
If you don't want to drive into Malaga there is a bus stop 3 minutes' walk away and the bus takes 25-30 minutes for about a euro. A taxi took 15-20 minutes for about 14 euros, so take your choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'm not sure if I want to be truthful about this hotel, as I don't want not to be able to get booked next time I go!
This hotel is perfect in every way if you are looking for some peace and quiet. It only has 10 rooms, but all looked lovely. We had the Junior Suite, which is the only one which has french doors to the pool area, but all the others have doors to some part of the garden.
The room was more than adequate and very comfortable. It had a fridge (mini bar) but asked that you didn't put your own food or drink in, which I couldn't see as a problem. They have a small mini bar in the hotel, but don't do any food).
The gardens and pool area are beautiful (If it were my hotel I would spend some money on changing the sunbeds from blue like most hotels to more up market in keeping with the hotel, e.g. wooden ones. I'm just being picky!) There's even a jacuzzi next to the gorgeous orangey, where you can get some shade. There are no sun shades, but plenty of trees to laze under.
It really was heaven spending two and half days in the gardens - only moving for food and drink! There were no children there, but I don't think children would enjoy it as there's not a great deal for them to do apart from the pool.
We saw a gardener every day keeping the grass cut, plants watered, pool clean etc.
Breakfast was more than adequate: breads, cheese, meat, bacon, eggs, sausages, two cereals and fruit. The room itself is quite small, but with only 10 bedrooms, we never had a problem getting seated.
The hotel do provide towels for the pool, although didn't always have enough ready. However, they allowed us to use the bathroom ones and gave us more of them instead.
The staff were all lovely. No complaints at all.
For food, we found a fantastic cafe/restaurant: La Iniciativa Restaurant (turn right as you go out the hotel and just walk straight ahead towards the sea - it's on the left and you can't miss it). This had excellent service and fantastic food. In our three days there, we ate there 4 times (lunch and tea) and had a different free tapas each time. Food was unbelievably good and great value (we never paid more than 40 Euros for a meal and a few drinks) In fact, our first lunchtime snack was enough to feed a family of three or four! A large beer was only E2.80 - well worth it! There is a nice Italians, but the outside is better than the inside.
Take care when following instructions to get there. It literally is 5 minutes away from the airport. A taxi is expensive, but the bus instructions from Booking.com weren't great, so make sure you get better ones than we did.
All in all, this hotel was far more than we expected. A small and quiet village, so avoid it if you are looking for loads of pubs and nightlife - cos there isn't any! But we will definitely go back as a couple needing a few days peace and quiet away from the kids!!
It really was perfect.

Room Tip: The village is quiet, so no issues with noise. All rooms looked fab, but the junior suite leads onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malaga Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Hotel Picasso

Address: Playa de Guadalmar | Guadalmar Beach, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#13 Family Hotel in Malaga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malaga Hotel Picasso 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Malaga Hotel Picasso is a charming hotel located in the Guadalmar beach of Malaga city.Surrounded by a quiet residential area, Malaga Hotel will give you peace of mind that you want for holidays and for business travel.Malaga Hotel Picasso is a perfect place for visiting the historic centre and museums (at 5 km), but also the main cities of Andalusia like Granada, Cordoba, Ronda, Torremolinos, Marbella, and the white villages such as Mijas.The bus line N# 10 takes you to the city centre. Beach hotel in Malaga town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Malaga Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel málaga
Malaga Hotel Picasso Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Hotel Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.